2005 Toyota Ractis 1.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Great for a 'girl racer' *smile*. Love the Run, Activity & Space!

Faults:

Insensitive indicator that doesn't auto shut off at round-abouts.

General Comments:

I bought this car a year ago. I wanted a bit more space as I travel quite a bit. I wanted a car where the back seats folds down (not up and against the driver's seat) and sit flat down completely, and this one does it perfectly.

I also needed a car that is economical to run with a 1.5 engine, and it feels solid. This does it for me too. Great for housing dogs at the back, even if I don't fold down the back seats (2 small breeds). I had one large Lab and 2 small breeds once all in the back with no problems. Lots of room. I could even turn the back into a 'room for the night' if the need arises (of course haven't got that desperate yet, but I've tested it out and it work well. Comfortable, I'm 5'3.)

The only issue I have at the moment, and I'm still hoping to find a way to deal with, is with the 'insensitive' indicator that doesn't auto shut off after round-abouts. I only realised that after about a month when I was in a town that uses only round-abouts with no traffic lights!

I am wonder if there are any other Ractis owners have the same problem? Please post here if you have any comments re indicator. Thanks.

On the whole, this is a great little beauty for me (considering it's only one year of experience with it).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th August, 2015

2007 Toyota Ractis 1.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Underrated. If you can live with the looks, then it's the closest thing to a modern Mini

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I hate wheezy automatics, but the CVT is the best of both worlds. If you're prepared to rev it (and boy does the VVT allow it to rev), then it goes better than a 1.5 should due, mainly due to the CVT. The paddle/sequential stick shifter is good on the twisties. 16" wheels, wide low profile tyres, great brakes, light weight and good balance mean this car handles a lot better than its looks would have you believe. Cruise control and fantastic fuel economy make it great on the open road. It's tall and roomy, even for a 6ft 4" guy. The clever cabin makes use of every bit of space.

Reliability: c'mon, it's a Toyota with a camchain. I've thrashed it for over 50,000Km with just an annual oil change at the local dealer. It goes and sounds just like when I first got it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th March, 2015

4th Aug 2015, 02:15

Hiya,

How do you rate the indicator performance? Does it auto shut off at round-abouts? Thanks.

2013 Toyota Ractis 1.5 petrol from Japan

Summary:

A good, practical car with a horrible transmission

Faults:

Nothing in the short time I've had it.

General Comments:

This was a rental car I hired in Japan. There was no review here, so I thought I'd add one.

It's based on the Toyota Yaris platform, but it's taller and I think perhaps a bit longer, because it's quite spacious inside. There's a decent amount of legroom front and back, even for tall-ish people like me (185cm / 6' 1"). The front seats have a very tall back, which makes them fairly comfortable, but there was no lumbar adjustment on the model I drove. The steering wheel adjusted for height, but not reach. The boot was also a good size, which given the legroom, makes me think the Ractis is a bit longer than the Yaris. I think with the rear seats down, I could just about fit my bike in without taking the front wheel off, which is terrific for a sub-compact car. There was a foot operated park brake, which I found a bit weird, never having encountered one before, but you get used to it.

The engine, for such a small unit, was actually pretty decent. It sounded horribly thrashy when asked anything of, as most small engines do, but it still managed a respectable turn of speed, even going up hills.

What I hated about this car was the transmission; it was a CVT (continuously variable transmission), and if you've never driven a car with one - and I hadn't - they make the car sound awful and turn it into quite an unpleasant motoring experience. A CVT has no fixed gear ratios, so the engine sound winds up and winds down, making it sound like the car is really labouring, even if it isn't. The sound is a bit like a lawn mower, or perhaps a louder mobility scooter. It just sounds really sick when you take off.

The other thing I didn't like is that the front of the car is invisible when you're sitting in the driver's seat. That makes squeezing into tight parking spots somewhat of a guessing game - you could easily find out where the front is by accidentally bumping into pillars or other cars.

Then there's the name; Ractis sounds like a disease. You go to the doctor with a mysterious set of symptoms, then later the doctor telephones you and says, "I'm afraid it's Ractis".

But if you can live with the horrible sounding transmission, it's actually a pretty decent car. Certainly there's a lot of space inside; great headroom and good leg room. The engine also has a decent amount of power. The steering is pretty numb, but then it is a Toyota, so that's expected.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th July, 2014

6th Jul 2014, 17:12

All CVT transmissions are not matured yet, hence avoiding them at this stage is the best policy.

12th Oct 2014, 10:45

I own a Ractis, and the CVT gear is real fun to drive.

The Ractis employs two modes. Fully automatic and manual with 7 gear levels. The manual mode has a feature that protects you from driving in a high gear at very slow speed; it drops down automatically.

I do not notice any strange noise on acceleration. I can though give it a rush by accelerating using the manual mode.

31st Jan 2015, 09:28

I am very keen to buy a freshly imported 2006 Ractis with 45000km on the clock. I drive at on average 500km per week and am ideally seeking a car which will offer my aging arthritic dog easy access and a comfortable flat bed. Having read primarily bad reviews about the transmission, I am seeking some positive feedback and reassurance that my potential purchase isn't quite the lemon that Google searches proclaim. Please, please, please Ractis drivers, reply with the good features and share your thoughts... is it a car that you would recommend?

16th Jun 2015, 21:16

I want to buy a car. I am getting confused between the Toyota ist and the Toyota Ractis. Which one is the best? Please help me?

4th Aug 2015, 18:08

Metal chain CVT transmissions have been around for 25 years - hardly immature technology.