1998 Vauxhall Vectra Reviews - Page 13 of 15

1998 Vauxhall Vectra SRi 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

A great looking economical car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car. I just service it at the required intervals.

General Comments:

I previously had a 2.5 V6 CDX. I miss the leather interior and the 2.5 engine. I do though prefer the lower suspension and the handling on the SRi.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2001

1998 Vauxhall Vectra GLS 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Performance and reliability do not justify the running costs

Faults:

About every 3 months or so, despite on the nail servicing etc, a fault develops with engine management, repairs to date - anything from a busted cam belt sensor to "could be alternator loosing charge". Vauxhall dealers' diagnostics not exactly reliable, the car now spontaneously revs when idling and no fault can be traced through plug in diagnostics.

Also had problems with the power steering, and rear wheel bearings - not expected at 50,000 miles.

General Comments:

Also extremely thirsty - a tankful can get you anything from 270 - 450 miles depending on the journey.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st February, 2001

9th Aug 2001, 03:31

Hello I find it strange that you have had problems with this car, I have owned my 1997 GLS 2.0 Vectra Automatic since new and bar routine servicing, 1 set of tyres and 1 new battery, it has behaved faultlessly. As for your comments on MPG, I can only think your problem comes from how hard you drive the car. I admit to being careful and possibly slow on the roads, but have never got less than 350 miles on a tankful.

In conclusion I would not hesitate to buy another Vectra or possibly Astra this time (do not need anything larger).

I wonder if you have bought one of those Friday afternoon cars which all manufacturers can suffer from. I hope you get better luck from another manufacturer.

Michael.

1998 Vauxhall Vectra Arctic 2 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carRenault Laguna

Summary:

Silly depreciation makes nearly new Vectras a bargain buy

Faults:

Minor engine management problem causing the engine to race at idle.

General Comments:

Don't believe what the likes of Clarkson say. The Vectra has proved to be totally dependable over 40,000 miles including trips all over Europe. The build quality is the best I have experienced in 20 years of motoring. It may not be the most exciting driver's car ever, but as a family workhorse, in my experience it provides sensible cost effective motoring for those who are not seduced by or can't afford the so called prestige brands.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2000

1998 Vauxhall Vectra CD 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Keeps the AA in business

Faults:

In the three months that I have had this car I have had a new steering rack, wiper motor, 'cam valve'!? and washer return valve replaced.

Both headlights have blown, side light, dashboard illumination replaced.

Countless brake and rear side lamps have gone.

Remote control central locking serviced.

Alarm serviced.

The engine has in the last month, developed an alarming knocking sound. Thank the stars that this is a company car!!!

General Comments:

Why are Vauxhalls so bad when it comes to the electrics? The only good thing I can think of with Vauxhalls are their engines. Usually they're pretty good. I just must have a Friday afternoon car.

I am getting shot of it now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th August, 2000

30th Aug 2001, 15:38

No car's perfect, but they're 100 times better than any Renault or Ford I've driven! Then again, a 1930 double decker bus handles better than any Ford and has a more comfortable seat!!

16th Jan 2002, 13:40

Vauxhalls are very poor cars, as you say, especially on the electrics, UNBELIEVABLY bad then! I recommend Japanese or German stuff! Vauxhall can only dream of being as good.

1998 Vauxhall Vectra SRi V6 2.5 V6 24v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 24v petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Frontera

Summary:

Good performance at a brilliant price

Faults:

Nothing major has gone wrong apart from the ignition switch contacts burning up, but it was replaced free of charge by the dealer under waranty with no quibbles.

General Comments:

Excellent driving machine. Not an obvious power machine but when you hit the gas it goes well.

Takes a bit of getting used to the rear spoiler blocking your rear view mirror view slightly.

Cup holders are great, really smooth operation!!!!!

Would recommend joining the performance car club to get the most out of it.

On board trip computer is a good idea too as you can get to know how much fuel you are burning and can adjust your driving to suit yourself.

Traction control is wicked and pulls you out of trouble in the wet.

Buy a second hand one about 2 years old which is already tamed, great car, nice to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2000

14th Aug 2006, 11:25

Hi alright mate, quick question about the sri, can you switch the traction control off? I know you can in the GSI, but not sure if you can on the sri, I'm tempted to buy a sri V6 next as they're going quite cheap now, but I hate traction control in front wheel drive cars, it can save your life in a powerful rear wheel drive car, but I think it's more likely to help you lose it in a front wheel drive car

6th Oct 2006, 04:45

I own a 1998 V6 SRi and there is a switch to turn the traction control off. Even with it off though, the car handles very well due to the lowered suspension and the sheer size of the car keeping it planted.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 62 reviews