1989 Toyota Pickup Reviews

1989 Toyota Pickup SR5 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance235000 miles
Previous carToyota Pickup

Summary:

Amazing

Faults:

I had to replace the valve cover gaskets, new water pump, timing belt, radiator, dual exhaust, shocks, regular maintenance.

Some rust on the body, but the frame has been rust proofed

General Comments:

It is a pretty quick old pickup.

Runs excellent with 235000 miles on it.

Runs as strong as the day I got it.

Original motor, second clutch.

Good mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2008

1989 Toyota Pickup 4x4 Extended Cab V6 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance185000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Best vehicle purchasing decision I've made in 50 years of driving

Faults:

I had to replace the water pump about three times since 1988.

I also replaced the timing belt twice.

Replaced the head gasket at about 160000 miles.

Driver seat (cloth) is starting to wear.

Just recently,10/07, replaced the fan clutch and thermostat.

Toyota recalled the truck to replace the steering relay rod on 10/6/06.

The fuel gauge has not worked in 10 years, but not worth repairing.

Replaced all the spark plug wires at about 120000 miles.

New radiator installed at about 160000 miles.

General Comments:

I will drive this truck until I die or it quits.

I have stop using it off-road and buy passenger tires (225/75/15) instead of LT tires and save about $45 per tire.

I priced the 2008 Frontiers and Tacomas, and are they in the $24,000-25,000 price range for similar options I have on the '89 and their beds are smaller.

New trucks also force you to get options you may not want to pay for if you just want a 4x4, extened cab, A/T, V6 and a bed liner; without any of the power packages.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2007

1989 Toyota Pickup 5-speed from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5-speed Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance400000 miles

Summary:

The greatest machine known to man

Faults:

Speedometer and odometer conked out six years ago at 310,000 miles. The 400,000 miles on it now is an estimate. May be higher.

Replace alternator at 380,000 miles.

Internal door rod broke/bent, making outside door handle useless. About $250 for parts & labor to repair.

Funky electrical system -- radio has long turned off off with turn signal; now it's starting to turn off when I brake.

General Comments:

Originally got this as a temporary hand-me-down from my dad, when it had about 320,000 miles on it. Now, five years later, I don't want to get rid of it.

It's rough-riding (manual steering), basic (no options, not even AC), and the body is falling apart, but it starts every morning and still runs like a champ. Oh yeah, it also passes California smog with out any problems, and gets decent gas mileage.

This truck has been a revelation. Toyota rocks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2007

1989 Toyota Pickup SR5 4x4 Longbed 22RE from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 22RE Manual
Previous carToyota Pickup

Summary:

Workhorse of a Truck

Faults:

Interior Plastic is brittle and has broken off in some places.

Standard Battery clamps broken. Replaced with Marine Clamps.

Bench Seat has no more padding.

General Comments:

The Toyota Pickup is known for its rugged versatility. This one is no exception. Mechanically, a rebuild has been done, but not for mechanical failure. The previous owner was trying to make a desert runner out of it but he didn't get past the engine and transmission rebuild. It has been all gain for me as the engine, although lacking in the torque and horsepower department, gets the little truck up and going no problem. It seriously is one of the best engines you can have. The 22re is indestructible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2007

1989 Toyota Pickup x cab 2.4L 22RE from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4L 22RE Manual
Distance when acquired138657 miles
Most recent distance138659 miles

Summary:

Question needed answered

Faults:

I have a question about the pickup I just bought. I drove it up to my house and it sat all afternoon. In the evening I went to start it up and it cranked turned over and then just conked out. It did these numerous times and I know the engine is not flooding because I gave it a couple days and I followed the instructions on how to get rid of the flooding. Please let me know what you think might be wrong and if so how much would it cost. Thank you.

Justin.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2006

23rd Apr 2008, 13:30

I had the same problem. Best bet is go to a diagnostics and check it out. With mine it was the fuel circuit regulator. I had changed the entire fuel system but I guess it shocked the computer.. and yeah.. I don't have a price.

Any more questions feel free to email me at.

Toyotakrawler09@yahoo.com

2nd Oct 2009, 05:11

Buy a Ford? Ha ha, just kidding, great vehicle, just purchased one for 2000.00.

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 20 reviews