1994 Vauxhall Cavalier Reviews - Page 8 of 11

1994 Vauxhall Cavalier Cesaro V6 2.5 V6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10200 miles
Most recent distance10700 miles

Summary:

Ultimate street sleeper

Faults:

Traction control is a must when applying the huge amounts of torque this monster has, the swine eats tyres though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2001

1994 Vauxhall Cavalier GLSI 2.0i 8v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0i 8v Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

A great fun car

Faults:

Nothing really, will need a bit of work on the suspension in the next 3 months, but apart from that it seems to be fine, general wear and tear.

General Comments:

A great reliable car, very nice to drive and very quick.

Very nice as it comes with lots of nice extras e.g electric windows etc.

The only thing it lacks really is ABS.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2001

1994 Vauxhall Cavalier CDX 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carFord Orion Ghia

Summary:

A nightmare, but great when they work!

Faults:

Various hoses and seals blown.

All brake discs needed replacing @ 90,000 miles.

Air conditioning needed re-gassing twice and a new condenser.

Immobiliser kept cutting out engine whilst travelling (very scary!!!!)

Boot lock.

Central locking motor.

Cambelt snapped after 1st non-dealer service (new engine required).

General Comments:

All my previous cars have been Vauxhalls (Orion was the wife's). I never had any trouble before, but this car has put me off them for life. It had a full, documented history from new. It was just a Friday afternoon car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st January, 2001

22nd Nov 2001, 15:38

My wife's CDX has exactly the same immobilizer fault that cuts the car engine whilst moving - "very scary" is absolutely right. Is this a common fault and what is the best way to cure it? So far Vauxhall have failed to locate the problem... I am ready to rip the immobilizer out with my bare hands!!!..."Ecotec" is nothing like as good or reliable as my 1989 2.0 8 valve (what the Ecotec has saved in fuel it has more than spent in garage bills due to expensive repairs!!!)

1994 Vauxhall Cavalier LSi 5 door 1.8i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired64425 miles
Most recent distance93200 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

A value for money used buy

Faults:

Brake discs have worn out quickly (20,000 miles).

Car occasionally loses coolant suddenly, which has nearly led to overheating (3 times since 88,000 miles).

Some of the front near-side suspension came loose (bushes at 70,000 miles).

Thermostat went at about 85,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car is almost the ideal size - not too big, but interior space is adequate.

Nothing serious has broken, and the car has never failed to start.

Paintwork looks fresh after 93,000 miles and 6 1/2 years. Very few stone chips. Design looks newer than it is.

Overall the car is good value, and parts are cheap and accessible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2000

1994 Vauxhall Cavalier SRi 2.0 16v ecotec petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v ecotec petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205 GRD

Summary:

Nice 'sporty' family car

Faults:

Crankshaft speed sensor.

Brake warning light keeps coming on.

Water reservoir level light on, even though level is fine.

Both front wheel bearings.

General Comments:

Acceleration is sometimes hesitant, especially when you need it (at roundabouts etc).

Performance OK apart from that. Brakes good.

Not as great at handling/performance as some cars, but after all this is a family car.

Apart from the above problems, I am happy with the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2000

1994 Vauxhall Cavalier GLS 2.0 8v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 8v petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

A reliable, comfortable and quick car

Faults:

Nothing while I have owned it.

General Comments:

Very reliable car, comfortable on both short and long journeys.

Fuel economy very good on the motorway although sups a bit of juice around town.

Engine is strong and should do 150K+ so long as serviced regularly, I know of one with 175K on the clock still running strong.

I have driven a few Vectras but I have not been too impressed with the feel of the car compared to the good old Cav. Perhaps this is just familiarity.

Bodywork has kept well for its age no sign of any rust yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2000

25th Nov 2002, 16:04

My friend has a 1.6 cavvy that has done 190k and is still driving like new, paintwork still looks good.

1st Oct 2003, 01:03

My father in law sold me his 50k cavalier 18 months ago. It has had an oil change every 6k and the whole car looks drives and even smells like new!

Nothing has ever gone wrong with it, it is pretty fast on the motorway and regularly returns 40+mpg on a run.

I did 50 thousand miles in it last year! so doubled the mileage on it without a single hitch.

My best mate is now driving it, it still looks brand new and I reckon that if kept well serviced it should easily reach 200K.

The car is still on the original clutch!

What a brilliant car.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 45 reviews