2002 Toyota Sequoia SR5 4.7 iforce V8 from North America


A solid SUV that could benefit from further refinement


Transmission replaced under warranty. Shifting is still erratic. Example: slow from 35 mph to 3 mph, then accelerate. There is a delay while the engine revs slightly, and then a lunge forward. It acts like the transmission doesn't know what gear to be in at first, then figures it out.

General Comments:

Uncomfortable front seats; Limited seats said to be better. Superbly spacious and quiet interior. Excellent 3rd row seat. Good ride. Steering too light at highway speeds. Good 4WD off-road. Gas mileage OK; averaging 15-16 mpg on Regular. Stupid Americanized pedal type parking brake and column gear shift. Interior design a bit spartan for the price, but acceptable. Overall, a smart choice in a big SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th July, 2003

4th May 2005, 17:39

You don't say whether this vehicle is a 4 wheel drive or 2 wheel drive. That would help.

6th Apr 2006, 12:26

He says in the second paragraph "Good 4WD off-road"

So there's your answer.

2002 Toyota Sequoia SR5 from North America


Great performance and reasonable price


We have had ongoing problems with the air conditioning. It will cool off just enough so you know that it is blowing cool air, but not enough to cool off the car. We have had it replaced 3 times already and are going to take it in again. (very frustrating)

General Comments:

Over all, we love the SUV, but if we can't get the air conditioning problem worked out, we won't buy another Sequoia.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th May, 2003

28th May 2004, 22:20

I have the exact same problem. I love it, but in Texas, the air con cycles and shuts off. It's got to be some computer snafu.

30th Jul 2004, 13:22

I have had problems with the AC in my Sequoia as well. I have had it in about 5-6 times and it still isn't right. At an idle it blows more like a fan than AC on days over 95. If the temp goes over 100 and you are stuck at a light or in traffic it's much worse. I also hear a whirring sound when the AC is turned on at an idle. I have been told that the unit is too small for the car and that there isn't anything that can be done. I am on my third summer with this vehicle and didn't have these problems the last two.

2002 Toyota Sequoia Limited 4X4 V8 from North America


Over priced, but easy to drive and comfortable


The air conditioning in my Sequoia has completely broken 3 times. The most recent attempt to fix the problem at the dealer has improved the A/C's performance (it blows cool air now) but not fixed it. The dealer told us the first time we brought the car in, this was a pretty common problem with Sequoia's and parts were so in demand right now, it could take weeks to get them in and fix the vehicle. He was right-it took 3 weeks. the A/C self destructed again within 5 miles of the dealer, on the way home, and was brought back in for a second replacement. Second replacement blew a week later. Third replacement is not blowing cold air (but at least it's blowing air now).

The biggest concern of mine is that when the A/C stops working (always happens on the freeway), smoke comes pouring out of and in to the car. I have a problem driving a smoking car 65 MPH on 26 gallons of gasoline with two kids in the back seat.

Other minor problems: back windshield wiper needed replacing, headlights needed adjusting, air in the brake lines immediately after purchase, rubber seal around passenger door fell off.

General Comments:

Aside from the problems, major and minor, this is by far the most superior full size SUV we have driven. It completely blew the Expedition and Tahoe away in our test drives. We had wanted to buy a less expensive car, but were spoiled after driving the Sequoia and had to have it.

The Sequoia is a good 4X4 performer and drives great in snow and around the mountain trails we take. The Low gear is a big plus for us and while it is not as much a climber as the Land Rover, it is practically twice the size. I would love it if it had some more horse power, but it does well with the 240 it has.

While the vehicle is definitely overpriced compared to the competition, you're paying for the Toyota name, synonymous with reliability (most of the time) and resale value. If they make things right with ours, we would get another one and would recommend it to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th October, 2002

1st Jun 2003, 07:46

I think that this car is a worthless piece of junk (limited 4x4, $40k)! I drive one myself and the car keeps having problems, and it is much too expensive, the dealers are so unfriendly. Here are the problems: left rear power window broke down, the tail light wouldn't work, the air conditioner has broken FOUR TIMES (!) and the radio stopped working three weeks ago. Last week the transmission broke, at 67000 miles and now I have had it! I will never buy a Japanese car again!

2002 Toyota Sequoia Limited 4.7 I-force V8 from North America


A very high quality ride with room to spare


Well it lost a piece of trim from the Roof Rack at the car wash, but the dealer is replacing it.

General Comments:

The Sport Utility Vehicle is very roomy and comfortable.

Handles much smoother than our previous 4Runner.

It is a pleasure to drive, seems to have the power to pass anything, but a gas station.

Mileage is in the 14 mile per gallon range, I was expecting something closer to the upper limit of the Environmental Protection Agency ratings, like 17-18 or so. Maybe it just has not had enough time to be broken in.

Would like a memory function for the seats, and have seen a nice feature on the side mirrors of an Expedition - Turn signals blinking in the mirror, very nice safety feature for when your passing one of these and they want to move out.

Cup holders are plentiful and out of the way, (Serious problem from the 4runner)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2002

2002 Toyota Sequoia Limited from North America


Nothin has gone wrong with this car yet.

General Comments:

I went on a 1,500 trip and back in December 2001 and it drives excellent, very comfortable and I recommend it to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2002

28th May 2002, 14:58

Have you ever heard of any type of intermittent humming noise located somewhere near the fuel door after turning off the engine? I have, is this normal?

2nd Jan 2003, 10:30

Yes the humming is normal. I have it on mine. Also had it on my 4Runner. Not to worry. The 4Runner lasted 7 years and 180,000 miles and no fuel related problems. Really not any problems at all.

17th Aug 2005, 09:59

The humming is the fuel pump.