1991 Toyota MR2 Reviews - Page 7 of 12

1991 Toyota MR2 G-Limited 2 litre twin cam 16 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2 litre twin cam 16 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 kilometres
Most recent distance71500 kilometres
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

A work of art with the looks of a Ferrari, but not the price tag

Faults:

The T-top leaks a bit when it rains heavily.

The gear knob and steering wheel were in bad shape.

Changed the clutch when I bought the car.

General Comments:

Quick responsive car for its age.

Superb handling offers fantastic cornering fun. But be careful during rainy days.

Midship engine always give you a forceful push when you hit the paddle. Feels like a pad on the back to make you go faster.

Chicks dig my MR2.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2004

1991 Toyota MR2 Turbo 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired155000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carHonda CRX

Summary:

Great performance for the money and easily modified

Faults:

The T-Tops leak on the passenger side only when the rain is very strong. I had to change the timing belt at 160,000 miles. Driver's seat is worn a little from the seat belt.

General Comments:

I love this car so much. It is fun to drive, handles very well, and will shoot you down the quarter mile before you know it. I would recommend to anyone looking at buying one to find one you like and get it. I have the turbo and I can beat most of my peers in racing with no problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2003

10th Feb 2007, 12:24

Omg mr2 what a joke put it up against a scooby beat it any day.

15th Apr 2008, 10:28

No way man, MR2 all the way! :)

1991 Toyota MR2 Coupe 2.0 3S-FE from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 3S-FE Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

How can anything this cheap be this good!

Faults:

The head gasket was replaced by previous owner at 123K miles, at a cost of ~£600.

A micro switch on drivers door lock for central locking/alarm needs replacing at cost of ~£25.

General Comments:

The car handles excellently and gives a rewarding driving experience. It can take corners much faster than my previous hatchback and the body roll seems non-existent. I've been told to watch out for the back end though!

The cabin is very comfortable and roomy. The seats hold you in very well and it provides both a relaxing and exciting drive, depending on what mood you are in.

When the car's polished it looks amazing, people just stop and stare as it drives past. It feels like a new car. It looks like a new car. I need a personal plate so people think it's a new car!

The luggage room in the boot isn't that big. However, I managed to get an entire trolley of shopping in (just about). Watch out for frozen goods as the boot gets very hot!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2003

24th Apr 2003, 04:08

You definitely have to watch the back end in fast bends. As soon as the (very very limited) initial understeer appears and provided you *gently* lift off/accelerate be prepared to catch the back end. Very snappy, but very rewarding driving experience!

14th Sep 2009, 10:40

Hi, is the 1991 MR2 manual "non turbo and not GT", does this model have a normal 16v motor and not twin cam as in "GT"?

Regards

David.

1991 Toyota MR2 GT T-Bar 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired71000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

A whole load of sports car for very little money!

Faults:

The CD player is a little temperamental.

The Toyota alarm didn't work properly so had a new Clifford Alarm fitted.

Passenger electric mirror doesn't work.

General Comments:

This car is amazing and makes me smile every time I drive it.

My T-Bar does not leak, although I don't want to jinx myself!

It sounds lovely.

It's fast and handles beautifully.

It's so comfortable.

It looks like a little Ferrari when it's all washed and waxed!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2002

1991 Toyota MR2 Turbo 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired175000 miles
Most recent distance177000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

The best sports car for your money!

General Comments:

Wow, MR2's are amazing cars. The performance and handling is better than my uncle's porsche 944.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2002

1991 Toyota MR2 Turbo 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired68800 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

Exotic performance at economy prices

Faults:

Mechanically, the car has been perfect.

The only problems are cosmetic, but that is expected on an 11-year old car!

There are a few scratches and dings here and there, but the paint is still vibrant and glossy.

A few interior pieces have gone south; but those were easily and inexpensively replaced with genuine Toyota parts.

If I was to nitpick, the only gripe I have is that the thermostat gauge works sporadically.

General Comments:

The MR2 Turbo does good to its name; it's extremely quick from both a stop and through turns.

The brakes are awesome; there is very little if any fade after hard, constant braking.

The best asset of this car however is its handling; it drives more like a go-kart than a car! It's easy to send the MR2 through a sharp turn under acceleration! The rear tires stay firmly planted on the road.

I truly think that the MR2 Turbo is one of the better import cars to ever grace our shores.

Many people are in disbelief when I tell them it's a 1991; they think it's brand new!

I highly recommend the MR2 Turbo as one of the best performance for the dollar values of all time. It is extremely quick for a 4-cylinder and it handles like an exotic sports car that costs 10 times as much!

If you can find one in good shape; buy it! You will not regret it =).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2002

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 45 reviews