1995 Toyota Tacoma Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1995 Toyota Tacoma SR5 3.4L DOHC V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.4L DOHC V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired220000 kilometres
Most recent distance405000 kilometres
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

Wouldn't buy anything but another Toyota truck!

Faults:

Rear axle seals needed changing at 250,000km.

Replaced clutch at 390,000km.

Rack ends and tie rods at 390,000.

Fuel pump at 350,000.

General Comments:

It gets driven hard in the bush and still rides well on the highway, and it's never left me stranded.

Not the fastest truck on the road, but the motor is super strong still, and it drives strong at highway speeds.

Performs well off-road too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2008

1995 Toyota Tacoma LX 2.7L from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.7L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance130028 miles
Previous carFord Bronco II

Summary:

Junk seems to sum it all up

Faults:

Maybe I just got an abused tacoma, but I've replaced a few things already in under a year. To begin, the seat belts don't recline back. The drivers side leaf spring broke and had to be replaced ($450). The power steering pump got replaced at 129K ($180). The spider gears in the rear differential broke and I ended up having to replace the spider gears and entire carrier. Also had to replace both front and rear pinion bearings ($350). After all that, it STILL wouldn't go together, and ended up stuffing it together (left out washers to fit). Drive shaft was bent and had to be replaced ($85). There are no drain holes in the bed, so it collects water because the front sits lower then the rear. There is a leak in the firewall which provides a great place for water to come in and submerge the carpet on the floorboard to where its sopping wet. A pheasant broke the grille. Seats are torn and have cigarette burns in them. And finally,

General Comments:

Its junk. Read everyones reviews on how good a toyota/tacoma is and finally fessed up and paid the insane amount of money for it. Just to buy a junk heap that needs everthing, but the motor fixed on it. Could have went and bought a ford ranger for half the price! My guess is that I got an abused truck. It had larger tires on it, which would cause the PS pump to go, and also would cause the broken rear end from them offroading. The truck is rough riding overall. The rear suspension set up is great for hauling a load, but when empty it makes the drive real rough. This also causes the pop can in the cup holder to loose its load quite often. You seem to feel every bump in the road. The dash is built of some crappy one piece of hard plastic. Instead of a softer insulate filled plastic covering. Causes things to slide off real easily. Also, the 4WD won't let you turn more than about 20 degrees either direction. Any more and it causes the tires to chirp.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2006

30th Nov 2006, 10:52

The title of your review is incorrect.

"Maybe I just got an abused Tacoma seems to sum it all up," is the correct title.

1st Dec 2006, 05:56

Maybe it wasn't abused... time to buy a new truck.

1st Dec 2006, 09:14

Your truck was obviously set up for off-road use, and probably spent a lot of it's time being beaten badly; this is no fault of the manufacturer. Why bother saying that a pheasant broke the grill? The power steering pump, differential, and especially the bent drive shaft are tell tale signs that this truck was BADLY bounced in some rocks and severely abused. This does not make the truck junk. Fix what needs fixed, change ALL your fluids, give it a tune up, and your probably o.k. for at least another 100,000 miles. You have an awesome truck there.

1995 Toyota Tacoma 2.7 liter from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.7 liter Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired101000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles

Summary:

A reliable truck that will go about anywhere

General Comments:

The Tacoma is a very reliable truck overall. There have been minor repairs needed, but the engine is very sound compared to other brands of it's year.

My gas mileage has ranged from 15 mpg in a strong headwind to 26 mpg in the Rocky Mountains. The average mileage that I have gotten is right at 21 mpg.

The ride is a little rough and the cabin area is a bit small for larger folks.

The 2.7 liter 4 cylinder has enough power and low end torque to pull my 16 foot boat quite nicely. It runs smooth and efficiently.

Another nice point to the truck is the clearance that it has. I upgraded my tires to a 16 inch rim with a 265 tire. This adds a couple inches in height to the overall clearance of the truck. This was a nice addition for adventures in the rocky areas that I call home. The independent suspension in the front makes for smooth off road adventures.

I would highly recommend this vehicle to anyone that isn't too large of a person and/or doesn't have a huge load to pull.

This truck is a go getter and I don't think I could ever sell it. It just isn't worth not having it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2005

1995 Toyota Tacoma LX extra cab 2.7 liter from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.7 liter Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

Best on the road

Faults:

70,000 mass air sensor

75,000 four new big o brand tires 31x10.50x15

132,000 front brakes.

General Comments:

The truck is very quick for only having a 2.7 liter 4 bagger. it pulls my 24ft camper like a dream. it's not a power stroke diesel, but very strong. drives just like new and handles great. much quicker than Ford or Chevy trucks of the same size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2005

9th Apr 2013, 13:23

I have a 16' 1988 Terry Resort trailer that weighs about 2,000 pounds plus contents, and my 1995 Tacoma 2.7 towed it acceptably. But this was typically the slowest rig on the road, and I did a lot of defensive driving. I'm skeptical that others would be happy towing any 24' trailer.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 9 reviews