2001 Vauxhall Astra Reviews - Page 5 of 7

2001 Vauxhall Astra Envoy 1.4 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Good for the missus

Faults:

The driver's seat squeaks continually in harmony with the left side of the dashboard producing an annoying stereo effect. I've tried adjusting the seat to different positions, short of oiling it, but to no success.

The dealer's service garage wanted to charge a packet for a cam-belt change, and after some serious shopping I found a better deal, but nonetheless still expensive for the kit.

General Comments:

The fuel consumption on the car is quite good, I get about 470 miles to a tank.

The seating is comfortable only for a couple of miles or so and then turns into a successful back-breaker especially on the longer journeys of which I've to endure daily.

Linear acceleration is non-existent, with the 'meat' of the 'push' only kicking in at approximately 4000 revs and upward. This makes it seriously lacking when you have to enter a roundabout in peak traffic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th June, 2003

2001 Vauxhall Astra Comfort 2.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 400

Summary:

Steady, comfortable and efficient on long runs

Faults:

Rear brakes had binding problem, apparently common to Astras of this year. Eventually resolved by Vauxhall.

Squeaky springs in front seats, again easily fixed.

General Comments:

Generally a great package, comfortable inside. Turbo can be a little aggressive when it winds up, certainly not progressive in low gears and burns a little too much oil. Still too much a diesel around town, low revs low performance. Very good though on long runs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2003

2001 Vauxhall Astra Coupe 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired9500 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

Nice looking, but not the car I'd hoped for

Faults:

Problems with acceleration jumping and juddering resolved with a new thing (sorry don't know the technical term) for the engine. Replaced the sparks plugs etc and now seems OK.

General Comments:

Although I think this is a nice looking car and is quite quick it has major problems getting the power down in the dry never mind the wet. Coming out of a corner, even a slight one and accelerating (not quickly) can cause the front wheels to spin.

The front seats must also be the most uncomfortable in the world and have caused me a lot of back pain (I'm only 28).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd January, 2003

2001 Vauxhall Astra club estate 1.7dti from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.7dti Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance19950 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

A good family car

Faults:

Needed new front tyres at 16000 miles.

General Comments:

Apart from the new front tyres at 16000 only other bill has been for yearly service, Which cost £80.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2002

2001 Vauxhall Astra LS 1.4 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

Not as slow as you might think!

Faults:

Nothing yet!

General Comments:

The car is very nice to drive. I would have gone for the 1.8 Sport considering the insurance would not be much different. As usual Vauxhall's interior looks dull. I got mine for 8K not bad considering it was only 8 months old when I bought it and new it was 12.5K!

0-60 11 seconds and 110 mph are not bad times for a 90 bhp motor in sutch a large car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th August, 2002

2001 Vauxhall Astra Coupe 2.0 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

A very good looking fast car

Faults:

Flywheel mounting shattered on motorway - twice.

Major oil and transmission leaks.

Engine has been rebuilt three times.

General Comments:

I brought this car from new and ordered the full Irmerscher styling kit. When the car arrived it looked amazing.

The acceleration is unbelievable for a car that costs less than £20K.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st August, 2002

2001 Vauxhall Astra SXi 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

Safe fast reliable sports car

Faults:

Drivers seat and arm rest is squeaky.

Remote Central Locking only works within 5 feet of the car!

Air Conditioning not much noticeable to normal cold air on heater. To ensure car is cold you must put cold air on max and then turn a/c on then press the car recirculation button.

General Comments:

Car interior could do with some cheering up, does not look very appealing.

The car is very quick and has good 0-60mph time, its quicker then Vauxhall say!

Handling is superb! The SXi model came with the sports suspension pack which you really notice compared with the normal Astra 1.8 Great car I look forward to the future Astra GSi.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2002

3rd Sep 2002, 07:32

I own a 2001 Astra SXI - After taking the car for the first service I ask the engineer to check the Air Con.

It appeared to be only half filled with Gas.

You may have the same problem.

19th Nov 2004, 08:13

Hi.

Regarding the squeaky seat!

I had the same problem when I bought my SXi a month ago - it is especially bad when accelerating yes?

I have now managed to solve the problem and am completely squeak free.

It sound somewhat brutal, but what you needs to do is feel the side of the seat about half way down, there should be a point where it feels soft and you can push your finger into the fabric.

Once you have located this point, insert the tip of a very sharp knife (I used a small kitchen knife) into the seat at this point. Then use a can of WD40 and the long nozzle that comes with it and insert it into the hole. Now simply squirt the can! (not the whole can perhaps 10 seconds or so)

You cannot see at all the point where the knife entered the seat and the squeak will disappear - the WD40 smell will take about 3/4 days to go completely!

Sorted!

25th Feb 2010, 13:13

Have you not considered having the air conditioning checked?

It is quite likely that it needs recharging.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 27 reviews