1989 Toyota Pickup Deluxe Extended Cab 22R from North America

Summary:

Awesome!!!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the truck.

General Comments:

This is my second 2WD Toyota pickup (the first did not survive a 50 mph rear-end collision). I drove the first (a '91) for 225k miles and only replaced the timing chain and water pump (done at 120k miles).

My current truck is an '89 ext. cab with factory A/C, PS, and PB. It is much more comfortable than the previous standard cab pickup. This truck gets an average 26.5 MPG in combined in-town and highway driving. I added Helwig helper springs to the back, and 15 inch wheels from an '05 Tacoma with P225-70-15 Firestone Destination LE2 radials and picked up approx. 1.5 MPG.

The carbureted engine isn't quite as smooth as the EFI in my '91, but it's still very peppy and starts easily in all types of weather.

I bought this rust-free truck in Florida and brought it up to Ohio, and did a cheap but effective rust-proofing job on it with roofing tar and a cheap bristle brush.

These little Toyota pickups are worth their weight in gold!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2014

1989 Toyota Pickup SR5 3.0 V6 from North America

Summary:

Amazing

Faults:

I had to replace the valve cover gaskets, new water pump, timing belt, radiator, dual exhaust, shocks, regular maintenance.

Some rust on the body, but the frame has been rust proofed

General Comments:

It is a pretty quick old pickup.

Runs excellent with 235000 miles on it.

Runs as strong as the day I got it.

Original motor, second clutch.

Good mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2008

1989 Toyota Pickup 4x4 Extended Cab V6 from North America

Summary:

Best vehicle purchasing decision I've made in 50 years of driving

Faults:

I had to replace the water pump about three times since 1988.

I also replaced the timing belt twice.

Replaced the head gasket at about 160000 miles.

Driver seat (cloth) is starting to wear.

Just recently,10/07, replaced the fan clutch and thermostat.

Toyota recalled the truck to replace the steering relay rod on 10/6/06.

The fuel gauge has not worked in 10 years, but not worth repairing.

Replaced all the spark plug wires at about 120000 miles.

New radiator installed at about 160000 miles.

General Comments:

I will drive this truck until I die or it quits.

I have stop using it off-road and buy passenger tires (225/75/15) instead of LT tires and save about $45 per tire.

I priced the 2008 Frontiers and Tacomas, and are they in the $24,000-25,000 price range for similar options I have on the '89 and their beds are smaller.

New trucks also force you to get options you may not want to pay for if you just want a 4x4, extened cab, A/T, V6 and a bed liner; without any of the power packages.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2007

1989 Toyota Pickup 5-speed from North America

Summary:

The greatest machine known to man

Faults:

Speedometer and odometer conked out six years ago at 310,000 miles. The 400,000 miles on it now is an estimate. May be higher.

Replace alternator at 380,000 miles.

Internal door rod broke/bent, making outside door handle useless. About $250 for parts & labor to repair.

Funky electrical system -- radio has long turned off off with turn signal; now it's starting to turn off when I brake.

General Comments:

Originally got this as a temporary hand-me-down from my dad, when it had about 320,000 miles on it. Now, five years later, I don't want to get rid of it.

It's rough-riding (manual steering), basic (no options, not even AC), and the body is falling apart, but it starts every morning and still runs like a champ. Oh yeah, it also passes California smog with out any problems, and gets decent gas mileage.

This truck has been a revelation. Toyota rocks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2007

1989 Toyota Pickup SR5 4x4 Longbed 22RE from North America

Summary:

Workhorse of a Truck

Faults:

Interior Plastic is brittle and has broken off in some places.

Standard Battery clamps broken. Replaced with Marine Clamps.

Bench Seat has no more padding.

General Comments:

The Toyota Pickup is known for its rugged versatility. This one is no exception. Mechanically, a rebuild has been done, but not for mechanical failure. The previous owner was trying to make a desert runner out of it but he didn't get past the engine and transmission rebuild. It has been all gain for me as the engine, although lacking in the torque and horsepower department, gets the little truck up and going no problem. It seriously is one of the best engines you can have. The 22re is indestructible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2007