1990 Toyota MR2 Turbo w/ T-Bar Roof 2.0L turbo from North America


The MR2 Turbo stands alone in the under $50,000 range of sports cars


Air Flow Meter went around 50,000 miles.

Intake Leak at about 60,000 miles.

I had to sell it. : (

General Comments:

A great car for anyone who wants great exotic style handling and performance for under $100,000.

If the Air Flow Meter goes, buy an HKS VPC. (Only $200.00, and much better)

If you plan to modify the MR2 Turbo, get ready so spend some serious dough. EVERYTHING is expensive to repair compared to normal cars. (But well worth it)

You can modify safely 350hp and not spare any reliability if you do the job right.

Rear tires ruin quickly if you stay on the gas pedal.

Actually decent gas mileage for such performance.

Plenty of high end after-market parts available, some still being made.

For a 12 year old car, the look is modern as ever. Very sporty, very sleek!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2002

1990 Toyota MR2 GT 2.0 turbo from Australia and New Zealand


Affordable reliability, performance and comfort


HT lead needed replacing.

Exhaust gasket perished.

Noise coming from the side fan.

Red paint starting to fade on the spoiler.

Paint on the mags is flaking.

General Comments:

Good level of comfort.

Not as jumpy as the supercharged model.

Cool whine when the turbo kicks in.

Familiar MR2 handling.

Out of luck if you want to install heaps of car audio.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2001

1990 Toyota MR2 G-Limited (MK II) 2.0i 16v from UK and Ireland


An excellent sports car


Front calipers required replacement. Always a little suspect, but ultimately my fault; left it too long before changing worn pads.

Rear tyres don't last long.

Oil consumption was quite high at high speeds. Check every 500 miles to be safe.

General Comments:

Great performance for the money.

Great looks that last very well.

Excellent build quality and reliable (but service history is important).

Handling is a learning experience - never back off in a corner unless you HAVE to. MR2s handle beautifully, but you need to get used to the mid-engined dynamics.

I loved this car.

On the downside, service costs are expensive. It's a bit too complicated for your average home enthusiast.

Also, it's a sports car, so it's small, luggage is a problem and it is less fun on long journeys, but that's not why you buy one, is it?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2001

1990 Toyota MR2 Turbo T-Top 2.0 from North America


MR-2, absolutely the best!


Almost every part of the car is in excellent condition! Only 2 minor problems:

Oil leaks.

Power steering gone out for 2 days and came back on suddenly. Weird!

General Comments:

This car is the best! I have never had so much fun with any other car. Everywhere I go, this yellow MR-2 gives me so much attention! People of all ages tell me I have a beautiful car, from young kids to old ladies!

I can't believe this car is already 10 years old. People don't believe me when I tell them it's 10 years old. It's just too perfect!

Toyota MR-2's are really rare. I have a yellow '91 Turbo, T-top with leather seats. It has 165,000 miles on it, and the original turbo is still good!! The paint job is also the original color and is still shiny.

I'm going to keep it forever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2001

20th Jun 2002, 03:56

Did you ever find out what that power steering thing was, mine does the same thing!

4th Oct 2002, 09:37

The Power Steering problem is the relay - just turn your ignition on and off a few times and it should clear up (mine did the same) think the relay wasn't designed for age!

1990 Toyota MR2 GT Turbo 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland


Expensive headache


The car was tuned in Japan and is highly modified. Every aftermarket modification is a nightmare! UK tuners are totally clueless.

Problems include:

New clutch at 25,000 miles.

New power steering rack at 25,500.

Turbo timer broke caused engine damage at 27,000.

New head gasket at 27,000.

Adjustable boost overboosting at 30,000.

General rust.

The list is endless! The engine has so many sensors and not even the Toyota dealer knows how they work. This car has never run well.

General Comments:


I wish I'd kept the Renault!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th January, 2001

12th Jan 2001, 12:23

Because people don't know how to tune it, you call it crap?

12th Jan 2001, 21:56

You get so many problems with the car cause it was heavily modded in Japan for a reason: to be thrashed is the one that springs to mind.

5th Jun 2001, 04:54

I don't think you have had as many problems as you think you have. At the end of the day you chose to buy a highly tuned super car and that's what the MR2 Turbo is, a super car, and a very cheap one if I may add. There is always a price to pay for such devastating performance!

7th Jan 2002, 14:26

You bought an 11yr old car with very low mileage and loads of mods-sounds like it's been used as a race-only car to me. It's bound to be knackered if it's driven as hard as I suspect it has! Either that or it's been around the world a few times and some nice Japanese mechanic has wound it right back. I bough a '93 turbo with 72,000 miles on the clock 6 months ago, and have added 18,000 miles in that short time without a problem. Next time get an expert to give the car a check over, whatever you buy. Bad luck.