1992 Vauxhall Nova SRi 1.4 multi-point injection from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A boy racers car but still classy in a way!!

Faults:

The head gasket blew about 5,000 miles ago. The wheel bearings had to be replaced also. But apart from that it's fine.

General Comments:

This wee car looks good and goes like a bat outta hell. It keeps up with a GTE but no chance with GSi's. Cheap to run and even at 8 years old it still turns heads. Modifications are also cheap. I put a set of 15" alloys on mine, an air filter and big exhaust and the wee car's mint!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2000

4th Dec 2000, 10:02

Are you actually Scottish or are you typing that for a laugh, and how much would you be prepared to sell it for?

31st Jan 2001, 17:38

Good cars, seem fast until you drive an AX GT 500, the best thing to come out of France, well the only thing actually.

The nova is a great wee car if it's tuned and set up well though. Good choice of car though. Well done in keeping the hot hatch tradition going.

My last words are tuned to 128bhp, 0-60 in 7.4 seconds, top end of 138mph, and go-cart handling, sounds like my AX GT 500 to me.

27th Jun 2001, 03:40

Both Nova GTE & GSi have similar 1.6i 8v engines (with differing management systems), producing 100bhp and making 60 in 9 seconds... You should have a hard job matching either of them!!

Good to hear someone out there is taking care of a K-plater tho...

1992 Vauxhall Nova SR 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Cam belt cover rattle slightly and the exhaust is on it's way out but all are original from new so to be expected.

General Comments:

A damn fun car, could you explain why everyone looks at me? Is it because it's the only black one I know of? Please don't assume the 1.4 SR is slower than the 1.3 SR as my small minded mates reckon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 1999

31st Dec 2000, 11:10

The 1.4 is slower than the 1.3.

10th Jan 2001, 04:46

I've seen another black SR, my best mate's and it got nicked as well.

9th Apr 2001, 15:24

My 1.3 SR is black, blacked out windows and black leather interior, and yes it is slightly faster off the mark than a 1.4, but not on a motorway!!

Nova crew, where are you?

1992 Vauxhall Nova SXi 1.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Oxygen levels in the exhaust system detered performance at one point.

General Comments:

Nippy car, identical to Nova SR, apart from c/l, e/w, sunroof and engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 1999

1st Dec 2000, 02:54

Still have a 1992 SXi Nova.

100,000 miles up on the clock.

Still running the best, raced a 1.3 SR and the little SXi came out on top.

Body is also still very clean, no rust in the bonnet or boot, just bubbling at the arches. Respraying mine gun metal grey with Nova Dose bodykit on it. This will be its second spray job.

18th Feb 2001, 17:01

Great mpg, add some Redex for extra zip.

15th Jun 2007, 13:24

Was their ever a 1.2 multipoint nova? Or is this the same engine as the 1.2 lux plus?

1992 Vauxhall Nova SR 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Faults:

I bought the car in November 1998.

Within 2 weeks my battery went then the bulbs on my dash all blew (which I had to take off the dash to replace). Not long afterwards my brake pads, 3 weeks later my brake cylinders were leaking fluid on to my shoes, my tracking and balancing were also out and my cam belt is ready for replacing as well as my exhaust.

General Comments:

To say that a middle aged bloke has owned this car for the past five years he has NOT taken very good care of it, in fact I think that a boy racer would of taken more care. Despite all the problems it's caused and the money it's cost I'm pleased to say it is a great car to drive and look at.

See Ya Claire!!!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st February, 1999

1992 Vauxhall Nova SR 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Since I brought it one year ago nothing has gone wrong even though I rag the nuts off it everywhere I go. It's still sweet as a nut at 70,000 miles.

General Comments:

Nice car, especially K reg and after, electric windows and white dials etc. Only down side is the red paint that tends to fade, although can be brought back with a bit of AUTOGLYM super resin polish and some elbow grease!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 1998