1996 Toyota Supra Reviews

1996 Toyota Supra Twin Turbo 3.0 twin turbo 2JZ from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 twin turbo 2JZ Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance130000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Supra

Summary:

Absolutely AWESOME!

Faults:

NOTHING!!! It is absolutely great!!!

Toyota, you really knew what you were doing with this car!!!

General Comments:

V8 beating a Twin Turbo Supra, ahaha, I don't think so!!

The Supra came out in 1993 (2JZ engine). The Twin Turbo model produced 320hp! And the car only weighs 1.5 tons. It does the sprint to 100km/h from a standstill in under 5 seconds, has excellent handling, and all this for as little as $20k (Australian). How many V8's do you know that can do all that for that price? Hmmm?

Secondly, if you have a little more money to spend, you can upgrade a few things such as new turbos (although just upgrading the turbine wheels from ceramic to steel is always good) and engine management, cold air intake, high flow injectors. You can get a Supra doing 0-100 in around 3 seconds (blowing Ferrari's off the road!!). V8's are too heavy!!! They can't compare! And plus they don't look as good, chicks like Supras :P.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2007

9th Mar 2008, 05:28

Not to rain on your parade about "heavy" v8's, but all the old muscle car v8's actually weigh around 100kg lighter then the supra.

20th Jun 2009, 21:15

A Supra is a straight 6, not a V8. You should only compare it with other 6s like Skylines, Falcons, etc. Not V8 engines.

21st Jun 2009, 11:53

Our V10 Viper was number 2 on the dyno board as compared to one of these.

22nd Jun 2009, 05:35

If I were to compare this car, I would compare its performance and suspension on the track... even if it exceeds the V8 or even V10 hp with engine mods possible.

16th Feb 2012, 15:32

An LS1 Camaro SS is completely FASTER and a bit lighter than a Supra, and the handling is close. Not bad for a solid axle.

1999 Camaro SS

Weight: 3440 lbs

HP: 325@5600

TQ: 335@4000

S/P: 0.91 Gs

1996 Supra

Weight: 3485 lbs

HP: 320@6000

TQ: 315@5300

S/P:0.95 Gs

Supras are overpriced, looks bland, and are only good for high HP that never gets to the ground, and immature street racing, which is dangerous, and proves NOTHING. A Camaro is cheaper to buy, makes more HP for cheaper, looks better, takes it to the track and gets RESULTS.

Camaro > Supra.

1996 Toyota Supra TT from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Best Import Ever

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car. Just a little bumpy ride.

General Comments:

This car HAS not COULD blown V8's out of the water, I am proud to be an American, but we make the worst cars, Haters need to stop cause I would take you on any day of the week track or street.

P.S. Toyota did qualify for Nascar and their Camry will be running strong in 2007. They even had to down grade the car to make it NASCAR friendly!!!

What you got to say about that?!?!?!?!?!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2006

16th Oct 2006, 12:32

'What you got to say about that?!?!?!?!?!'

The only thing I have to say is, where's the review? If you going to boast about having such a great car, you could at least explain why in you opinion it is so.

1996 Toyota Supra UK-Spec 3.0 liter twin turbo from Thailand

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 liter twin turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 kilometres
Most recent distance42000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Rare mix of performance and reliability

Faults:

Worn clutch replaced.

Damaged wheel.

Some cracked hoses replaced.

Warped rotors replaced.

General Comments:

I live in Thailand where the taxes are very high on most automobiles, especially luxury cars. There is also the issue of relatively weak dealer networks, especially for cars that are uncommon in the country. So when I decided to look for a sports car, my choices rapidly shrank to a few cars.

Eventually I settled on a Supra that had been imported from the UK in 1997 and had some cosmetic and minor engine modifications done. The car was in fairly bad shape when I bought it last year (for, brace yourself, US$42,000) in terms of maintenance. Clutch was gone, rotors badly warped, alignment off, brake balance off, turbo boost adjuster not functional, one speaker blown. The country has a well-run TRD garage where I had all work done. Not cheap and not fast, but dependable- a relative rarity here.

I wound up selling the car recently after owning it for a year. Problem was that the traffic is so bad in Bangkok, and my work takes up so much of my time, that I rarely had a chance to drive it. The battery would go flat and not have much of a chance to charge up with all of my short driving trips around the city. It was also not a very comfortable car to drive with the sometimes very poor condition of the roads. Even the TRD owner admitted to having broken two wheels on two separate occasions when driving over large metal sheets in the road used to cover holes or roadworks.

When out and about, especially outside of the city, the car certainly got a lot of looks. There are approximately 80-120 Supras in Thailand right now so one can expect a lot of attention. With the modifications made (larger intercooler, exhaust, intake, a few things) I was able to keep up with and pass Ferrari F355s, much to the chagrin of their owners. The engines, if not massaged too heavily, are virtually bulletproof and Toyota reliability is intact.

All in all a great car. I just didn't have the time or the playing space to give it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2002

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 5 reviews