1994 Vauxhall Cavalier LS 1.7 turbo diesel (Isuzu) from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Expensive and uncomfortable

Faults:

Owned the car for two years, replaced starter motor for £120.00.

Replaced the alternator for £139.00, and the radiator at £100.00.

This car has cost me a fortune.

Turbo doesn't work, and it's not comfortable or fast, but it's good on fuel.

The valves (shims) need doing. It's very tappety.

No, I wouldn't buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th April, 2008

29th Apr 2008, 16:09

Think you just got a lemon.

This car is as comfortable and reliable as any decent car really.

Mind you, your car is 14 years old and nearly done 200,000 miles, so don't expect it to be perfect. It amazes me the amount of people on here that complain about the condition of very old and VERY used cars!

1994 Vauxhall Cavalier LSI 1.8i from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

Fuel filter were leaking when I first purchased the car. £9, which I fitted myself.

Centre section exhaust blowing at 113,000 miles; got it done for £23, including fitting.

Mot due April 2nd 2007 failed on 1 front brake pipe and 2 front bushes; cost me £142 including the MOT fee.

Rocker cover gasket changed at 113,000 miles.

Ignition leads and spark plugs changed at 113,000 miles.

Replaced exhaust back box at 114,000 miles.

Automatic drive belt tensioner started to become noisy; still apparent.

Radiator leaking still apparent.

General Comments:

A very good reliable car for 13 year olds, and the 1.8 8 valve fuel injected engine is still quick.

I bought mine in December 2006 for only £180, and it had a full service history with it, which was a bargain.

However the inside of the car is very modern than for a car which was released in 1988. There is a lot of legroom in both front and back, and it has decent safety kit. The one I have has electric front windows, drivers airbag, outside temperature display and digital time.

However on lots of Cavaliers, when the car is cold, the gears can be a little heavy, and if you're not careful, they can sometimes crunch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2007

5th Nov 2007, 16:19

I'm sure your car was very reliable and you rightly feel that it was £180 well spent, but I'm sorry, how can you describe a Cavalier 1.8 LSi as quick and use words like excellent?

These cars were slow in their day, with 0-60 in around 12 seconds, handled like barges and by around '93/'94 had a dated interior.

And just because it has an airbag doesn't mean its safe, a '97 Vectra only scores 2.5 out of 5 stars on Euroncap, your Cavalier's so old it doesn't even have an NCAP rating, a modern car hitting your Cavalier would annihilate it!!

1994 Vauxhall Cavalier CDX 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Brilliant engine, but potentially costly repair bills

Faults:

Four blown coolant hoses, all within a week. Replaced all hoses as a precaution.

Thermostat was nearly £50 from dealers and they omitted to mention that the recently fitted cam belt would have to be removed to change it.

Needed new shock absorbers, external temp sensor (apparently a known problem).

Washer motor failed.

Car used to cut out often when turning a corner leaving no PAS...

Cooling system marginal, used to border the temperature gauge red zone in any traffic, despite a new radiator and flushing. Became paranoid in Summer or traffic jams!

General Comments:

Excellent acceleration, reasonable economy, but handling was not up to the power.

Seats very supportive, good trim.

A lot of consumables in the engine were awkward to get at, involving costly and involved dismantling, IE, thermostat and plugs. Changing the coolant hoses was a nightmare.

Parts availability mainly dealer only, and then you had to wait. Not cheap either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd May, 2007

1994 Vauxhall Cavalier LSi 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Only if you find a good one and can live with the old fashioned image

Faults:

Worst problem was brake judder. It broke 2 clutch cables in 2 years and it went through brake light bulbs like sweets. Every MOT it needed CV gaiters.

It leaked oil on the rocker cover and filler cap. It leaked water in the front foot-well.

General Comments:

Despite the mechanical niggles it (one flat battery aside) always started and never actually broke down. A reasonably torquey engine means that you do not have to rev it hard and its quite good on petrol.

Quite tough, but has an old fashioned image.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2006