1995 Toyota Tacoma Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1995 Toyota Tacoma LX 3.4 V6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.4 V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

I absolutely love this truck, I have owned it since I was 16, and is still my only vehicle.

The only problems I have had to fix were a blown head gasket; my fault due to me trying to change the radiator coolant, and I didn't refill it enough, and left air pockets in the cooling system, so it overheated.

I also had replaced the starter, ignition coil, and the clutch master cylinder.

General Comments:

I upgraded my brake rotors to slotted/drilled rotors, and have used synthetic oil and a K&N air filter for the majority of the time I have had the truck. I am still amazed that the truck has the original clutch, all belts, and radiator hoses. It has very little rust, especially for being 15 years old.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2011

14th Jan 2011, 10:04

I have a '96 Tacoma, and just like you, bought it new over 15 years ago. Mine has basically been rock solid reliable. Nothing really wore out until around 200,000 miles, at which point I had to replace the starter, the fan clutch, and the clutch itself - which is amazing considering it's the original.

1995 Toyota Tacoma SX 3.4L from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.4L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance270000 miles
Previous carToyota Honda

Summary:

Great reliable car (if the owner took good care of it)

Faults:

Things I have to repair in the past: U-joints~ twice (since I do go off roading a lot), starter, and O2 sensor.

Now since the car has 270,000 miles, I have to eventually replace the rack and pinion, and a gasket that prevents the oil from leaking into the spark plug compartment.

Other than that, the car has been great! Very reliable!!! Of course some repairs here and there, but it has been a great truck!

General Comments:

This truck does turn on a dime!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2010

1995 Toyota Tacoma 2.7L from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.7L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance147860 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Thank you, Toyota Corp

Faults:

This list may seem longish, but is all the work I've had done on my Tacoma in nearly 15 years. Absolutely superb...

I replaced the failing rear shocks with Monroes at 60K, for about $100.

The shift guide failed at about 100K. This is the plastic guide under the gear shift lever, and I guess it wore out. I finally couldn't get into several higher gears. Repair price: $80.

After several dismal repair jobs by Brake Check etc, I had the front brakes repaired by my mechanic of choice. For about $450, he replaced pads and rotors.

The starter failed to engage reliably at about 120K, because the copper contacts in the solenoid (?) burned out. Repair price: $150.

The clutch stopped releasing properly at 145K, because the clutch master cylinder began leaking air. The master and slave cylinders were replaced for about $300. Note that the clutch itself still has considerable life left, based on comments from my superb independent Toyota mechanic.

That's it, folks. 14 years, only one major service interval at 100K, and everything else is still original: struts, muffler, hoses, etc.

I honestly think I'll get to 250K for peanuts, and I'll report back if I do.

General Comments:

Toyota makes trucks that have to work everywhere on the planet. This is the world's truck, and it deserves that ranking.

I sincerely wish Detroit would buy a clue...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2009

9th Sep 2010, 10:59

Commenting on my own review seems the easiest way to update the info.

The clearcoat on the paint is peeling, after 15 years under the Texas sun. I'll get the Tacoma repainted when it gets worse. I consider that good service from the factory paint.

The plastic top tank blew on the radiator, requiring replacement of the radiator and top hose. Probably reasonable service from the radiator, but why a plastic anything in a radiator? All radiators are apparently built this way now, but good grief...

Happily, there was no damage to the engine in the minute or two the engine was driven in an overheated mode.

Suggestion to auto designers: sound a loud buzzer when a serious problem like overheating is detected. Few of us check the heat gauge every 30 seconds.

Better still, turn that buzzer into a speech-synthesized message. The truck already has a potent little computer, so it's doable and affordable.

5th Jul 2012, 16:48

Update to my own update:

July, 2012 -- the rear main seal started leaking at 164K, so oil got on the clutch plate, which required a $1,135 clutch rebuild and seal replacement.

I expected the clutch to fail gradually, but oil on the plate resulted in rapid clutch slipping. Fortunately, I was in Austin and took it immediately to my favorite Toyota repair shop. They said the clutch was in reasonable shape, except for the oil.

Toyota-San: add a splash guard and drain hole, so a $20 failing rear main seal doesn't destroy a good clutch.

World: it seems Toyota designs for about 15 years of reliability. Better than Detroit, but I no longer consider my Tacoma to be reliable for serious travel.

7th Jul 2012, 06:13

Being in Texas, it's no doubt been beneficial for you regarding rust issues as well vs the Northeast. I drive a # of domestic trucks; all with high mileage driven daily. 150,000 miles and higher, and these are mid 2000 models. Very reliable and carrying loads all day.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 9 reviews