1984 Toyota Pickup Long bed, std. cab, 3/4 ton 22R, 4 cylinder gas, carb from North America

Summary:

Most reliable vehicle ever owned, exceeding BMW and Volvo

Faults:

One broken rocker arm clip, repaired without engine disassembly.

All else has been routine maintenance: shock absorbers, 2 brake shops, 1 clutch job, 1 muffler, 1 alternator, 2 fuel pumps, 2 water pumps, 1 set of U-joints.

The truck never failed California smog. No transmission repairs. No rear end repairs. No suspension repairs. Original starter. Original wheel bearings, front and rear.

I do my own maintenance. The vehicle has not been in a dealership since original purchase drive-off. It has only been in independent shops for smog inspections.

All good things come to an end. Burnt valve in #3 cylinder last week. Can't buy a new engine. Toyota says they are all gone. Nobody builds a compact truck with a 3/4 ton load rating. I probably carried that much weight a hundred times, sometimes towing a horse trailer.

General Comments:

Can't even get a compact with 7 foot bed from Toyota anymore.

Is anybody from Toyota reading this? You built a fantastic truck. Maybe it was too good. Never wore out and you didn't want to wait 30 years for repeat customers. I would have bought one last week if you offered anything similar.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2014

30th Aug 2014, 13:14

Go to car-part.com. You will likely be able to find a replacement engine for this truck.

Good luck!

21st Oct 2014, 00:51

Here's my Toyota pickup story. I bought my '84 4x4 ten years ago in Jackson, WY for $800. After 2 years, I drove it back home to Alabama. I still drive it every day for work. It is helping me start and raise a family. I call him 'Mud Buggy' and he's my best friend. I'm at my happiest when we're cruising around together. It's like all the problems of life just fly out the window when I'm driving. I get offers to buy him all the time and my answer is always no! People will literally ask me at red lights to sell. I've been offered as much as $2000 and I have never even thought about selling. If you ever have the chance to purchase one, I suggest you jump on it because somebody else will.

9th Nov 2014, 01:09

I love my 1984 Toyota Pickup. Has 136800 original miles. I drive it, but not very much. Needs new seat and some electricals, but that is it. NO engine problems.

1984 Toyota Pickup 3/4 ton Longbed 2wd 22R Calif emissions carburated from North America

Summary:

Awesome, and no I don't want to sell it

Faults:

Original clutch started slipping at 77k, I had been doing moderately heavy towing. Replaced with a heavy duty clutch, no problems since.

Transmission bearings went out around 100k. Started making grinding noises like a rock crusher. R&R'ed the tranny myself, and had it rebuilt for about $600.

No other serious problems.

General Comments:

Probably one of the most reliable vehicles ever built. The 22R is legendary. Has left me stuck once in 26 years.

Never missed an oil change, did them every 3k and the tranny and rear end once a year in most cases.

Went through 3-4 alternators and starters, that's to be expected. Compression is still above 145 psi on all 4.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2010

2nd Oct 2012, 18:06

Have the same truck, a 1984 Toyota 4x4. I bought it new in March of 84. Only had 108000 miles on it, when I handed the keys to my son. He had it for 3 months, and he blew up the motor (no oil). I put a rebuilt motor in it.

9th Jul 2014, 16:51

Damn that sucks, my uncle bought me a 1984 Toyota. I've already put ten thousand miles on it and 4x4ed the crap out of it, yet it still runs strong. My uncle taught me to check engine oil and coolant every week.

1984 Toyota Pickup from North America

Summary:

The best little truck I have ever seen!

Faults:

I bought my Toyota pickup truck for $400.00 in 2005 It has not stopped yet. Nothing has gone wrong on it.

Engine runs like a sewing machine, no noise.

Rust has attacked the body so I used bondo and fiber glass to fix it, repainted it. It looks like new!

General Comments:

A very reliable little truck that I want to keep forever. I use it mostly on the farm, in rough land and it is very easy to ride around, light truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2009