2002 Toyota Tundra Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2002 Toyota Tundra SR5 Ext Cab V8 4.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V8 4.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

A great truck for the price

Faults:

Engine belt squeaks.

Driver seat belt very slow to retract.

Paint scratches easily.

General Comments:

I bought it because I liked the V8 with double overhead camshafts.

Great gas mileage and power for a small V8. It screams when you step on it.

Bench seat 60/40 is uncomfortable on drivers side. It feels like it has too much padding in it. Wish I had buckets.

Low idle oil pressure, but dealer says all Tundras have low oil pressure while idling. Requires 5w 30 oil.

Engine very noisy on cold morning unless I let it warm up completely before driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd March, 2004

2002 Toyota Tundra sr5 access cab V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carGMC Sierra

Summary:

I get pleasure, compliments, high resale value, how can you do better

Faults:

The battery went defective at about 500 miles. No problem, it could happen to any car maker.

General Comments:

This truck accelerates briskly, and the ride is smooth, but the front shocks could use just a bit more dampening.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2003

2002 Toyota Tundra Sr5 4.7L I-Force V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.7L I-Force V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Summary:

Great foreign truck

Faults:

Four-wheel drive differential went out, and was immediately replaced by Toyota.

Hit a deer doing 70 and airbags didn't go off. (explain that one)

Runs perfect with no problems.

General Comments:

Premium sound is perfect.

Lots of power and a lot of show and go.

Good, gas mileage and great performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2003

18th Jun 2003, 14:21

Hee Hee Hee. Nope not a foreign truck. USA made.

17th Aug 2003, 17:40

But the foreign managers and supervisors ensure quality workmanship. Domestically made, but foreign quality.

5th Jan 2007, 19:45

Those of us who drive foreign vehicles simply want the best that we can get for our money. My grandfather, a WW 2 veteran, says that despite the fact that he fought in the war, he can't help, but buy Toyota's so that he knows that my grandmother and he will be much, much less likely to ever break down in one than a Ford or GM. He has owned nothing, but American made vehicles in his 68 years of driving until the last two Toyota's, and he tells me that every other domestic car that he has owned has dripped some kind of fluid on his garage floor, and the Toyota's were the only two that never did. It's American workers that ruined GM. They could be building better vehicles if enough of their employees cared about such things. I don't make what I consider to be a lot of money, so until the domestic automakers get their act together, I will be driving Toyota's and Honda's.

2002 Toyota Tundra SR5 ACCESS CAB 4.7 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.7 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Summary:

The best vehicle that I have ever owned only because my Tacoma was not a 6 seater

Faults:

The only thing that is bad about the truck is the poor quality paint. Scratches very easily.

General Comments:

This is the first vehicle that I have been able to drive more than 500 miles in one day. Drove almost 1000 with no problem. Super comfortable.

Drove over 1100 miles in 2 days with 4 kids age 8 - 14 and 2 adults with very minimal complaints.

Power and handling are awesome.

Have 15K on the truck in less than 6 months and have had no problems what-so-ever. The only problem I have found was my fault. Cruise did not work, but I did not have it completely in drive and the dash indicator was not lighted.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2002

21st Feb 2009, 17:59

I agree with the previous review. I have the same vehicle and love it so far; bought used in 2007. No mechanical problems.

Gas mileage is a bit low, but hey, what do you expect with an 8-cyl.

FYI, the 2002 I believe is the last year the vehicle produced with a metal front bumper and the front bench seat, which is nice for a third person in the front (all newer Tundras have the bucket seats)

22nd Feb 2009, 12:30

The Tundra still comes with the bench seat. It is called the Tundra Grade (steel rims and bench seat), and you can get the Tundra Grade in all three cab sizes.

2002 Toyota Tundra V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired62 miles
Most recent distance1600 miles
Previous carToyota T18

Summary:

Worrisome

Faults:

At around 700 miles a knocking/rattling sound could be heard coming from the engine. This occurred about 3 weeks after purchase. I took the truck to the nearest dealer, which wasn't the dealer I purchased it from. The engine was defective. One of the piston rod ties was too long or loose and was banging. After the dealer service rep spoke to the Toyota Motor Sales USA technical rep, a new engine (short block) was ordered to replace my engine. Thirty-one days later, sixty something days after the purchase date, I got my truck back.

General Comments:

I'm very disappointed. The truck wasn't even in my possession for 30 days when I had to have the engine replaced. Very, very, very disappointing and disheartening.

To get Toyota to take this vehicle back, I have to go through the Lemon Law process and arbitration. Then, if I'm not satisfied, I'll have to bring suit against them.

Toyota should be ashamed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th September, 2002

23rd Nov 2003, 16:51

They fixed it didn't they?

9th Feb 2008, 12:32

Yet another example of Toyota "quality."

9th Feb 2008, 16:30

At least Toyota replaced it. Ford or GM would have told you it was supposed to sound like that, since most of them do over 2500 rpms. Be glad you purchased from a reputable company and not from the Big 3.

2002 Toyota Tundra Limited 2WD AccessCab 4.7L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.7L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance5760 miles
Previous carChevrolet C10

Summary:

The best fullsize truck value

General Comments:

With TRD suspension rear end will skitter and slide on bumpy turns; but it is very controllable.

8-way Captain chair has no lumbar adjustment, and that's very noticeable on long hauls.

Superb steering and near-perfect power.

In terms of a design you have to work on eventually, the attention to detail from the standpoint of people who use trucks is the best ever done.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2002

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 16 reviews