1994 Vauxhall Cavalier LS 1.6 from UK and Ireland


A Great Alternative to the Overrated and Expensive Vectra!!


Car driving fantastic when I bought it just a couple of months ago. Nothing major wrong with the car apart from the fact that the brakes were a little spongey, but I soon had that fixed. This car cruises.

General Comments:

In one sentence; This car is a beautiful drive and well worth the cheap price for an old car. If yours runs like mine, you're laughing!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2002

1994 Vauxhall Cavalier CDX 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland


A speedy, smart and reliable alternative to newer cars


The engine accelerates and brakes in a rhythm, a bit scary when going around bends.

Engine occasionally cuts power when overtaking on the motorway.

Gear change rough when slowing in sports mode.

Engine revs itself to 2500 RPM when in 'Park'

General Comments:

The things that have gone wrong with the car is probably due to me not getting round to having it serviced in the year that I've been driving it. I have driven 19,000 miles in it.

Apart from the problems I have experienced, the car is very comfortable, reliable and responsive. This is my first automatic, and while I like the sports mode function, I realise now that I prefer a manual gearbox.

The interior of the car is very comfortable indeed, and all the controls function as they should. Heated seats would have been the icing on the cake though. However, it warms up very well inside on those cold winter mornings.

My only complaint is the cost of original Vauxhall parts for this car. I have broken two side mirrors this year (not my fault!!!) and they are very expensive to replace as they are fully electric and have painted casings. The cost of a new mirror including casing is approximately £180 from Vauxhall, I have resorted to obtaining one (fully functional) from a parts specialist for around £70-

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2001

20th Jul 2002, 09:00

Having owned a Cavalier myself I found I can easily obtain many replacement parts from scrap yards. If you have the patience, time, and know how to use a spanner you can remove what you need from scrapped cars. - It is even possible to get an electric wing mirror for 5 to 15 pounds (depending on the scrap merchant).

1994 Vauxhall Cavalier SRi 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland


A comfortable fast car


Engine management light keeps coming on and off.

Hesitates sometimes, I believe a common fault. But where is the tick-over valve and how do I clean it?

General Comments:

A nice car to drive, fast enough for most people, engine management needs sorting though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2001

12th Jun 2002, 07:08

There isn't a tickover valve, it is all done electronically by the ECU.

14th Jul 2002, 13:25

Try checking the air intake hose from airbox/metering unit to manifold for cracks, perishing & splits. Mine split last month & was a right Kangaroo at junctions! Car is a 93 SRi with 141500 miles on, best motor I`ve had (if only women were as reliable eh?)

5th Dec 2002, 07:03

Update, 5/12/02.

After 18 months of ownership I have finally cured the problem of the engine management light flying up whenever it felt like it!

After fitting new airflow meter which cost £300+ to be fitted after diagnosis, the problem returned after a month.

When inspecting the wiring which leads to the airflow meter further down the loom it looked like it had been getting hot and partly melted, so I split it apart, taped each wire individually so none could possibly touch, and hey presto no more engine management light!!!

Main dealer and local diagnostic specialist both told me I needed a rewire at £800+ and possibly an Ecu, just goes to show don't believe everything dealers tell you they only want your hard earned cash!

20th May 2004, 17:03

Engine management light stays on, but if flick key on and off is OK is ecotec has no effect on preformance any ideas what prob also would like cheap way to make a bit faster.

15th Jul 2005, 03:48

I drive a 1990 H reg Cavalier SRi. It has had the 20seh engine stripped, flowed and totally rebuilt. Well, it had done 220000 miles. It now feels like a new car and after adding a K and N filter, custom exhaust and an Ecotek valve (more to come) it is the best car I have ever driven, if only to beast away from boy racers and reps in BMW's. Highly recommended to anyone who wants a fast reliable car, but needs comfort and practicality.

18th Jan 2006, 13:28

Poor idling is usually down to the ICV (idle control valve); they become blocked with crud and fail, easy to clean.

Try www.vxon.co.uk for all your Vauxhall needs.