18th May 2004, 11:01

Suggest to the dealer that they replace the sensor(s) in the vehicle. My wife's Camry had the same thing, and that fixed it.

31st Jul 2004, 05:13

Why don't you just disconnect the globe? seems like a common fault.

30th Sep 2004, 10:15

My 2002 RAV4 4WD's check engine light came on at 35000 miles. My mechanic cleared it once, but it came back on. Took it to the dealer and they upgraded the computer program. 2 weeks and a few hundred miles, the check engine light hasn't come back on.

12th Oct 2004, 14:16

I have a 2001 RAV4 and have also experienced the same "check engine" light problem. It has come on 5 or 6 times and each time it is hooked up to the diagnostic computer, it says a different thing is wrong. And each time, a second check of the computer says that nothing is wrong. The latest reading (today) shows I need a new catalytic converter and I'm not keen to spend the $2000 based on this vehicle's history. I have also had major brake problems with the vehicle and have had the entire brake system replaced twice. I would not recommend this vehicle. It has turned out to be very unreliable for me, and not worth the premium I paid for it.

21st Jan 2006, 00:26

Can you believe that that engine check light is usually about improperly grounded dashboard clocks and nothing to do with the reliability of the car itself? I was lucky to have mine fixed by an experienced autoelectrican after my garage wanted to guess and change every possible part they could think of. Great vehicle, never had a problem with it since and its at 130,000 km now. Driven daily.

1st Mar 2006, 17:38

The Rav-4s are having some catalytic converter issues; there is a Toyota service bulletin issued (TSB EG010-02). It involves recalibrating the engine control module (ECM). This is supposed to fix the PO420/430 trouble code. Have the dealer look it up, it is still covered under the factory warranty. Only after performing the service bulletin procedure and the check engine light coming on again, should the converters be replaced, still under federal emission control warranty (8 years/80,000 miles). The spark plugs are recommended to be replaced at 60,000 miles.


10th Mar 2006, 19:23

I have a 2002 Toyota Rav4 with a check engine light issue. First, the dealer updated the computer software at 79,000 miles, something to do with the emissions readings. Now, since 81,000 miles, and I am at 94,000 now, the engine light comes on and off. I have had it read and it is now reading the code P1349 which is a variable valve timing malfunction. This is about a $1000 repair. I do not know what to do, as the light comes on and goes off, with no engine difficulties to date, except for some minor acceleration problems recently. Has anyone else had this problem? I have been too many Internet sights and can't find any information about what my symptoms would be etc. I don't want to put the money into a costly repair if this really is just an electrical problem with the light.

14th Mar 2006, 09:59

I have a 2001 Rav4. Bought it 3 months ago with 53,000 miles. Check engine light came on after 3 days after I bought it. Took it back, same thing, they said it needed some software update. Then last month the light came on again. I took it to my mechanic because I figured it wasn't warrantied anymore. He said I need a new catalytic converter. I don't want to replace this, because I figure it will be one of those deals where you keep changing parts and the light keeps coming on and on and on and it never gets fixed. I did this with my last vehicle. Toyota Tacoma (1998). Put about $800 into it before I gave up and decided to live with the light.

6th Apr 2006, 16:09

I have a 2001 Rav-4 that has also had the check engine light on and off since around 30,000 miles. Mostly on. They recommended changing the oxygen sensors at the cost of around $2000 and the light was back on in a week!!!

The light must not mean anything serious as it has been on for over 100,000 miles, but... I now can't get the car to pass inspection because of this light. Very very very disappointed...

8th Oct 2006, 22:31

I own a 2001 Toyota RAV 4. I have had trouble with the check engine light since 25,000 miles. The vehicle has had few problems as I can tell, but has been a money maker for Toyota and other mechanics.

I live in a state now where the vehicle will not pass emissions inspection with the light on and have already spent over $800 this year on tune ups, sensors, etc.

It is very disappointing not to mention the time and frustration.

10th Oct 2006, 16:26

To everyone with a 2001 Rav4 with a check engine light.

1.) Pop the hood and find your fuse box, it'll be on the driver's side above wheel well.

2.) Remove the cover and find the EFI1 fuse, it's a 20amp fuse.

3.) Pull out the fuse.

4.) Put your key in the ignition and turn the engine over for approximately 3 seconds. (without this fuse it cannot start)

5.) Turn key back to off position, remove key from ignition.

6.) Go under hood and plug the EFI1 fuse back in and replace fuse box cover.

7.) Restart vehicle the check engine light should be gone.

The light should stay off long enough to pass inspection.

18th Oct 2006, 07:35

Thanks for the check engine light comment. I too have had this problem with my 2001 RAV. It's at 149,000. I took it in and it was an p440/441 code, which meant needs a new 100.00 gas cap. Then 3 days later, the light appears again. Took it back, they said if it reads out diff code, I will not be charged for read out, but... guess what, it did read out the same code, but printed out to be an e-vap code, and needs this canister changed out (275.00). I also heard if you disconnect the battery, your light will go off. But then if you do, I heard it clears the car's computer memory bank, and the service dept knows this when you go in for repair???

23rd Oct 2006, 16:50

I own an 02 RAV4 that has had an issue with the check engine light for about a year. First it was the gas cap-I wasn't making it "click" when I closed it. Then it was the O2 sensor, which I had replaced to the tune of $650. Now it has come on again, and 3 times I have had it read to P1349. My friend who did the reading says that means the "camshaft position sensor A-bank 2 CKT intermittent". When I called the dealer to ask about what was involved to get it fixed, they told me that I would have to spend $100 up front for a diagnosis. I told them I already had the code, but was told they have to get it from the machine. Does anyone know what this is and how it can be fixed?

26th Dec 2006, 09:23

I have a 2002 RAV4 runs great, but just recently my check engine light came on and stayed on. I've heard a lot

of people say it could be the sensors. I called the dealer to get an idea of what that might cost to have the sensor replaced. They said they could not give me a price, because they did not know which sensor was bad. Does anyone know which sensor this might be? Any advice would be helpful.