Toyota Space Cruiser Reviews

1989 Toyota Space Cruiser F 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance235000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Very reliable, versatile, comfortable people carrier

Faults:

Wouldn't start - needed new key ignition lock - 230,000

Piece of engine fan sheared off, damaging alternator - 195,000.

General Comments:

Excellent people car. Many trips around Europe and Scandinavia with 4 children with lots of space for luggage. Used to move furniture - very versatile, very reliable. This car was used for years on short journeys ferrying children around, and on long journeys on holidays. Very comfortable to drive. Now uses a little more oil than it used to and is a little slower. ALWAYS averaged 25mpg, since new. Best investment I have made.

Still going strong - 1,500miles at Christmas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2008

1986 Toyota Space Cruiser GL 2.0 Litre petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Litre petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired137000 miles
Most recent distance190000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Carlton

Summary:

Despite its modest performance and handling, this car is great - I love it!

Faults:

In the four years I have owned the car, I have replaced the rear brake shoes, front pads, rear shock absorbers, alternator and a rear wheel bearing.

The only time the vehicle actually broke down was when I ran very low on fuel and dirt got into the carburettor after I drove down Porlock Hill near Minehead (1 in 4!).

General Comments:

I bought the car from a relative for £200. It was quite rusty and had not been looked after very well, but a bit of work with the welder and some TLC, and she has run extremely well ever since!

We use it mostly for holidays, and often carry 8 people, which it does effortlessly. It has carried up to ten without any problems.

We often tow with it, trailers and a very large trailer tent, and again it does this with no drama.

The handling isn't great (no surprises there!) but it isn't terrible. Likewise the performance is modest but perfectly reasonable for a vehicle in this class.

As a family car it is superb; with the back seats up you can still carry 5 and take everything, including the kitchen sink!

Unlike most people carriers, there is quite a lot of space behind the rear seats, so even with 8 people there is still space for luggage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2007

1989 Toyota Space Cruiser GL 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired153000 miles
Most recent distance171000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

My dream come true

Faults:

Not a thing, this was an unbreakable motor. In a class of its own.

Brake pads, bought in Spain, over the counter too. 10 minutes to fit. That's it...

General Comments:

I bought the Space Cruiser to take me, the Mrs and 4 teenage kids to Spain in, all the way by road from Newcastle upon Tyne and back. Forgot to check the oil and water, yet made it without a hiccup.

Raced it back in record time. Again, not a flicker. 6 people + luggage for 2 weeks. 153000 on the clock when we left. God, it makes me cry. Wish I'd kept it now. It was fantastic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2005

1990 Toyota Space Cruiser GL 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles

Summary:

Well worth having if you can use the space

Faults:

Leaking windscreen within warranty period; windscreen replaced.

There have been continuous electrical problems caused by corrosion of the alternator. This has been repaired several times. The fault is due to the position of the alternator.

New starter at 100000 miles.

Considerable rust (it is kept outside)

General Comments:

This car is very useful for carrying people (if you are meeting someone at the airport the whole family can go!) and there is room for suitcases too. Great also for carrying almost anything, even wardrobes (you have the height and length). It has a surprisingly small turning circle. The downside is the lack of stability... I tested this once, on an empty road I braked suddenly when approaching red lights and suddenly found myself in the adjoining lane. Petrol consumption is on the high side.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2003

15th Sep 2003, 06:08

These mpvs are very good they are know to rust, but if they are look after e. g waxed and abit of t cut will protect it. I have owned 4 and they a workhorse.

30th Nov 2006, 14:55

I would very much like to find information to help me customise (update) my 1989 space cruiser GL and help to make it more fuel efficient.

14th Dec 2009, 16:17

I am sad my Spacecruiser is twenty years old. I have owned it for eight years, it was always reliable. Next year I shall probably have to scrap it, which saddens me because the parts are now almost impossible to buy.

This year I purchased a caravan from North Yorkshire and pulled it back to Stoke-on-Trent. I was a little worried at first whether it would manage the job, I should not have, it performed with ease.

People always say the parts are expensive - yes, like some of the computer faults on these modern cars aye. Like I say, I feel I have had good reliable performance from this vehicle, and will feel sad to see it go.

23rd Sep 2012, 16:59

Hi, I also have a 1989 Space Cruiser (Auto). It has done nearly 130 thousand after supporting my 1000 mile skateboard trip for charity in the summer. I have fallen in love with it, and have decided to keep it for day to day use!!

It does around 12 miles to the gallon though, and I want to turn it into a bit more of a camper, so if you do work any of the above out, let me know :)

1990 Toyota Space Cruiser GL 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

The best car I ever owned

Faults:

There have been no major faults with this car other than routine wear and tear.

Only now, at twelve years old, is there a little rust developing.

There was also a small problem with the electrical system ('door closed warning lights'), but this was easily remedied.

General Comments:

This car is an excellent choice for the 'fuller family'. It is also a superb workhorse, with huge cargo capacity, and low end 'grunt' for towing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2002

1989 Toyota Space Cruiser GL 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carNissan Bluebird

Summary:

Very heavy on fuel

Faults:

Clutch.

Rust, rust and rust.

Electrics.

Punctures.

Light bulbs.

Not much power.

General Comments:

It was very thirsty and drank like anything, honest. In the city it gave 11 mpg, if you're lucky, and 17 mpg on the motorway, at 70 mph. 100 miles on just over half a tank. Very thirsty, it was reliable and comfortable, but rots, and drinks, never says no.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd December, 2000

7th Apr 2001, 10:38

Must be something wrong with this particular spacecruiser - they're supposed to do around 23mpg, and that's what mine does. It ain't good, but divided between up to 8 people it ain't bad!

22nd Sep 2001, 12:00

Mine also returned 23mpg. My only problem was when I got it, I thought the headlights were 6 volt, they were so dim... I good quality set of bulbs cured that! Regards rust, yes, a little prone to rust, but nothing a bit of T.L.C. couldn't put right.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 6 reviews