1994 Vauxhall Cavalier Reviews - Page 7 of 11

1994 Vauxhall Cavalier GLSI 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

Good motorway mile muncher

Faults:

The hand brake cable has seized on three separate occasions causing the rear brakes to jam solid, you have drive forwards dragging the wheels to release the brakes, a common fault.

Persistant fuel injection faults, misfires frequently, we have spent hundreds of pounds on repairs at injection specialists to no avail, currently running very poor at present.

General Comments:

Handles well good grip in wet, reasonable suspension, not as composed in town.

Comfortable motorway cruiser, if a little underpowered, rather cramped in the rear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st October, 2001

11th Aug 2002, 03:30

This web site has come in really handy because I have a cavalier whose back wheels jam. Thanks to your web site I now know what the problem is, thanks very much.

1994 Vauxhall Cavalier CDX 2.0 16v Ecotec from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Ecotec Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

Very comfortable and quite fast

Faults:

One week after I bought the car the alternator broke. This was replaced with a exchange unit from Vauxhall (£150).

Handling was slightly wayward, this was caused by anti roll bar end link being broken (£20). Then a month later, the other side broke, and was rubbing against the drive-shaft (£20).

General Comments:

This is a very smooth and comfortable car. It is quick enough and overtaking is easy.

This car had only 40,000 miles after 6.5 years and a Full Dealer History.

I changed the oil to Mobil 1 immediately after purchase.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2001

1994 Vauxhall Cavalier CDX V6 2.5 24v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 24v Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles

Summary:

Great car overall, ride only average

Faults:

Very occasionally stalls.

Alternator gave up at 70k.

General Comments:

Great fun, I love the unpretetious looks.

I service the car myself apart from the cam belt (dealer well under £100).

Reasonable economy if driven carefully (never!)

16" turbo wheels and tires improved handling.

Can be picked up cheaply now, but not many low mileage examples left.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2001

1994 Vauxhall Cavalier GLSi Modified 1.8i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Modified 1.8i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

Great car with endless possibilities for modifying it

Faults:

Exhaust fell apart in no time, replaced with a stainless steel Scorpion (£350)which is still going strong & gives a great noise.

Rear dampers began to leak at 35,000 miles, replaced with sports dampers & springs (£300) all round which make the car stick to the road like glue & make the car look far more aggressive with 16" wheels.

Head gasket & hydraulic cam lifters gone at 46,000??, both replaced along with the engine being balanced, ported & flowed + schrik cam (£1000). Power gain was astonishing.

Fronts discs began to warp at 50,000, replaced with EBC discs & pads which have significantly improved braking (£200).

General Comments:

Realiabilty has been second to none.

Running costs are good even after engine mods (keeps up with 16 valves).

After nearly 7 years the paint is still gleaming & there are no signs of rust anywhere.

Availability of standard & performance parts for this car is excellent.

Acoustics of the car are great (ideal for large stereo installations).

Easy to work on & service at home provided you have access to good tools.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2001

9th Oct 2002, 02:22

When you said there was no rust after 7 years are you sure there isn't any around the wheel arches? I've got a 2.0i and it's just starting to go now around the arches!! But the rest of the review is spot on. The acoustics are brilliant and reliability is excellent! Great review of a great car!

1994 Vauxhall Cavalier LS 1.7 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.7 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 214SLi 16v

Summary:

Quick and economical, loved it

Faults:

Severe power loss, from a blocked exhaust made garages think it was the turbo, not boosting.

Front discs warped, common I'm told.

Shockers replaced at 90,000 (but I did drive it hard).

General Comments:

Lovely, quick and smooth, shame about turbo lag, but loves the motorway.

The ABS was a bit too eager on snow/ice.

If you need the tracking done put release oil on the joints or they'll probably refuse to do it in some garages.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2001

16th May 2003, 16:25

I think I have the same lack of power problem in my Astra 1.7TD, as it has only been used by a lady driver for little more than slow, 2 mile trips over the last year or so.

If it is a blocked exhaust, how did the garage fix it? Is there anything I can do myself to fix things?

Thanks!

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 45 reviews