2003 Toyota Tacoma Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2003 Toyota Tacoma SR5 TRD 3.4L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.4L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carAcura CL

Summary:

The kind of truck that I could pass on to my grandchildren

Faults:

The seatbelts have issues with retracting properly. Not much of an issue, but just enough to get annoying. I've accidentally shut the door on the hanging seatbelt numerous times.

There's a dash rattle that occurs more when it's cold outside. The easy fix is to buy some vinyl tubing and tuck it up between the front of the dash and the windshield.

The stock Bilstein suspension is pretty miserable. One of the first things I replaced.

The leaf springs wear out quickly. Again, one of the first things I replaced.

General Comments:

It's an incredible truck, and by far the most reliable car I've owned.

The engine will last forever if given the proper maintenance.

Off-road, this truck really shines even without any modifications.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2011

31st May 2011, 16:31

I have a '96 Tacoma. Indeed the engines in these things will last forever. Even though mine is going on 16 years old, it barely shows any wear. The truck could probably last another 20+ years no problem. My guess as to why is because Toyota put HUGE oil pans on these things. My 4 banger Taco holds almost 6 quarts of oil. That means the engine runs cooler and the oil stays cleaner. It's the best vehicle I've ever owned, and I've owned it since new.

2003 Toyota Tacoma SR5 3.4 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles

Summary:

Very powerful, strong and beautifully

Faults:

Comfort interior, and you can hear the wind with the windows up.

General Comments:

This mini-truck is very easy and secure to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2009

23rd Nov 2009, 06:53

Could you expand upon your review?

I'm not sure what the issue with the interior is, other than some wind noise.

Thanks.

2003 Toyota Tacoma Prerunner V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired500 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Good truck

Faults:

Paint on the bumper (prerunner) is flaking off.

Ball joint replacement (recalled by Toyota).

General Comments:

Overall good truck. I would buy another.

Oh...and I hate the lock switches on the door. They are pretty freaking annoying. I wish the door lock switches would be flush with the door when locked.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2007

2003 Toyota Tacoma SR5 TRD 4x4 Ext Cab 3.4L V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.4L V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance87500 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Summary:

Great reliable used truck value; only get the V6 if you need the power as gas mileage is horrid

Faults:

Power steering pump replaced twice under warranty.

Water pump replaced once under warranty.

Clutch pedal assembly & clutch torsion spring & bushings all replaced at 60K miles due to severe squeaking with clutch pedal depression.

Front lower ball joint recall done.

Seatbelt retractors don't work.

Cup holder tabs worn & frayed (not a big deal since the cup holders are tiny anyhow)

Infamous dash rattle.

General Comments:

Headlights crappy & replaced with PIAA.

Fog lights not available, added PIAA fogs.

Severe windshield pitting; 3 cracks, 5 rock starbursts even with hood deflector since new.

Seats uncomfortable -- added my own lumbar support.

2003+ mirrors are larger and have much better rear view.

Spray-in liner highly recommended.

Paint quality is average despite polishing with Zaino products 6-10 coats per year.

Stereo pathetic & completely replaced -- no room for subs in extended cab without extensive cutting.

Truck is very reliable & fun to drive.

Back end is squirrelly on ice & snow -- always, always always weight down the rear axle in the winter!!!

Poor gas mileage -- 17 mpg in town, 18.8 on the highway -- makes me want to upgrade to a V8.

K&N FIPK reduced gas mileage by.5 mpg, would recommend drop-in K&N filter instead.

Good tire life, went to 17" Sequoia wheels & tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2007

14th May 2007, 12:23

Hmmm, seems like a lot of problems for a toyta especially with the low miles.

2003 Toyota Tacoma SR5 TRD V6 3.4L from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 3.4L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Pricey, but worth every penny.

Faults:

All cosmetic, but here they are:

The tabs on the cup holders wore out.

The little plastic arm that holds the driver's side floor mat in place broke.

Tires needed to be replaced @ 50,000 miles.

Ball joints needed to be replaced due to a recall... fixed for free (obviously)

Foam rubber gasket on driver's side door wore out.

General Comments:

Great truck! All I've done is change the oil (missed my 30k service, but I'm going to take her in for the 60k).

The rear end is a bit light in the snow... just added a few sand bags and it handles much better (even with 4WD).

The seat belts don't retract and are constantly getting slammed in the doors, which drives me nuts! This seems to be the case with every Toyota I've ever been in, though.

Why must everything be cheap plastic these days? I skidded out on a snow-covered dirt road and hit a snow bank going about 10 mph... Didn't even think anything of it, until I got home... the whole bumper needs to be replaced! Even the chrome had a big dent in it. Oh well, that's what insurance is for.

Seats are a bit uncomfortable for long drives.

Gas mileage is a killer... I've hit 21 mpg once, since then never topped out above 19. Still, better than any other pickup on the market.

Great power, decent handling, fun on the beach, seems to be nearly impossible to get it stuck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2007

9th Apr 2007, 15:24

Yes, the seat belt problem is true. I've been involved with multiple tacomas and all of their seat belts will not wind up (always getting stuck in the doors very annoying!).

7th May 2007, 15:26

During my test drive of an '04 Tacoma that I'm considering buying used I noticed the same thing with the seat belts - thought it might be something with the particular truck. But all the other one's I test drove do the same thing as does my sister's '04 Corolla. It is annoying.

Most everything else about Toyotas seem so well-engineered I guess they had screw at least one thing up!

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 17 reviews