2006 Toyota Tacoma Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2006 Toyota Tacoma Double Cab 4x4 4.0 V6 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired31 miles
Most recent distance17320 miles
Previous carMazda B2200

Summary:

No other vehicle comes close!

Faults:

Nothing at all!!!

It's a dream truck.

Really the only complaint would be it needs mid-grade fuel instead of lowest, Every now and then (just makes it run better).

General Comments:

With 0-60 in 7 to 8 seconds it's got enough pep for most lead footers.

Sealed transmission (means no checking, fulling, worrying for 100k miles).

Also has sport shifter (Encase you want to drive like a Manuel), Plus So So much more!!

Seat are very comfortable front and back!!

Mother has bad back and can Travel in it.

Very low center of gravity, Corners better than most cars!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2007

2006 Toyota Tacoma TRD access cab 4.0 V6 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

If it's half as tough as my '95 4-runner was, it should be a long relationship

Faults:

The truck is fairly new. The only problems I have had thus far are with the cheesy OEM tires Toyota put on the vehicle. The BF Goodrich Rugged Trails are a real wanna-be tire. When I can scrounge up the money, I will be swapping them out.

General Comments:

The 4.0 V-6 is very quick. The difference between it and the 3.0 six in my old 4-runner is night and day. It takes mountain passes without a problem and can keep up with V-8s with less gas consumption. 23mpg on a recent trip.

The TRD suspension is pretty Stiff, but I've always been of the opinion that you either want a truck or a car. The stiff suspension excels on back roads. I live at an altitude of 4400ft. and many roads are dirt or gravel.

The truck will tow about 6500 to 6800lbs without a problem. That's all I need.

The truck seems to have the same legendary 4wd ability as my old 4-runner. The push button electric for 4wd and locking diff seems weird. I miss the handle on the floor and still reach for it sometimes!

The interior is not too glamorous, but functional. The TRD interior package is a bit tougher than stock. There is a lighter, but no ashtray. I guess a lot of new rides are like that now. Stereo is nice although I haven't used the six cd option yet.

The truck looks sharp and gets the eye.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2006

9th Nov 2006, 08:42

Yeah the Tacoma is a beautiful truck. It really shows that you don't need a huge truck to haul a lot. The Tocoma V6 is comparable to that of a 5.4 liter v8 in a Dodge or Ford. I can't say anything for chevy's silverado, I've never driven one, nor do I have want or need to buy something that breaks down on a regular basis. Go ahead and attack me on that, but fact doesn't change from bickering back and fourth.

The Tacoma is all most people will ever need in a truck, since 90% of truck buyers never even use those 5.7 liter V8s for what they're built for.

2006 Toyota Tacoma SR5 2.7 four cylinder. from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.7 four cylinder. Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired36 kilometres
Most recent distance1050 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet C1500

Summary:

GREAT, I should have traded in the silverado sooner

Faults:

No faults at this point.

General Comments:

This truck is very well built, feels solid, handles well, and rides smooth and quiet on the highway.

So far the gas mileage surpasses the window sticker. The 2.7 four cyl.doesn't pull like my 03 Silverado's V8 did, but on the highway I can cruise over any speed limit plus laugh at the gas pump.

If I need speed I have an 04 Mustang Cobra in the garage, but this truck is almost as much fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2006

7th Oct 2006, 20:04

Smooth and quiet... are you sure you really have a TACOMA??

27th Oct 2006, 22:41

You'll miss your Silverado once the Tacoma's suspension jars all the fillings out of your teeth.

28th Oct 2006, 09:08

Smart move trading in that piece of junk for a real truck. You'll love the Tacoma, and it rides better than a Silverado too.

2006 Toyota Tacoma Base 2.7 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.7 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance500 miles
Previous carNissan Pickup

Summary:

Closest thing to a mini truck you can get these days

Faults:

Noticed a coolant leak after one week. Dealer fixed it, leak has not come back as of yet.

A/C stopped working after the first day of ownership.

General Comments:

This is a nice truck overall.

Toyota trucks have a legendary reputation for durability so I was very surprised that I had to take it in for a coolant leak repair after only one week.

I'm not quite sure why the A/C stopped working after the 1st day... I did have an after-market alarm system installed on the truck on the 2nd day I had it... can that be the culprit??? Either way, I'll probably get it checked out later when the weather gets warmer.

I purchased the smallest Tacoma available, however, the fuel tank is 21 gallons just like the huge Double Cab models. Very expensive to fill the tank.

MPG could be better, my old truck got much better gas mileage.

Only time will tell how great or flawed this truck will be. I will try to give updates in the future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2006

17th Apr 2006, 21:01

I wonder why they (car companies) insist on bigger base engines. You have a 2.7! That's almost v6 size. Your older truck probably had the smaller 22re or something like that. Those were good engines that got good mpg.

Those problems on such a basic truck make you wonder at toyota's reliability doesn't it?

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 13 reviews