2005 Toyota Tacoma Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2005 Toyota Tacoma Standard Cab 2.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired9500 miles
Most recent distance12500 miles
Previous carToyota Ford F 250

Summary:

BUY. Less is more!!

Faults:

Nothing Great Car.

General Comments:

20-21 miles in town, 25-27 mpg on the highway. The trans hits the power band just right. This truck is for personal use and it is perfect for home depot, flea markets, parts chasing. I can only imagine if you have to drive a lot on how the Toyota has few peers. I saw on Ebay with 250k go for $6k If your driving a $35k ford chevy and doing the same things, you should not only be ashamed, you should buy one, and save money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2007

16th Mar 2009, 20:45

Fortunately, thanks to those "ashamed" people buying $35k Fords and Chevys, they keep American companies in business.

27th Mar 2009, 20:21

I hate to burst your bubble, but the latest long-term reliability figures from J.D. Powers puts the Ford Ranger tops in its class (AHEAD of the Tacoma). For several years now the predicted reliability ratings of the Ranger have been EXACTLY THE SAME as the Tacoma in Consumer Reports. When I bought a small truck in 2006, I test drove both a Tacoma and a Ranger. The Ranger with similar engine and equipment was a full SEVEN GRAND less. Needless to say, I bought the Ranger and saved the seven Grand. Our family companies use Ford, Chevy and Dodge full sized trucks, as well as Rangers for light duty. 300,000 miles on the Rangers with no engine or transmission problems is not at all unusual.

2005 Toyota Tacoma Sport ext cab 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Summary:

Totally unsatisfied!!!

Faults:

Window regulator fell out due to poor welds.

This truck is without doubt the noisiest vehicle I have ever owned. This noise is wind noise around mainly the driver's door. Not nearly as bad on the passenger side. The dealer says it is an engineering defect, and there is nothing they can do about it. They refuse to make any effort to even improve the problem, as the factory says they are aware of this "engineering defect", and do not have a solution. They continue to build the 2006 models with the same condition.

Toyota is sure dropping the ball on this situation. I bought this truck with full confidence in the vehicle and the company. Sorry customer, you are without any way of having this problem remedied.

General Comments:

I traded a great 1999 Tacoma that I honestly wish I still had, with over 100,000 miles. It is so bad, I hate to get in and drive this truck. What a shame.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th June, 2006

5th Mar 2011, 09:34

This has to be the only bad review I have ever read about a Tacoma. You must of gotten the one in a million lemon Toyotas. Sorry for you. Really.

14th Feb 2012, 15:37

Got an 07, which died in the first 75 miles.

Defective alternator.

Paint chipped off the rear of the bed due to no primer.

Poor mileage.

Had to get an annulment at 16k, and I baby this truck. Wish I had my old 98.

Pros: lots of power, better ride than older Tacomas, the no rust bed.

Cons: gas mileage, and build quality could be better.

2005 Toyota Tacoma PreRunner Dbl Cab 4.0L V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired37 miles
Most recent distance5800 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Best Decision I Ever Made (Wife Will Understand)

Faults:

There is very slight play in steering at highway speeds. Irksome, but only a comfort issue. Dealer is attempting to correct.

Tried hard to think of something else, but that's all.

General Comments:

Acceleration is no problem with its 236hp. It likes to leap ahead (really) with the slightest provocation. This baby gets up and gone. It is truly fun.

I have the TRD Off Road Pkg#2 and the suspension is terrific. Hauled 1200 lbs. of flooring and no creaks or bottoming out. Loads of fun on rough trails. In total control and have not gotten stuck once.

Interior fit and finish is very well done. Not crazy about the metal-like dash, but that's a taste issue. The rear seats are roomier and more comfortable than many sedans. This truck has been a great road-tripper for my family of four. The storage under and behind the rear seats is terrific.

The truck bed came with protector and is built to last. Convenient stow cubbies. Rail cleats make securing loads so easy.

The overall quality of this truck is just first rate. It's a truck and is happy being a truck, but it also doesn't mind being the best family vehicle I've owned.

I have always stayed away from Toyota's because they are priced $1,000-$2,000 higher than other makes.. this truck is no exception. It's a serious investment, but now that I've owned one, I see why others are so loyal.

I can honestly recommend this truck to anyone and, yes, the TRD packages are really worth additional money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2005

12th Jan 2006, 13:34

Owning one, I generally agree with the above review. I have the SR5 version, without the TRD suspension & interior, which I ordered after testing one with the TRD package. Even though I've used Bilstein shock absorbers many times in the past, the TRD Package with these shocks provides a noticeably harsher ride, unloaded. The stock Toyota shocks are firm, but not harsh. If really desired, the Bilstein shocks can be added in the future (when the stock shocks wear out). Wearing a T-shirt during a test drive, my son commented that the TRD interior was not as comfortable owing to its "fishnet" fabric that left impressions on his skin. Additionally, the fake (but nice-looking) hood scoop actually detracts from a view of the road. Hence three reasons why I opted for the lower cost SR5 version. Of course some of this is a matter of taste! My Tacoma succeeds my Chevy Silverado and T100, both very good trucks. I would, however, suggest that Toyota put a more robust tailgate on the Tacoma as I've read that it bends easily. From its very light weight, I can see that this could be true. With very good handling, power, practicality and fine construction, it is fun to drive. If reliability is what my 10-year old T100 provided, Toyota has a winner in this model.

2005 Toyota Tacoma SR5 with TRD Sport Pkg 4.0-liter V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0-liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired300 miles
Most recent distance3300 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

It thinks it's a sports car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I got this truck with the TRD Sport package that adds sports suspension and a hood scoop. The truck is very sharp and I've gotten may compliments on it.

When driving, it's very easy to forget it's a truck. The 245hp V6 engine accelerates like a sports car and kicks out more than enough power to easily do 100+ MPH. Handling is the best I've ever experienced in a pickup, with a ride height that's just right. The V6 gets 18.5 Mpg on average, which is very good for a vehicle of this size.

The interior is also very sports like with silver and graphite colored trims. There are numerous cup holders and storage bins throughout the cab. The stereo and controls are very well laid out and easy to use. Seats and interior materials are comfortable. Fit and finish are superb.

Overall I've been very impressed so far by this truck. This is my first Toyota, and if reliability lives up to the name, it won't be my last.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2005

7th Nov 2005, 14:23

Nice Review. Truck doesn't accelerate like a sports car.

11th Nov 2005, 16:55

Actually this one does. I neglected to mention in my review that I had a Toyota TRD performance exhaust (+ 10HP), and a K@N Air Filter installed. So my truck has a little more get up and go than a stock Tacoma.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 9 reviews