1991 Toyota MR2 Reviews - Page 11 of 12

1991 Toyota MR2 GT T-Bar 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired84500 miles
Most recent distance84900 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Get one of these cars!!!

Faults:

Un-diagnosed fluid leak.

Reversing light switch broke.

General Comments:

This car is seriously quick and handles like it's on rails!!!

If you lose the back end it comes back with a flick of the hand.

Standard stereo is OK, but needs upgrading.

Mmm, leather seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2001

1991 Toyota MR2 GT T-Bar 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carAudi 80

Faults:

Needed new front brake discs and brake callipers due to binding callipers. This appears to be common problem as I know about five other people with MR2s and they have all replaced the front brake callipers at some point.

Radiator holed, which is again a common problem as it's exposed.

The gear selector cable snapped leaving me stuck in reverse. This is the only time that the car has left me stranded in four years of motoring.

General Comments:

This car is great fun as long as you keep the engine spinning.

Driving with the roof out on a sunny day is great and unlike a convertible it's fine in winter.

It's a bit noisy on the motorway with both engine and wind noise.

For a performance car it's surprisingly economical, though you can go through the rear tyres quickly if you use the performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st June, 2001

17th Jun 2002, 17:02

Binding calipers can be problematic, but spares are easily sourced from places like Fensport.co.uk and guards for the radiator are available very cheap through the MR2 drivers club. It is an awesome car, and continues to put cheesy grins on your face after many, many miles of motoring.

28th Sep 2007, 12:58

I had the same problem with my front brakes. Apart from that, no real problems. Apart from driving in the wet, a lovely car.

9th Apr 2008, 22:01

I own a 91 MR2 turbo! It has almost 200,000 miles on it! Still fine. No hole in radiator, no snapped shift cable, no problem with any brakes...

...Cheap car. Go to the MR2OC website... cheap parts, good people!

1991 Toyota MR2 2.2 non-turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 non-turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Best sports car for the money.. period

Faults:

Other than normal maintenance, I have had no unscheduled repairs done to this car.

Replaced plug wires at 95k.

Replaced timing belt and water pump (normal maintenance) at 90k.

General Comments:

The handling on this car is remarkable.

At cruising speeds, the car feels great, but the engine is a little on the noisy side (typical sports car I guess).

Seats are comfortable for short trips, but they become uncomfortable after a long drive.

This is by far the best handling, most reliable, best looking, and most fun car to drive I have ever owned and I will probably never sell it.

The MR2 even today still looks awesome. Many people ask me If it is a new car.

Rare car and very collectible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2001

2nd Jun 2001, 13:51

2.2???

They never made a 2.2!!

You have a either a 2L 16valve or a 2L Turbo like I had :)

Steve.

21st Jun 2001, 14:00

Yes they did make a 2.2l naturally aspirated engine. I have one. The model number is something like 5S-300... not sure, but it is a 2.2

Nick.

9th Jul 2001, 16:38

Yes, most '91 MR2s have 2.2L 5SFE normally aspirated engines. The turbo has the 2L 3SGTE engine.

26th Dec 2003, 18:48

The normally-aspirated engine is, in fact, a 2.2L. The turbo (3S-GTE) is a 2.0L.

25th Jul 2004, 19:28

I got 2 91 mr2s ones wrecked with a turbo can I put the turbo on my 2.2.

1991 Toyota MR2 Turbo 2.0L turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0L turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired59234 miles
Most recent distance64860 miles
Previous carNissan NX1600

Summary:

A tight little package!

Faults:

Stress fracture on the rear driver's side rotor.

Original muffler is still on it and it's starting to go.

General Comments:

This is by far one of the best Japanese performance cars ever built! Its mid-engine design makes for perfect weight distribution and gives the driver that true sports car feel. Because of all the weight in the back and the rear wheel drive configuration, the MR2 hooks up fast and brings the driver to 60 MPH in 5.9 seconds.

The interior is comparable to the NSX... you feel fast when you're sitting in this car! Even at a stand still.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th March, 2001

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 45 reviews