1995 Toyota Tercel Reviews - Page 6 of 8

1995 Toyota Tercel DX 1.5 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.5 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Wanna race? I have a 10 speed bike!

Faults:

Everything; the car is junk.

The engine says it all!

The cylinders go bad one day.

The second day it's drinking oil and has no power.

Well it never had power.

General Comments:

I have owned other Toyota cars, that weren't as bad as the Tercel, but I still wasn't very happy with them.

My last car was a Honda Accord; I thought that didn't have power, at least IT WILL OUT RUN A 10 SPEED BIKE. Of course I wouldn't recommend the Honda, but it was a lot better than any Toyota I have owned.

I WOULD RECOMMEND THE MADE IN US CARS FIRST.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd April, 2004

24th Apr 2004, 20:14

Well I don't know about the Tercel, but I have a 1993 Corolla with 201,000 miles and it has been a wonderful little car and its just now starting to burn a little oil, I'm hoping to get around 300,000 miles before I replace it with a new corolla.

26th Apr 2004, 07:26

Toyota is legendary for making engines that just don't die, I have 2 Toyota 4Runners, one with 370,000 the other has 268,000-both run perfectly. Like any kind of car you can get a lemon-my brother had a lemon Corolla and another brother has a lemon 4Runner-but these are rare occurrences. I have had 2 Tercels and both had over 200,000 on the clock-good cheap transportation! Try to get a good used Corolla, the 1993-96 (1.6L 16 valve) especially are unstoppable.

1995 Toyota Tercel from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired132000 miles
Previous carToyota Pontiac Sunbird

Summary:

I LOVED my Yota

Faults:

The only thing I have a problem with was the noise coming from the wheel when I had the brakes changed.

General Comments:

The car was great around turns, quick to stop and to go. Thought it was very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2004

1995 Toyota Tercel 5e-fe from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5e-fe Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Nova

Summary:

Toyota shouldn't have stopped making the Tercel

Faults:

The only thing I can possibly think of that is wrong with this car... is that the clip holding the floor-mat keeps coming undone so the mat scoots up.

Other than that, nothing has gone wrong in the 5 years I have owned my Tercel.

General Comments:

This has to be the best car I have yet to own.

It hates gas, and the oil is regularly changed every 3000 miles.

There are a lot of aftermarket parts becoming available everyday, if you are into upgrading your ride. (Body kits, lights, suspension, handling, performance, etc.)

This vehicle is great, whether you use it to get groceries or soup it up to race on the weekends (legally of course).

Very affordable to maintain if something does go wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2004

1995 Toyota Tercel DX 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired560 miles
Most recent distance215000 miles
Previous carNissan Stanza

Summary:

I made money @ 25 cents/mile!

Faults:

Water pump needed replacing at 125,000.

Rear defroster quit at 130,000.

Struts front and back needed replacing at 165,000.

CV joints needed replacing at 175,000.

Engine oil light came on permanently at 180,000.

I've had to buy a lot of tires.

General Comments:

I had to put cruise control on it so I could stand to drive it on the highway.

Overall it's held together amazingly well.

They said the mileage allowance my company paid would never cover the cost of a operating your own vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2003

1995 Toyota Tercel Standard 1.5L 4 cylinder SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5L 4 cylinder SOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired137000 miles
Most recent distance144000 miles
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

The ECHO should have been more like this...

Faults:

Absolutely nothing beyond normal wear-and-tear. I don't think it's possible to kill this thing.

General Comments:

It's rude and crude, but tougher than a Chevette and as frugal as a diesel. Surprising amount of fit and finish for this class. An unexpected bonus: it's a lot quicker than you'd think for having only 93 horsepower.

I would like it even more if it had a 5-speed (instead of a 4-speed), cloth upholstery, and power steering, because the Tercel's manual steering is surprisingly heavy at low speeds for a car that only weighs 2000 pounds. The ride is tinny and harsh as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2003

1995 Toyota Tercel Standard 2 Door 1.5L 4 Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5L 4 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance87900 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A trustworthy, low maintenance and inexpensive vehicle

Faults:

Decorative stripping is cracking.

Rear window brake light has popped out.

Check Engine light on at 85,000 miles. Indicated emissions problem. Corrected for $400 and has subsequently passed California Smog requirements.

General Comments:

Toyota is known for its dependability. With this car, it has been no exception. Besides previously owning a Honda Civic that I drove smoking and coughing into the Toyota dealership, I have also owned a Ford Escort that required service within the first 3 months. Both vehicles offered me no reassurance on the road while with the Toyota Tercel I feel certain that I will make it to my final destination. My parents had Toyotas that lasted over 14 years and 250,000+ miles. That is the reason I turned back to Toyota after my previous experiences.

Although the interior is noisy on the freeway, and the car came with few perks, the peace of mind with driving a reliable and fuel efficient vehicle is unmatched.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2003

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 33 reviews