1994 Vauxhall Cavalier Reviews - Page 9 of 11

1994 Vauxhall Cavalier LS 1.7 turbo diesel (Isuzu) from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.7 turbo diesel (Isuzu) Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Great family economy car, cheap to run, cheap to buy, lasts well if looked after

Faults:

1> 10 days after having the car, the steering column broke. Had the unit replaced free of charge, it would have cost me £230 if the car was not under warranty.

2> Air bag light came on, it turned out to be the alternator not giving enough current out hence the headlights were also dim.

They were the only 2 problems (touch wood). I was lucky that they all went wrong in the first year of me owning the car so they were under warranty.

The faults were down to the car being poorly checked over by the garage before they sold it to me.

General Comments:

After the problems at the start, the car has been great. It performs well for a diesel, pulling off is a bit of a plod but cruising and the car pulling at higher speeds(65-80mph) is very good.

Seems to judder a bit when driving in 4th gear at 30mph, driving in 3rd gear seems a better choice.

Easy to work on.

Very reliable.

The Isuzu 1.7TD engine will last forever if serviced regularly. I know these cars are still going strong after 160,000 miles.

Only buy if they have a full service history.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2000

27th Jun 2001, 23:45

The Head is weak and prone to cracking around 90,000 miles. This has happened on a number of our fleet cars (1.7TD Isuzu).

The repairs are very expensive.

2nd Jul 2001, 04:44

I had the head off mine at 183,000. It's not the head that cracks, it's the inserts around the injectors which you can have replaced seperately at an engineering firm. Mine ended its life after an accident at 236,000, engine/box are still very good.

10th May 2003, 17:29

I have had a problem with the Airbag light coming on. It was diagnosed by the Vauxhall garage (with the diagnostic computer) to the alternator regulator not working properly and allowing the charging circuit to have a too high voltage.

1994 Vauxhall Cavalier Turbo 4x4 2.0 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

The best car on the road this side of 40k ukp

Faults:

Cambelt roller snapped. Clutch wore out. Otherwise, car has run SUPERBLY.

General Comments:

A FANTASTIC car to drive, rare as anything. Nobody seems to know precisely what it is until they read the badge on the back! Interior full of surprises like 6-speed gearbox. They tend to want lots of caring attention, though. HIGHLY recommended. I honestly don't know what I could possibly buy next!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2000

23rd Mar 2001, 10:09

I owned a cavalier Turbo for 2 years and it is easily the most under-rated care available today. It has blistering performance, looks discreet but beautiful looks.

The King of Cars, and easily answers that sad ploy of Ford with its ridiculous Cosworth.

Up The Vauxhall!

9th Apr 2001, 05:57

I still have my 1995 Cavalier Turbo, after intending to keep it for a short while only. I have done a lot of miles in it, and changed the cam belt pulley (cracked but still functional) during a routine cam belt service. Top adjustable replacement Koni shock absorbers were fitted at 120,000 miles, making the car better than ever.

I use Mobil1 Motorsport oil, and recommend use of a good synthetic. The engine feels definitely smoother...

Despite being a very quick car, it is surprisingly manageable and responsive around town. It has no turbo or 4x4 badges, and I can now park it in places I dare not leave any other car of similar performance. Maintenance costs have been very reasonable. I have heard that the gearbox/4x4 does not tolerate sustained abuse, and I change the transfer box oil every 40K miles.

This special oil appears to be semi or fully synthetic ATF, and is available from Vauxhall dealers for about 9 pounds plus fitting.

1994 Vauxhall Cavalier V6 Diplomat 2.5 V6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10

Faults:

Headlamp bulbs.

CD sometimes doesn't want to come out, have to switch the radio on and off.

General Comments:

Nice and discreet, let the spoiler boys get hastled by Nova GSI's, Astra GTE's......

Needs the traction control, slightly whale-like on the bends still better than jaw breaker hard.

Overall good car, main thing is hardly anyone knows what it is, they think it's a 1.8 Expression.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2000

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 45 reviews