2003 Toyota Tacoma 2WD Base Regular Cab 2.4 Liter from North America


The Toyota Tacoma is great economical transportation


Nothing serious has gone wrong with the vehicle.

The only engine issue I had was a "check engine" light on because of a loose gas cap.

The parking brake cable kinks when it's released, and there is a small rain leak around the passenger foot area.

General Comments:

This truck is perfect and reliable transportation in all weather conditions. It doesn't have a lot of features and options, but it does everything I need a vehicle to do. It has power steering for easy handling, and high ground clearance for driving through heavy snow.

Fuel mileage is great. I recently installed Bosch Platinum/Iridium (4 electrode) spark plugs, and began using synthetic oil with 10% Duralube. Mileage increased from 26 to 33 MPG on the highway. The only thing I don't like about the design is the cheap plastic parts used in the interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2012

2003 Toyota Tacoma SR5 TRD 3.4L V6 from North America


The kind of truck that I could pass on to my grandchildren


The seatbelts have issues with retracting properly. Not much of an issue, but just enough to get annoying. I've accidentally shut the door on the hanging seatbelt numerous times.

There's a dash rattle that occurs more when it's cold outside. The easy fix is to buy some vinyl tubing and tuck it up between the front of the dash and the windshield.

The stock Bilstein suspension is pretty miserable. One of the first things I replaced.

The leaf springs wear out quickly. Again, one of the first things I replaced.

General Comments:

It's an incredible truck, and by far the most reliable car I've owned.

The engine will last forever if given the proper maintenance.

Off-road, this truck really shines even without any modifications.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2011

31st May 2011, 16:31

I have a '96 Tacoma. Indeed the engines in these things will last forever. Even though mine is going on 16 years old, it barely shows any wear. The truck could probably last another 20+ years no problem. My guess as to why is because Toyota put HUGE oil pans on these things. My 4 banger Taco holds almost 6 quarts of oil. That means the engine runs cooler and the oil stays cleaner. It's the best vehicle I've ever owned, and I've owned it since new.

2003 Toyota Tacoma SR5 3.4 from North America


Very powerful, strong and beautifully


Comfort interior, and you can hear the wind with the windows up.

General Comments:

This mini-truck is very easy and secure to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2009

23rd Nov 2009, 06:53

Could you expand upon your review?

I'm not sure what the issue with the interior is, other than some wind noise.


2003 Toyota Tacoma Prerunner V6 from North America


Good truck


Paint on the bumper (prerunner) is flaking off.

Ball joint replacement (recalled by Toyota).

General Comments:

Overall good truck. I would buy another.

Oh...and I hate the lock switches on the door. They are pretty freaking annoying. I wish the door lock switches would be flush with the door when locked.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2007

2003 Toyota Tacoma SR5 TRD 4x4 Ext Cab 3.4L V6 from North America


Great reliable used truck value; only get the V6 if you need the power as gas mileage is horrid


Power steering pump replaced twice under warranty.

Water pump replaced once under warranty.

Clutch pedal assembly & clutch torsion spring & bushings all replaced at 60K miles due to severe squeaking with clutch pedal depression.

Front lower ball joint recall done.

Seatbelt retractors don't work.

Cup holder tabs worn & frayed (not a big deal since the cup holders are tiny anyhow)

Infamous dash rattle.

General Comments:

Headlights crappy & replaced with PIAA.

Fog lights not available, added PIAA fogs.

Severe windshield pitting; 3 cracks, 5 rock starbursts even with hood deflector since new.

Seats uncomfortable -- added my own lumbar support.

2003+ mirrors are larger and have much better rear view.

Spray-in liner highly recommended.

Paint quality is average despite polishing with Zaino products 6-10 coats per year.

Stereo pathetic & completely replaced -- no room for subs in extended cab without extensive cutting.

Truck is very reliable & fun to drive.

Back end is squirrelly on ice & snow -- always, always always weight down the rear axle in the winter!!!

Poor gas mileage -- 17 mpg in town, 18.8 on the highway -- makes me want to upgrade to a V8.

K&N FIPK reduced gas mileage by.5 mpg, would recommend drop-in K&N filter instead.

Good tire life, went to 17" Sequoia wheels & tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2007

14th May 2007, 12:23

Hmmm, seems like a lot of problems for a toyta especially with the low miles.