2001 Vauxhall Astra Reviews - Page 6 of 7

2001 Vauxhall Astra Coupe 2.0 16v turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carFord Puma

Summary:

Fast and Furious high performance with out the high costs

Faults:

New wire replaced in the passenger seat, so that the seat could slide forward to let a passenger get into the back of the car.

Paint work seems to be susceptable to stone chips. This may be due to high speeds.

General Comments:

I brought my car with the Irsmcher body kit styling. This is a must if you want to stand out from the crowd. The collaboration of the Turbo edition colour and body kit gives it unique identity. People stare and I mean stare. I even had one guy stand peering into the car while I was filling the car with petrol.

The front lower spoiler is to low so you have to be careful with speed bumps and uneven roads surfaces.

No rear wiper, but then there's no room for one.

Windows drop and rise an inch when opening the doors. This is to create a air tight seal a gap between the glass and seal. AND IT WORKS!!

The engine is quiet until you open it up. Push the car to 6000rpm through the gears and you will see 1/4 mile in about 15.9 seconds.

The gear box is good the gear throw is pretty good. 1st seems to difficult to engage and this seems to be repeated by other owners.

The suspension is a good balance. Turn hard into corners and it handles sharp. Best it handles with out the hard bone shaker ride. It could have been lower sprung than it is.

The interior is smart. I've got full leather interior, heated seats, 4 disk autochanger, Aircon, 6 speaker system. Airbags for both driver and passenger, full on board computer. Both the stero and the computer can be controlled with both hands on the steering wheel. The dash looks a little dull, but fully functional.

One rattle from the passenger side door, but quick with some padding behind the door.

Boot space is massive!!

Pro's

-------

Bloody quick espescially 0-100mph sprint.

High Level of equipment.

Looks excellent.

Insurance group 15 - 23yrs 6yrs NCD £950 fully comp.

Con's

-------

Poor used market value brand new £18000-21000 depends on spec. Used £13000-14000 based on April 2002 figures.

Tyres expensive due to speed rating.

Stereo upgrade means losing built in Vaxhall controls.

MAYBE OVER SHADOWED BY THE ASTRA SRI TURBO AND THE ASTRA GSI TURBO. BOTH ARE FASTER.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2002

11th Aug 2002, 19:22

I would love to know what insurance company you are with, that price does not sound bad. I m 22 with 5 years NCD and looking to purchase a Vauxhall Coupe very soon. Would be greatful for any info. thanks.

27th Oct 2003, 10:27

I got a very good quote from Liverpool victoria, they also include trackday insurance at no charge!!! Plus they seem to be mod friendly.

I was previously with Admiral who also gave a good quote.

19th Feb 2005, 05:21

26yrs old with 5yrs no claims, was with Direct Line originally and they are about £830 fully comp, but esure and privilege look like they'll be sub £500 - and with business insurance... has anyone else had problems with the alarm going off randomly on the 2.2i?

14th Feb 2006, 07:47

Iam 21 with 1 year no claims and two years driving with no points or convictions or accidents and I'm paying 1100 with tesco.

2001 Vauxhall Astra Coupe Bertone 2.2 16v ECOTEC from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 16v ECOTEC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance960 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Good-looking powerhouse

Faults:

CD autochanger missing upon purchase (car had to go back to factory to get one fitted).

Leather on passenger seat scuffed upon purchase.

Left side indicator lamp fell out at 400 miles, but was probably broken upon purchase.

Driver's seat rattle at 300 miles.

Dashboard rattle at 300 miles (still unresolved).

Rubbing sound from right brake disc at 600 miles (still unresolved).

Steering wheel radio controls stay lit after car is locked (major problem with ALL Vauxhalls fitted with satellite navigation after August 2001).

The Vauxhall dealership has been very responsive to any repairs needed, and have always provided a good courtesy car. But all these problems are seriously beginning to bug me - surprising since most Astra Coupe reviews note its good reliability.

General Comments:

This car is extremely powerful, particularly for an automatic. Very responsive - frightening to drive in "Sports" mode.

Excellent handling, sticking to the road well through demanding bends. An absolute pleasure to drive.

With optional extras (electronic climate control, colour satellite navigation, beige leather) the cabin is remarkable. I had one Transit van nearly crash into me as he was peering in!

I know it's difficult to find satellite navigation reviews of the Coupe so here it is - buy it! The screen integrates well into the centre console, and knows every road I've been on yet (even country bridle-ways!)

Despite being a derivative of the Astra, the car gets a lot of looks.

Without the reliability issues, this car is an excellent buy - powerful, responsive, good looks and excellent optional extras.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st January, 2002

8th Feb 2002, 10:34

"Rubbing sound from right brake disc at 600 miles (still unresolved)."

I think I've got that on mine, a low rumble noise, sounds like a bearing or brake disc. It's going in next week, if it gets resolved, I'll let you know what it was. If you find out what yours is, let me know.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 27 reviews