1991 Toyota MR2 Reviews - Page 9 of 12

1991 Toyota MR2 T-bar turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Best car I have had the luxury of driving

Faults:

Clutch went bad at 97,000 miles.

T-tops leak on both driver and passenger sides.

Suspension was shot at 98,000 miles.

Temperature Sender Unit stop working before I got the car.

Lifter tick started at about 99,000 miles.

Leather on shift knob came off.

Steering rack just about shot (loose linkage).

Radio died at 100,000 miles.

Transmission doesn't like fast shifts into second or fourth.

General Comments:

Most comfortable interior I have ever been in.

Turbo still boosts strong and smooth.

Handled good even with bad suspension.

Using G-tech device to measure 0-60 on 11 year old car---6.62 seconds with problems listed above.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2002

1991 Toyota MR2 GT-Tbar 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 206

Summary:

A lot of sports car for the money

Faults:

Leaking t-bar roof above drivers side, a common problem fixed by some rubber sealant.

Rear tyres wear very quickly.

General Comments:

Excellent handling in the dry, but back end twitchy in the wet, especially on roundabout's.

Very good fuel economy for a sports car.

Good luggage space for a mid engined two seater.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2002

1991 Toyota MR2 GTE-SE Turbo 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

THE BEST

Faults:

Trans went bad, car will not run with battery connected.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2002

1991 Toyota MR2 2.2 NA from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 NA Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance211708 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Fast, fun and reliable - what more could you want

Faults:

Valve guides leaked at 168,000 and were replaced.

Radiator leaked at 180,000 and was replaced.

General Comments:

I bought my 1991 MR2 (2.2NA: non-turbo) in 1996 with 30,000 original miles. It now has 211,708. It is by far the most reliable and fun car I have ever owned. And I'm 50.

I drive a lot of twisty-windy two-lane highways for work. The MR2 is absolutely ideal for one person with a computer bag and overnight luggage. Fast and furious. It's O.K. for two people if they don't need to carry anything in the passenger compartment.

In 180,000 miles worth of driving, the extremely few repairs are amazing (and I don't treat my MR2 gently). I replaced valve guides at 168,000, since it was blowing a little smoke at start-up after sitting overnight. I also had all wheel bearings and seals replaced as a precaution. I replaced the factory stereo and separate CD with a seven-speaker Nakamichi/Infinity/Bazooka setup only because I wanted to, not because it needed it. The original Toyota plastic radiator finally leaked at 180,000. I replaced it with a metal radiator out of a Buick Riviera. That's it. No other repairs. Just normal oil-plugs-belts-brakes-tires-clutch maintenance. It even still has perfect original factory paint - and I live in Phoenix and have parked the car outside most of its life.

I own an 11-year-old MR2 with over 200,000 on it. People at gas stations ask where they can get one. It has a timeless style. It looks more "today" than most 2002 offerings from any manufacturer. The fact that there are not many MR2's around just makes it that much more exclusive to own one. It's a great ego boost.

And you can find one for less than $10,000 in perfect condition with less than 75,000 miles. The only drawback is the cost of insurance. It's a two-seater mid-engined car. I have no tickets or accidents in 16 years, but my Pathfinder is much, much cheaper to insure. But the insurance costs are more than offset by the low maintenance costs.

Great, great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2002

1991 Toyota MR2 Turbo 2.0 GT-turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 GT-turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205 Mi16

Summary:

Remember to drive back and collect your stomach!

Faults:

Gear Linkage went at 65,000 - not expensive to fix £200.

Tends to wonder on uneven roads - probably the wide wheels though!

Japanese import and so the speedo only reads to 100mph* which isn't very useful.

*on a private test track of course :)

General Comments:

Being only 23 years old and owning more or less a super car which has cost £4,000 to buy and £900 to insure fully comp must be the cheapest and most affordable speed under £5,000. It frequently anialates so called German sports cars and is a pretty good street sleeper/q car. Before owning it I had piled money into a hot hatch with total engine swap and modification - what a waste of money! get an MR2 Turbo and feel real cheap power that flings a huge V at anything else on the road!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2002

14th Nov 2004, 11:52

I was just wondering what insurance company the 23 year old used? Is there a was to reach him? simonbell79@yahoo.co.uk.

17th May 2005, 14:58

Most UK insurers will not insure anyone under 25 on any car of this nature for any money.

Quite a number are now refusing to insure anyone under 21 to drive anything, mainly because 85% of newly qualified drivers write off a car within 6 months of passing their test.

19th Dec 2005, 09:46

Some companies will, I'm 20 and I got a quote for the MR2 turbo for £1000, not bad at all I thought! And that with 3 points for speeding!

21st Apr 2007, 20:18

I wrote the mega long thread about the SW20, MR2 Turbo.

I'm now 26 and only pay £568 a year, this is with Noel Dazely.

I'm after a RX7 next :D.

The tubby has been great and I have been using it to whizz up and down the M1 on a regular basis.

Just remember to get some good rubber, I'm running T1-R's and the performance differs a great deal. More stable at 90mph +

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 45 reviews