1995 Toyota Tercel Reviews - Page 5 of 8

1995 Toyota Tercel DX 1.4 Litre Engine from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4 Litre Engine Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance147000 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

One of the cheapest and reliable car you can ever get

Faults:

Battery Died Once because I was giving someone a boost when they had put the negative cable on the positive screw and the positive cable on the negative screw!

General Comments:

A very reliable car, If you decide to buy used, then buy a tercel. Also NEVER give anyone a boost with a tercel! IT WILL WRECK YOUR CAR (TERCEL)!!!1111.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th October, 2005

1995 Toyota Tercel DX from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carToyota Honda Accord 1987

Summary:

The Toyota Tercel is a good car for a short while. No longer 80,000 miles

Faults:

I had an oil leak at 80,000. My batteries seemed to die a lot sooner than expected at 80,000 and oil leak was noticed at this time.

Breaks and rotor is bad after 75,000 miles.

The speakers are not quality speakers so they stopped working at 80,000 miles.

The water pump to the radiator gave out at 100,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is a good starter car for someone young and wanting to keep it for no longer than 80,000 miles.

The seats, tires, and break shoes wear quickly if you are in a large city. Not a good car for large cities, great for a smaller town.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2005

5th Feb 2009, 14:25

You must have had a lemon then. I had a 95 Tercel DX. I bought it in 1996 and I drove it until 2006. My son started driving it then, and he drove it until Feb 2008 when a deer decided to try and jump over it. It had 273,000 miles on it. I actually cried when they came to pick it up to be scrapped. I am trying to find another one, but have not been lucky enough.

4th Dec 2009, 12:07

A comment directed to the person that had to replace brakes and rotors at 75000 miles. Are you kidding me!!! How long did you think they were going to last, forever? Check out the new vehicles and see the life expectancy of pads, rotors and other consumables. You did well.

6th Sep 2011, 22:26

Well I bought mine used at 78k miles, and it now has 142k. Still running great. No problems with just about anything... I've put tires on her and brake pads... that's about it.

1995 Toyota Tercel DX 1.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired129000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Great dependable car

Faults:

The car only had a 2 speaker sound system in it when I bought it. So I put a Sony receiver and some Road-Master 6 1/2's in and a month later my alternator died. And parts are more expensive and harder to find for the 95-99 year models.

General Comments:

I have made a few modifications to mine, but even before the car accelerated and handled almost perfectly. And as my family is on a strict budget it has served us well with only minor maintenance and problems. But as I said parts are a bit harder to find than say a Honda Civic or CRX.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2004

1995 Toyota Tercel from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

A Very Dependable Automobile

Faults:

After owning the car for so long, when it was almost nine years old and had about 135,000 miles under the hood, the relay to the cooling system went out. I bought the part from Toyota for about $15.00, and replaced it myself.

The upholstery started to pull apart and tear after about seven years.

General Comments:

I really abused this car! But it held up and the performance was never affected. I actually went almost two years without changing the oil once. I was young when I got the car, and did not take good care of it at all. Although it never let me down. I would recommed it to anyone.

Great Gas Mileage!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2004

8th Oct 2004, 21:23

Two year without oil changing? you must be kidding.

30th May 2012, 12:42

I will attest to the car standing up to two years without an oil change. Mine is a 1993 Tercel, and I went about a year and a half (~25000 miles) without an oil change.

1995 Toyota Tercel DX from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles

Summary:

A great gas bargain

Faults:

The usual wear and tear.

General Comments:

Rider height is an issue. The low seating causes you to have to maneuver in bizarre ways to get in and out. Over all a very reliable car for a first timer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th June, 2004

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 33 reviews