18th Feb 2007, 16:29

It's probably the oxygen sensors. If you've been reading the other comments regarding the Rav4, you've probably noticed that the catalytic converter is a problem for many owners. The oxygen sensors often need to be replaced at the same time the engine light indicates the converter is malfunctioning. One mechanic cautioned me not to replace the converter without having the sensors tested first because bad sensors can give a bad reading on the catalytic converter. Apparently it is much more expensive to replace the converter than the sensors, thus the reason for his warning. Unfortunately, many mechanics don't have the right equipment for testing the sensors and will refer you to the dealer. I've had my Rav4 to 3 different dealers and have not been too impressed with their ability to take care of the vehicle's check engine problem. I wouldn't mind paying to have it fixed provided it would stay fixed, but with this car the check engine light is nearly a constant problem.

28th Feb 2007, 11:50

I have a 2002 Toyota Rav4. The check engine light has been on then off for several times and now it is staying on. I brought it to my mechanic and he diagnosed it with a code, but said that I needed to bring it to the dealership. The dealership reprogrammed the ECM-~$250 (I think it was related to the computer of the car) but the light came back on several days later. I then brought it back to the dealership and they diagnosed it as a needing a catalytic converter; I've received quotes anywhere from $500-1000 so I still haven't figured out to fix it or not. That was in December 2005 and about 87,000. I've been driving the car with no issues since then and I'm at 100,000. However, I'm really starting to worry that it'll cause something else to go wrong with the car... Anyone else run into the Catalytic converter causing further problems?

29th Mar 2007, 10:40


I did read that there is a problem with a faulty check engine light in Toyota's manufactured in early 2002. There is software that the dealer can install for around $65. to correct this problem. My 2002 Rav4 is in the shop now because of a check engine light. My mechanic says that my Vin# is after the problem was fixed so that doesn't effect my car. He says the problem is one of the oxygen sensors in front of the catalytic converter is damaged. There are two in front and two in back. He's charging me $500. which seems kind of pricey to me because the most expensive one I can find is $240 and it looks like you can just plug it in. Least expensive was $102. He has always diagnosed correctly and fixed the car the first time so lets hope this is it.


29th Mar 2007, 10:45

I thought you could just reset the computer by disconnecting the battery. Is this true?


3rd Apr 2007, 08:07

Hi Tim.

I have been having the exact problems with my 2001 Rav4, the hesitating acceleration and the jerking. I have already taken my car to the dealership twice. The first time I went with the technical service bulletin notice from Toyota and they said that they reset the engine computer. The second time, the check engine light came on and I took it and they told me that I need new spark plugs and air filter. I had them replace all that, but I am still having problems with my acceleration. Does anyone know what the real problem is? Should there not be a recall of some sort or at least a valid explanation from Toyota. Clearly the Technical Service Bulletin they have out is not accurate because it does not seem to be solving the problem.

Somebody please help me because I feel like my car is going to die on me while I'm driving it.



19th Apr 2007, 18:47

I am the original owner of a 2001 Rav4 with ~120,000 miles. I am having the exact same problem with the vehicle hesitating and jerking when I accelerate, but only following a complete stop. The problem is intermittent, but I am certainly not comfortable making a left turn unless the oncoming traffic is completely clear. I agree that Toyota needs to let the consumer know what is going on. Like others have noted, I don't trust the car's diagnostic system. My engine light began giving me trouble before the car was even a year old. I wish now that I had fought for enforcement of the "lemon law" because the persistent problems with the car certainly qualify it as a lemon. The hesitation problem can be dangerous if the car fails to go when one is entering traffic. It will probably take a lawsuit for Toyota to come clean on their poor technology. By the way, I wrote to Toyota about 2 years ago inquiring about the check engine system and the catalytic converter and I did not even receive a reply.

2nd May 2007, 14:29

I have a 2001 Rav4. Engine light came on around 65,000 miles and had the dealer install a new program on the computer for free (mine was included in a service bulletin for this problem). Now at about 70,000 the light came back on after I got an oil change at the same dealer. Going to get the code with a friend's computer - you can also go to places like Advanced Auto and they let you borrow a reader. It's just annoying.

10th May 2007, 23:06

I have the same problem with my 2001 Rav4 trany slipping only when I stop. Now it won't kick down into gear going over 50, So the car is at the dealer waiting for a new CPU for $1400

So I'll let everyone know what happens there installing it tomorrow the Toyota dealer said there was only 2 cpu in the whole country,???

14th May 2007, 13:56

I have also been having problems with my 2001 Rav4's check engine light coming on. At first, I was told that the speed sensor needed replacing ($450). Then, the light came on again and the code was for replacing the temperature sensor ($250). A month later, the light came on again and it is supposedly because of the air fuel sensor (not fixing it yet!). I only have 67,000 miles on my car and didn't expect so many repairs to be needed. I called Toyota to lodge a complaint and would recommend all with a similar problem to do the same. It was only by getting 80,000 complaints on the check engine light problem that their initial recall was made. It only covers the codes for the check engine light that got the most complaints. I am sure if they get complaints on other codes they will have to recall them as well.

14th May 2007, 17:52

Likewise, my wife's 2001 rav4 is having the check engine light problems. I am glad I found this information so I can file a complaint with Toyota. I have taken it to 2 dealerships, 2 times each trying to figure out what the problem is. I also took it to a mechanic to diagnose the problem, same issue as dealer saying both O2 sensors out, and need new cat converter, like $1800 to replace all the stuff. from reading other sites and complaints, it seems like the transmission is also about to fail on me as well seeing as we have 98K miles on it. I am going to just get new O2 sensors myself, then ECU, then new car. maybe if enough people speak out against the problem, Toyota will have to fix it. All those problems could have been fixed under warranty, but now I am out of warranty and upset.