1984 Toyota Pickup 22r from North America

Summary:

Best truck all around that has ever been made

Faults:

The head gasket has gone bad just now, but this motor has over 200,000 miles on it.

It has rust, but nothing too big.

General Comments:

This has been the best truck I've ever owned by far.

If you are into four wheeling, this is the truck for you. My little truck will outdo any of the big trucks with no problem at all.

VERY RELIABLE!!!

GREAT GAS MILEAGE!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2008

1984 Toyota Pickup SR5 Gasoline from North America

Summary:

Easy to repair anything on this vehicle

Faults:

Changed the engine for no reason at 160K.

At 200K changed voltage regulator.

At 210K changed washer pump.

Gaskets around the door and window are now goin out.

General Comments:

It's like a puppy. I wish it would just stay looking like it was. Mechanically it's great. Replaced everything, but body wise it's starting to rust. Never been garaged and now leaks around the windows.

Suspension has had VERY little work, but the TOYO has been my favorite car out of the 8 I have owned. Its the only Pre-Marriage item I own. Hard to give up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2007

1984 Toyota Pickup SR5 22R from North America

Summary:

If you buy one of these trucks, you have to take it to somewhere you wouldn't think it could go

Faults:

Had to do the front brakes at 171000.

Bed is very rusted out.

General Comments:

This truck is unbelievable. It has gone everywhere I have tried to go with no problem. I loaded over 1500 pounds into it and drove 50 miles several times with no problem. This is one tough truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2005

19th Jan 2006, 00:59

Couldn't agree more.

19th Dec 2006, 21:14

I got one of those for free and it was the best deal of my life. We loaded the whole bed (longbed) more than 5 times. The pickup has 170k miles and it still works perfectly.

4th Aug 2009, 17:51

That's a Toyota for ya. Throw all the crap you want at it, it's built to take it.

24th Apr 2014, 02:11

Right on!

1984 Toyota Pickup SR5 2.4L EFI from North America

Summary:

The best truck out there

Faults:

The truck was completely rebuilt at 160,000, before I bought it. After that, it was lifted and turned into a prerunner.

The right axle bearing locked up at 190,000 miles.

Other than that,just normal wear and tear.

General Comments:

The truck has been through every thing and still made it back home. It's been jumped 7ft high, played in the mud, dune climbed, and tons of other off-roading.

The truck is quick because of $3,000 worth of performance parts including cam, header, injectors, intake, and 3" pipe with a Flowmaster muffler.

It is also an every day truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2004

1984 Toyota Pickup 22R from North America

Summary:

I would make the same choice again

Faults:

Clutch replaced - 63,000 miles

New battery - 75,000 (factory battery lasted 4 years in Arizona!!)

Shocks replaced - 113,000

Water pump gasket - 124,000

Radiator cleaning - 125,000

Replaced 4-speed transmission with 5-speed, replaced clutch - 134,000

Timing chain - 165,000

Igniter failed - 198,000

Replaced transmission - 199,000

Alternator - 200,000.

General Comments:

Seats in great shape. Installed cloth seatcovers at the beginning, and the vinyl seats underneath are still free of cracks and stains.

Hard-wax twice a year. Finish is beginning to thin. Might need repainting.

Installed camper shell in 1997. Slowed mileage to 22MPG.

I debated for months on whether to buy American or Foreign, and was told nothing would compare to this little Toyo.

I do regular oil changes about every 3,000 miles, and tuneups at least once a year.

It's been off road, through streams, in snow, and continues to perform like a dream.

Simple maintenance includes gaskets, pumps, hoses, batteries, and brakes.

This truck has spoiled me for life!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2003

18th Sep 2014, 19:09

I have this same truck, and it has very low mileage and the body is in good shape, but needs paint. Just wondering what it would go for?

1984 Toyota Pickup 1/2 ton shortbed 2.4 liter 22R from North America

Summary:

A very reliable, low-maintenance pickup

Faults:

Head cracked about three years ago, but this was due overheating because of a faulty radiator. I let someone borrow it and forgot to tell them about the radiator problem, so the head wouldn't have been damaged had I reminded them that it overheated because of the radiator.

General Comments:

Very reliable, have had virtually no problems with this truck.

Never had to replace clutch or anything major (except for the engine head).

Gets great gas mileage, pretty peppy for an old truck.

It is very light, so it does peel out a lot, and unfortunately there is no power steering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2001

1984 Toyota Pickup SR5 22R 2.4 litres from North America

Summary:

A keeper

Faults:

Water pump x3, timing chain, rear wheel seals, alternator x1, brake master cylinder x1, bench seat needed to be reinforced and reupholstered, some body rust.

General Comments:

Gets between 19 and 24 mpg, regular. Has a camper shell with a bed kit. Great for car camping. Stout. A great car. Will have it bronzed when I get another vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2000

1984 Toyota Pickup SR-5 22R from North America

Faults:

Paint fell off front fender.

General Comments:

Great truck!!

135,000 miles and runs strong.

Very dependable...I will buy another Toyota or Honda...not an American car like the 1991 Ford Taurus that I bought new and had expensive repair bills before 50,000 miles. No more American Cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 1998

18th Apr 2003, 11:23

1982-1985 Toyota's are the best, I bought a Ford and its costing a lot on repair I will go for a Toyota anytime.

31st Mar 2007, 10:16

Not just the 1982 1985, any of the toyotas with an "r" series engine are pretty much the same, I have an 87 pickup with over 300,000 miles and its still runs great.