1987 Toyota Pickup 2wd 2.4L 2.4 cc 22R from North America

Summary:

This has been the most reliable vehicle I have ever had

Faults:

I have had to replace the clutch, starter, radiator, and water pump twice. It has been a wonderfully running vehicle, but the body is rusting out. Seat is wearing badly. Carburetor is now giving me problems.

It is still running like a charm.

General Comments:

The pick up has been so reliable that I have recommended Toyota pickups to a lot of my friends.

The body will rust totally out and fall apart and the motor will keep on down the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2005

4th Jul 2012, 18:22

I've had an 87 Toyota pickup, 22r, since new. It now has 260,000+ miles. In 25 years I've replaced one starter and one clutch. However, recently the head gasket failed, so I am rebuilding. This truck owes me nothing. It's been so good I can't imagine not having it. I would buy another, but I don't need it, this thing will outlive me.

1987 Toyota Pickup 22R gas from North America

Summary:

The Best Vehicle I have Ever Owned

Faults:

I had to replace the differential oil pinion gasket (not hard when done right).

I replaced the spark plug wires in an effort to try to get better gas mileage at my mechanic's suggestion.

It had the rusted bed that all Toyota pickups had in the late 80s.

The outside air diverter gate fell off inside the air duct system, but I was able to put it back on with a screw and it worked from then on (Hint: only take off the fan from the bottom with the 3 screws).

This truck was ultra-reliable!

General Comments:

This was an awesome truck--the best vehicle I've ever owned. It was completely reliable even at 210,000 miles!

It was fun to drive! I even could load my 300lb motorcycle in the back (even with the short bed). It slowed down a little on hills because all it had was a 2.2 liter engine, but that was just because I wasn't pushing it too hard.

I have no complaints about this truck and my only regret is that I sold it. I have seen these trucks with over 300k miles on the odometer and I believe it!

It was really easy to maintain--it required a relatively few simple tools to fix most things.

The Toyota dealership treated me well with no deference to the fact that my truck was 16 years old.

I would not hesitate to buy one of these trucks, I only wish they got better gas mileage. The only reason I sold it was because I was given a 1994 Dodge Ram and the Toyota wouldn't be quite as safe in a wreck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2005

29th Nov 2008, 18:17

The rust problem in the bed was due to the walls' two-piece construction; water, dirt, and salt would collect in the seams, and the bed would rust. Trucks in California and other dry areas rarely, if ever, suffer from this problem.

I had a 1992, and also got excellent treatment from the dealer despite the truck's age. It was totaled in June of 2007 with over 375,000 miles on it.

1987 Toyota Pickup 2WD 4 cylinder 2.4L 2BL from North America

Summary:

100% reliable

Faults:

Replaced rear axle at 90,000 miles.

Replaced clutch and carburetor at 125,000 miles.

Replaced rear brakes at 135,000 miles.

Window mechanisms are worn so I don't go through fast-food drive-through lanes.

General Comments:

Gets me to work and back during the week, and hauls loads on the weekends.

Gets about 25 mpg combined city/highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2005

12th Feb 2009, 05:26

My 1987 Toyota PU was my first new vehicle. I still drive it daily, 130,000 mils so far. I replaced the timing chain tensioner and adjusted the valves that's it. It's been a wonderful little truck. I have loved it for 20 years and counting.

12th Jul 2010, 14:48

I love my 1987 Toyota pickup. It's freaking awesome; it's only got 100k miles and is in mint condition, 1 owner only. I bought it for $2000 and it's the best investment ever!

Last year I bought a 2006 Jeep Wrangler Sport, and was very disappointed when I compared it to my 'yota. Yeah it's little and has next to nothing in power, but it's so fun to drive and clean up; not a dent, ding, scratch, nothing! I was so amazed when I bought it; the only thing I had to do was change the plugs.

1987 Toyota Pickup 22R from North America

Summary:

Best truck. Ever

Faults:

The air conditioner leaks, but not a lot.

General Comments:

The truck is very reliable.

The interior is very comfortable, even though I got the stock package.

I wish it had power steering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2004

17th Feb 2010, 13:24

I am going to be buying one here soon, and heard a lot of good things about it.

1987 Toyota Pickup STD 22R from North America

Summary:

Couldn't get much better

Faults:

Water pump went out a couple years ago......

Replaced the starter coil....

Horn quit working....

Other than that it's just been oil, plugs and tires.....

General Comments:

Second Toyota I've owned.... had a Corolla that had about 200,000 on it when I sold it.....

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2000

1987 Toyota Pickup 22 R from North America

Faults:

The brakes started to lock up but that was after 90,000 miles.

General Comments:

The truck was great I got it when it had 87,000 miles on it. It was stolen when it had 110,000. When it was stolen everything on it worked perfect. During the time I had it, it worked almost flawlessly. I liked it so much I replaced it with a 96 Toyota truck!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 1998