2001 Vauxhall Astra Reviews - Page 4 of 7

2001 Vauxhall Astra Comfort 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance43500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Well equipped reliable workhorse

Faults:

Rear brakes binding.

Seats springs very squeaky.

Trim around stereo makes rattling noise.

Windscreen washers go mysteriously empty when I know there is plenty fluid in the reservoir.

General Comments:

The car is very reliable. Will start every turn of the key.

Not the comfiest on long journeys though.

Not a lot of storage space within the cabin and it isn't the brightest of cabins I've seen.

Very well equipped. 4 electric windows, Cruise control, Air conditioning, Cd player, Leather steering wheel etc.

Fuel tank not the largest. Lucky to get 33 pounds in the tank.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2003

15th Dec 2003, 09:48

I agree with the comment regards the windscreen washers suddenly going empty. I picked up a new car with washers on the lights as well - they work well, but I can never get water onto my windscreen - does anybody know why please?

1st Sep 2004, 07:06

I have a 1999 registered Astra and the windscreen washers have gradually got worse until no water will come out at all from the front or rear. The reservoir is full and the motors still work so I presume there must be a blockage somewhere in the system. The car has some other small faults, but I am still very satisfied with the vehicle, performance and handling are very good and I haven't had any engine reliability issues.

18th Aug 2008, 05:34

My 2001 1.4 Astra is very comfy on long journeys, has plenty of space in the cabin and in the boot, and the trim doesn't rattle and the wipers work fine.

Also, I have had over £50.00 of petrol in its tank. With just over 25000 miles on the clock it runs like clockwork.

2001 Vauxhall Astra LS 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6256 miles
Most recent distance32156 miles
Previous carNissan Bluebird

Summary:

A good all-round car for everyday use.

Faults:

Slight knock developed on the steering which turned out to be a worn universal joint in the steering column. This fault was fixed by Vauxhall under warranty.

General Comments:

As my wife already had this model and my own car was due to be changed I opted for The Astra 1.6 LS 16v as I was quite impressed with hers.

The engine is sharp and willing and on the up side it only requires a service every 20,000 miles, although I change the oil at 10,000 miles.

This is the only car I have owned which does not give me a back ache, which is a blessing, as I spend so much time in it as I use it as a Taxi.

For a petrol engined car I would say it is quite economical. Around town I get about 37 mpg and on a straight run about 49 mpg.

Servicing costs are cheap as well. The 20,000 mile or 1 year service will only set you back £120.00 which equates to £10.00 per month.

Buying this car second hand is an excellent option. I paid under £8000 for a car that was only a year old with only just over 6000 miles on the clock, as opposed to a brand new one for £12,500.

Although the interior probably looks a bit drab by todays standards, it has everything I need and has bags of space for a car of this class.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2003

27th Sep 2003, 03:37

Hi there. I just bought the Astra 1.6/8v LS. I just got rid of a Vectra 1.8/16v and I tell you what the Astra kicks the ass of the vectra. A very nice smooth car to drive and plenty of poke for an 8V engine. In the cockpit, design could have been better, but overall everything is close to hand and with steering controls for the stereo makes it easier again. To sum it up a good all round car with great fuel consumption with good handling.

2001 Vauxhall Astra SRi 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

A great looker with performance to match

Faults:

One of the Headlamps was gathering condensation inside and had to be replaced. Drivers door fastening loose on arrival which I fixed myself. The security panel on the front of the CD player broke which had to be replaced.

General Comments:

Very satisfied with this car although I did expect it to have more power than it has. Slightly underpowered, but enough poke to get get you out of trouble.

I have the 3 door version which I personally think looks fantastic. No other car in its class looks this good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2003

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 27 reviews