1994 Vauxhall Cavalier GLSi 2.0i 8v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Good

Faults:

Nothing mayor has gone wrong, the worst being a front wishbone repaired for 35 pounds.

General Comments:

I have had the car since September 2004, and it has cost me 35 pounds to run since the car is reliable no matter what the weather. It's comfortable for long journeys, returning good mpg at motorway speeds, and has enough performance to cruise at 95-100 all day long.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2006

1994 Vauxhall Cavalier LSi 2.0 8v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Cheap, reliable fun

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

£500 from an old caravaner, FSH and every MOT to back the mileage...Bargain!

Since then has ferried me and my motor sport-mad friends all over the UK, been thrashed round airfields, driven through forests... the lot...all without complaint.

Tip; Take off the main air-box and drill holes all over the inlet side... subsequent mashing of the loud pedal results in induction noise not unlike a Manta 400!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2006

1994 Vauxhall Cavalier Envoy 1.7 TD from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Very poor car, better to buy a nice Toyota instead

Faults:

35,000 miles, drivers airbag faulty.

40,000 miles drivers door window fell into door, had to drive 30 miles home in winter with window fully open.

Central locking broke, took dealer 3 efforts to fix.

40,000 miles, outside temp guage faulty under warranty.

45,000 miles, smoke from behind dash board. Fixed under warranty.

70,000 miles, outside temp guage faulty outside warranty.

75,000 miles, drivers seat collapsed. Metal bar across seat poking into my back. Dealer could not repair or replace seat.

80,000 Gearbox needed major repair.

85,000 miles CV joints needed to be replaced.

General Comments:

Nice reliable, economical engine never missed a beat.

Rest of the car is not that great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th September, 2005

10th Nov 2005, 12:04

Well I personally think the cavalier envoy is the best car in the world! it is smart, sophisticated and sexy too! I pull all the high class woman in my cavalier, sincerely john.

19th Nov 2006, 02:30

Yeah.."High class Women" from the back streets of Digbeth,

Birmingham I am sure!

19th Nov 2006, 02:30

Yeah.."High class Women" from the back streets of Digbeth,

Birmingham I am sure!

1994 Vauxhall Cavalier GLSi 1.8i from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Reliable, solid and all you need in a family car

Faults:

Water pump replaced at around 100,000.

New fuel tank at 125,000.

General Comments:

Extremely reliable, tough as old boots family car which does everything a family on a budget needs it to and is very cheap and quick to repair when things do wear out.

Body work is still excellent at 137,000 miles, and despite heavy usage by young children and garden equipment, the interior is still sound.

It's a great auto box. Well matched to the engine, very smooth and never jerky or noisy. The only drawback is it's possible to get caught out with too little power in 2nd when pulling out of a T junction from a rolling start.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2005

1994 Vauxhall Cavalier CDX 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

The 2 litre 16valve Ecotec engine in the Cavalier is a disaster

Faults:

Cambelt Snapped at 31000 miles. Needed new cylinder head and valves. After the job was done, engine sounded like a diesel.

Water pump started leaking at 32000 miles and needed replacing.

Engine would intermittently stall whilst pulling away - sometimes in dangerous places. Dealer sorted the problem, but it returned later.

Engine would regularly tick over at 3000 rpm and then stall. Again, the dealer fixed this.

A constant gearbox whine developed. The dealer told me to turn the radio up.

General Comments:

This 2.0 16valve engine was one of the first Vectra generation engines just before the cavalier was phased out.

Avoid like the plague!!!

This car was an expensive disaster. It is riddled with design faults, the worst being the cambelt tensioners along with an awful lot of electrical problems.

The cars performance and fuel economy are impressive.

I only kept this car 6 months and have no plans to ever buy another Vauxhall.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th August, 2004

23rd Sep 2004, 04:02

You guys must have been unfortunate. I have had two 2.0 16V Ecotec engined cars. Both have been incredibly reliable, able to handle the high mileage demands I put on them and have given me a reasonable level of performance. I only had one issue with the 96 model in that the cam belt pretensioners did need replacing, but that was their only fault. I'd recommend them as a good workhorse to anybody.

29th Mar 2009, 15:01

I have a 1995 Vauxhaul Cavalier, just replaced the starter motor, alternator and a brand new battery, still not going. I then realized the leads from the starter motor going to the battery and the alternator were burned out, so had to replace some of the wiring that connects to my starter, so hopefully it starts. It's a 1.7TD.