1992 Toyota Pickup Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1992 Toyota Pickup Xtra Cab 22re from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 22re Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired97500 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles

Summary:

Awesome truck in so many ways

Faults:

These are the things that needed to be replaced.

-Transmission froze and had to be replaced.

-Spark plugs, rotor, and cap.

-Gas tank, hangers, etc.

-Brake lines and fluids.

General Comments:

This Toyota Pickup is my first car. It previously was my dad's. He used it to haul dirt around our yard and drove it to work. It sat in my driveway for about 5 years uncovered and we figured by now it would be junk, because he did not take good care of it. I was surprised when there were not that many things that needed replaced.

This truck is awesome off-road! I have yet to get it stuck in really deep mud and its all stock!

I believe this truck will last me along time, at least until 350k. It is very inexpensive to maintain, as long as you take care of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2004

1992 Toyota Pickup 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 kilometres
Most recent distance176890 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Everything wrong is my fault ;)

Faults:

Well all that I can pretty much think of with my truck, is that I've started to experience a smell from my exhaust. The buddies and I checked it out turns to be the catalytic converter, minor when you think about it.

Other problems would have to be how I go through a lot of gas because it's a fast truck and I like to drive faster.

One more is how fast I go through tires, ha-ha damn is it a fun little truck.

Minor rust, but I fixed that right away.

General Comments:

To start off, this truck is absolutely amazing. It has power and style. I've done so many upgrades including a 2 1/2 inch drop on the front and a 3 inch on the back. Custom roll pan, tailgate and exhaust, grille and head/tail lights.

This thing is my baby and I tell ya if I had to buy something else I would without a thought, buy another Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2004

1992 Toyota Pickup 22RE from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 22RE Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired57 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

The best value I have ever received for my money.

Faults:

The right side window track broke at 15,000 miles.

My timing chain needed replaced at 89,000 miles.

Small rust bubble on the tail gate.

General Comments:

This truck is reliability incarnate.

The truck has 124,000 miles on it the hard way. My average trip is 1.5 miles. I have made very few long distance trips in this truck, so I figure that it has been started around 80,000 times. That means 80,000 cycles on the driver side door. 80,000 cycles on the key switch. 80,000 compressions of the seat, and on and on. It still has the original clutch and muffler.

I have done every bad thing to this truck that I can think of. It has been airborne more times than I can remember. It was submerged briefly once while driving too quickly into bumper deep water. I have loaded the bed completely full of wood many times, and it has been used to tow cars and to drag fallen trees out of yards after wind storms. After all this abuse it has very few squeaks and rattles.

For the first seven years I had no garage, so the truck sat outside (usually unwashed) through seven blazing summers and icy, salty Indiana winters and it still looks great.

I can't imagine an automobile that I would rather own at any price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2003

1992 Toyota Pickup Deluxe extend cab 3.0, V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0, V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance188052 miles
Previous carToyota Pickup

Summary:

It keeps going and going!!!

Faults:

I have had no big problems with this great truck. Just oil change, brakes, tires and other little things that need to be replaced.

General Comments:

This truck is the best vehicle that money can buy. You could run this truck off a cliff and it would still run and look good. It has 188,052 miles on the original engine and transmition it just keeps going and going. It is 10 years old and the body of the truck still looks brand new, you would never know it was a 1992. I love this truck and I would never trade it in, for anything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2002

31st Jul 2002, 16:52

I have a 1993 Toyota truck V6 3.0 Litre. I have had only maintenance. Changed the starter, brakes, and exhaust. A rear axle seal also went out. I have trailers that I constantly tow anywhere from 500 to 5000 pounds. I had a full size GMC with a 350 and this Toyota pulls, stops, and handles 10 times better. I purchased the vehicle with 60000 miles and now has 130000. The truck is tough and very dependable. I make 1000 mile trips from Mississippi to Maryland without Hesitation.

1992 Toyota Pickup 22R-E 4 cylinder 2wd from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder 2wd Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Very dependable truck!

Faults:

Starter went out at 75000 miles.

The clutch went out at 120000 but I towed a fairly heavy boat for two years.

Replaced shocks, muffler, and thermostat at 140000. But this was just preventative maintenance.

Regular tunes ups and check ups keep this truck running forever.

General Comments:

Small inside, but great for light driving and hauling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2002

1992 Toyota Pickup 22R from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 22R Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Impala

Summary:

If you like to keep a vehicle for many, many years and take care of it, buy a Toyota

Faults:

Not one thing... knock on wood. Only routine maintenance.

General Comments:

Talk about a well built machine. I'm keeping it till the wheels fall off. She's almost 10 now and still runs and looks great. I didn't replace the original brakes until around the 96,000 mile mark. Original tires lasted for 80k. New plugs only once. That's it. Toyota builds a great vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2001

5th Feb 2003, 12:10

I also have a 1992 Pickup with the 4-cylinder engine and 5-speed manual. I bought it four years ago with 160,000 miles on the odometer. Have since put 30,000 miles on it. It runs like a train and is quick. I blew away a non-VTEC Civic easily. It's tight turning circle makes parking a breeze. It is much quieter than other trucks in its class. The engine is very smooth and the shifter falls into gear every time. "Hands off the wheel" stable at highway speeds. It is very easy to work on since everything is so open and the interior is held together by easily accessible bolts and screws. Switch blanks in the dash offered themselves to the switch for the driving lights that I installed. I recently had most of the few rust spots replaced with new sheet metal. Looks like new. The rear bumper is cheap to replace (I've replaced it four times). It is the best $3,000 I have ever spent.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 17 reviews