2004 Toyota Tacoma Reviews - Page 6 of 6

2004 Toyota Tacoma PreRunner 3.4 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.4 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

The Tacoma is an excellent vehicle, but needs some refining and a larger fuel tank

Faults:

10,000 miles and no problems. The engine runs good and the transmission shifts smoothly. Mechanically the truck has been as good as they get.

The only problem is that I am getting poor gas mileage - 20 miles per gallon on average. No matter if I drive the interstate highways or red light to red light, it still gets 20 miles per gallon.

The fuel tank is far too small, you have to re-fuel after driving 300 miles each time. A 20 gallon fuel tank would be a big improvement.

Driver comfort could be better on long trips, the floor board is not level and makes your ankles bend in an uncomfortable position. The steering wheel is too far away from a >6' driver. A telescopic steering column would be nice.

The ride is little harsh on streets with bad paving, which adds to driver fatigue.

General Comments:

The truck runs and drives great, but the gas mileage was a big disappointment. For short trips and day to day driving, the Tacoma is a great choice as long as you don't mind getting gas often.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2004

2004 Toyota Tacoma sr5 v6 TRD Off Road 3.4L from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.4L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3 kilometres
Most recent distance1500 kilometres
Previous carToyota Truck

Summary:

Smooth, Powerful, yet very refined

Faults:

No Mechanical failure to the Toyota Truck To Date.

General Comments:

Aggresive V6, smooth and refine transmission, good low end torque for you weekend warriors, bulletproof reliability and dependability. Seats Are comfortable, and supportive, although it does lack that extra space for work purpose if you are in the construction world. Great Beefy suspension for off road, handles abuse well and takes any road like it was made for it. A Good truck, but a little pricey compared to some larger more powerful trucks in it's class. If you are looking for a dependable truck with good features and options, great low end torque and a smooth transmission, look no further, Your truck is At Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2004

23rd Sep 2004, 20:47

I have just 10,000 miles on my 2004 tacoma trd. Tires are quiet, but hydro plane real easy, but are good in the snow. I wish they would have put the digital clock elsewhere. Truck has great low end power for towing. Fuel mileage was a lot better than expected. Great truck.

2004 Toyota Tacoma Ext Cab SR5 $x4 3.6L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.6L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Tough little truck built to last

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

No serious complaints with this vehicle. The 4WD is good enough for lite duty and common road hazards (i.e snow, rain, dirt). It was a difficult transition from the roomy F150 to the smaller cab. Also, wish the fuel mileage were a little better. But I expect this truck to run for years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2004

2004 Toyota Tacoma 4x4 Double Cab TRD 3.4 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.4 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance6200 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

A great 4x4 truck with only one big discrepancy, and a couple of small ones too.

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This truck is attractive, has ample power, transmission shifts nice, has a good ride for a 4x4, handles nice, console has a nice assortment of cup holders and storage. My off-road use for this truck is beach fishing in Texas. I have had no problem tracking through sand, some of it deep, to get to my favorite spots. The seats in this truck are at times bothersome to downright uncomfortable on somewhat extended journeys. I am 6'1" and 205 lbs., so I am not too big for the truck. Judging from my experience and some other reviews I have read, it might behoove Toyota to have extended comfort in mind for their next generation Tacoma that is due next year. The oil filter is difficult to access, but not impossible. At times when I have reduced the stereo volume, I have noticed squeaking where the top of the dashboard makes contact with the windshield. If you can handle the seats, take a long test drive, and deal with the occasional minor squeak in the dash, then I highly recommend this truck to anyone. This will probably not be my last Toyota truck. I am confident that they will remedy the comfort issue with the seats. However, if they don't, it will be my last. Anybody at Toyota reading?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2004

9th Apr 2004, 14:35

I have a 1999 Tacoma and I agree about the seats. If they don't improve them this will be my last also. Too bad, because otherwise it's a nice truck.

26th Jun 2004, 23:43

I wish that Toyota will improve the seats comfort and solve the squeaking dashboard.

12th Aug 2004, 21:37

Purchased new Tacoma Xcab 4wd V6 this week and am finding the ride to be overly firm to the point of being uncomfortably jarring. The seats are proving to be uncomfortable as well due to combination of odd lumbar placement and over-firmness. This is really a shame because the truck as a whole oozes quality in fit, finish, and material. It is obviously a really stout small truck, but I'm thinking that this truck is going to pound me to a pulp.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 17 reviews