2006 Toyota Tacoma Reviews

2006 Toyota Tacoma Prerunner TRD 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2014
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 miles
Most recent distance129000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz W123

Summary:

Fun to drive

Faults:

After 20,000 miles, my Tacoma has been entirely trouble-free and absolutely reliable.

General Comments:

I bought my well maintained 2006 Toyota Tacoma TRD in December 2010. I bought the truck at a Toyota dealer. My truck had slightly over 109,000 miles when I purchased it. The odometer now reads 129,000+.

My Tacoma has been reliable. There have no mechanical or electrical failures. I have spent money only on oil changes and new tires.

The 4.0 V-6 engine has ample power for my needs. My highest highway mileage, at a steady 65 miles per hour, has been 22 MPG. The engine does not use oil between 5,000 mile oil changes.

The interior is simple, just the way I like. The adjustable seats are comfortable and do not induce fatigue on long trips.

The is a slight vibration when accelerating in all speeds, but so far the vibration has not affected reliability. I corrected a slight "bumping" sensation when stopping by adding helper springs to the rear leaf springs.

At cruising speed, the truck is quiet and smooth. The V-6 provides ample passing power in the 60-80 miles per hour range.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2014

2006 Toyota Tacoma Access Cab 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired500 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

Great truck, junk frame metal

Faults:

Frame is rusting badly. Needed welding repairs to pass state inspection. Tech pointed out that there are numerous other 'soft spots' all over the frame.

General Comments:

I really liked this truck. It's well put together. In 7 years I've never had a rattle anywhere.

The truck is also very easy to work on.

However, the frame is rusting badly and I don't know how much longer it's going to be before this becomes a very serious safety issue.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th August, 2013

2nd Sep 2013, 02:09

I suggest you contact Toyota immediately, and ask for a frame replacement.

2nd Sep 2013, 14:02

Japanese car companies are notorious for cutting corners to save pennies, and that includes not rustproofing their cars as domestic manufacturers do. Toyota has had bad rust issues before with its trucks. The best bet is to stick with American manufacturers.

2006 Toyota Tacoma SR5 4.0 turbo gas from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 4.0 turbo gas Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance82700 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

It is an all around great truck

Faults:

I have had no problems with this vehicle.

General Comments:

My Toyota Tacoma 4x4 4.0 turbo is very quick and gets decent gas mileage. It has outran many 5.3 Z71 Silverados. It is very reliable and very tough.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2011

2006 Toyota Tacoma TRD Off Road SR5 V6 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Summary:

FUN, FUN, FUN to drive!!!

Faults:

Every car company has its problems. I will be lying if I told you guys/girls that there is absolutely nothing wrong with the truck. But trust me, I owned other trucks, and there is a lot more wrong with them than the TOYOTA TRUCKS.

General Comments:

It's a great little truck, I use it for everything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2011

2006 Toyota Tacoma X Runner 4.0 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles

Summary:

Great

Faults:

20 miles per gallon in town and on the road.. I have a heavy foot, but it performs when needed; 6 speed...

I love it. I've seen 120k on the speedometer.

Wind noise on rear passenger side door... rattle in skirting; some minor stuff, but too far away from the motor and tranny to worry about...

I run high octane and sometimes get bad gas...??

I will keep this truck in the garage after 100k and buy brand new... just for kicks..

Have seen several around this area, but now only a few left on road???

I love my red truck, and may try to collect all three colors hmmmmm.

The truck will take care of you as long as you take care of the truck... What you put into it, you will get out of it.

Well 20k is the resale on my 24.5k truck.

General Comments:

I had a set of Goodyears... wow, handled great, then they went to $400 a tire... oh well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2010

3rd Aug 2010, 11:38

"I run high octane and sometimes get bad gas...??"

This is a myth that just won't die. Running high octane gasoline in a car designed to use regular unleaded gasoline has no benefits. It will not improve your mileage or your performance. Putting high octane gas in a car designed for regular is basically just throwing your money away.

You can improve your mileage by driving more responsibly. Keep the speed at 55 MPH on the highway and shift at 3,000 RPM, you'll see an increase in gas mileage.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 13 reviews