2005 Toyota Tundra 4 door from North America - Comments

12th Mar 2007, 16:01

Once again, a false negative Toyota review, obviously written by someone who's agenda is to discredit them. The anti-import bias is easy to see. Sorry, but the Tundra is a lot better than a Silverado or an F-150, and this weak attempt to say differently doesn't change that.

12th Mar 2007, 16:18

Yeah, another false post. If the person loved the Silverado so much he would have bought one.

Bet you'll next read about how he traded it in on Silverado and that truck ran flawlessly, then there will be a littany of how ALL his neighbors had Tundras and bought Silverados, etc. etc.

12th Mar 2007, 16:59

I can believe the reviewer has an agenda. I do not blame you for being suspicious about that. This is not a well written review, and I do not think it should have been allowed on the site. But I can also believe that all these things did or would indeed happen the Tundra. Toyota's have been having a lot of problems recently. I base that not just by what I see on carsurvey, but what I have witnessed personally within the past five years.

You could be right about this being a bogus review, and if so, it has no place on this site. But from what I have seen out of Toyota, especially their arrogance, my preference is to not give them the benefit of the doubt.

12th Mar 2007, 17:11

Wow there are hundreds of these kinds of reviews in the domestic vehicle sections, but if one is in the Toyota section it is all lies.

12th Mar 2007, 20:18

I only had to test drive a new Tundra to know I would not buy one. I would rather wait and buy a 2007 Silverado if it had been necessary. I was able to buy a new one however.

12th Mar 2007, 22:52

17:11; Well, there's a reason for that; the terrible Ford/Chevy/Dodge reviews are most likely accurate, and the Toyota ones aren't. At least 99 out of 100 aren't. There were VERY few bad Toyota reviews anywhere here, until the import-domestic argument on this site began. Since then, dozens of false ones have been written.

13th Mar 2007, 05:01

********************

steven@carsurvey.org

********************

I keep a very close watch on the reviews and comments being posted, to look for any suspicious patterns.

While it's OK for individuals to post significant numbers of comments, it's not OK for them to post fake reviews or multiple reviews of the same vehicle.

I have taken action in the past to stop this sort of activity, but looking at the evidence I have for this particular review, I can see nothing that suggests the review is anything other than genuine.

Steven Jackson

13th Mar 2007, 05:25

Well, it seems to me that every sentence under 'general comments' seems to indicate that it's not legitimate. It's not really a truck. Who that thinks this would buy one then? It can barely do what's required of a work truck. What's that supposed to mean? It's going to haul or tow anything that one of the comparable competitors' trucks will. It can't be proven for SURE that this review is fake, but it surely sounds like it to me. The tone of it suggests a strong bias against the vehicle and Toyota's in general, and an agenda to slander them.

13th Mar 2007, 05:49

********************

steven@carsurvey.org

********************

If someone has had a bad experience with a vehicle, then it's not surprising that they may sound a little biased against the manufacturer.

Visitors can vote on the quality of the review, and I suspect that it won't stay on the "Most Well Written" reviews page. That's fine, as the detail is somewhat lacking.

However, having looked at this review and the patterns of Toyota reviews, I still can't see any evidence that justifies removing the review from the site.

No one should be basing their decisions on single reviews. The intention of the site is to provide a large number of reviews and comments, so general trends can discerned by visitors who take the time to read widely.

It's also the case that even the best manufacturers have occasional rogue vehicles, and likewise, generally poor manufacturers can sometimes turn out some decent examples of their models.

Steven Jackson

13th Mar 2007, 13:43

Well, I guess I'll be the one to beat the dead horse: I agree that if someone has a bad experience with a vehicle that they aren't going to write in a positive way about it. All I'm saying is that comments like "it's not a real truck" say to me that this person would never buy one, and in reality doesn't own one. If a person is going to spend 20-30 thousand dollars on a vehicle, then I would imagine that he or she will have looked at it enough before purchasing to decide whether or not they think it's a real truck. It's not like a mechanical issue that arises later, that didn't surface until later. Saying it's not a real truck AFTER you buy it is the same as saying, "this thing is blue, and I don't like blue, this truck is no good". I don't even care about the review not being erased, because it might actually be legitimate, but in my opinion, the odds are pretty long against that being the case. I apologize if everyone, but me already closed the book on this topic, but I think this needed said.

13th Mar 2007, 14:59

I wrote the 16:59 comment. I think it is important to mention that there are a lot of seethingly bad American car reviews and comments that extremely very suspect.

I have no problem putting my cards on the table right now and stating that I do not like foreign cars, or advocate buying them. But, I will by no means say that implies they are all junk.

I always support objectivity, no matter what one is talking about, even if it does not support my position. On that note, for anyone to imply that any bad review about a Toyota must be false, while similar bad reviews about domestics are genuine, is absolutely ludicrous. I think any reasonable person would agree there is an agenda there, and no matter what side of the aisle you are on, you should not support it.

My opinion, which I state without reservation on the Japanese vs. domestic quality question, is that Japanese had been better in the past, but now it is the other way around, by far. The Japanese got complacent and let quality slip, while the American manufacturers realized their mistakes and turned their past quality problems around in a big way. This is based both on research and extensive personal experience.

If anyone disagrees, feel free to chime in. That is what this site is for. But do not expect an instant response, or that I will even see fit to give one at all. Some comments just speak for themselves, and I do not monitor this site every five minutes, excellent though it is.

14th Mar 2007, 05:41

When I read it's not a truck... it means the truck has a lot of limitations. If it's not a full size when it's being compared to others for example. Another could be the Honda Ridgeline... to me not really a truck. I bought a new full size domestic as I have many applications besides carrying light loads, towing etc. Why spend the money if you cannot utilize it for many applications?