1998 Vauxhall Vectra Arctic 2 1.8 from UK and Ireland


Great car to drive on short or long trips, and not to be ignored as an exciting drive


Just after purchasing the car, a part in the steering column had to be replaced. This had been causing a notch that you could feel when turning left. The dashboard 'creaks' especially when the air-conditioning is switched on. Although I have been told this is common. The hatchback struts no longer support the weight of the hatchback.

General Comments:

This is still one of the best cars to drive, that I have owned.

The performance and economy are both good, and the comfort,in my opinion is excellent.

This particular model (Arctic 2), has all the comforts you would expect in a much more expensive car, but at a very reasonable price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2002

28th Feb 2002, 04:15

I have to agree with your comments, I get fed up with everyone slagging a good car off.

4th Jul 2002, 13:45

Just purchased same model and totally agree with you.

1998 Vauxhall Vectra LS 2.0 from UK and Ireland


Overall a reliable, quick and economical family vehicle


The car has run consistently well returning 34 miles per gallon (despite the annoying creaking drivers seat!).

Apart from the lower steering joint needing to be replaced twice in the first 3 months, it has performed well until recently.

About 4000 miles ago I noticed a slight oil leak from what I thought was the rocker cover, but having had the gasket replaced it continued. It turns out to be coming from the head itself and despite the garage testing the vehicle for an entire morning they could find no fault. It continues and appears to becoming from behind the exhaust manifold gasket, in the middle, in line with the main oil-way.

I am told independently that a new head is required at around £1000.00 plus. Before I outlay the cash, has anyone else suffered from this problem which I am told could be a manufacturing fault that has in fact been hidden by the manifold gasket. Needless to say Vauxhall has denied all liability due to the high mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2002

28th Jan 2002, 05:48

I own a Vectra and have never heard of this fault, even though these cars seem to have a few to say the least. Having said that, mine has been excellent and reliable.

28th Jun 2008, 16:46

I have the same problem on my vectra no body knows what it is. also when I brake it sounds like metal grinding, my brake pads are OK does anybody know what it could be.

15th Aug 2010, 10:32

The LS 2 Ltr model is prone to snapping its manifold studs. If this happens, they need to be drilled out and replaced.

Of course there is always going to be a chance of causing damage while doing this to the oil-ways.

I had a 98 LS 2Ltr; the experience with this car was a nightmare.

Creaking dashboard.

Creaking steering knuckle joint.

Camshaft sensor.

Crankshaft sensor.

The cam belt... Vauxhall changed the interval for change as they were snapping.

I will never ever buy another Vauxhall, after the Vectra nightmare.

1998 Vauxhall Vectra LS 1.8 from UK and Ireland


Air control valve.

Rear silencer.

General Comments:

Although they are common they are stylish, ride is better than critics say. Very economical. These cars are much better built than Fords in my opinion and a joy to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2002

1998 Vauxhall Vectra CDX 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland


Nice looking junk


Air pressure sensor.. warranted.

RPM sensor (crankshaft).. partly warranted.

Power steering cooling tube ruptured.. own cost.

Rear nearside speaker wiring failed.. own cost.

Poor paint finish blemished in sunshine.

Radio self switches on at random times..

Dashboard lights partly failed.. own cost next service..

Cam belt req`d at 60000 and not 80000 as per handbook... fleeced again £111:00 including rollers.

New windscreen due to body flexing.. insurance paid excess over £50.00.

General Comments:

Bought as a replacement for an Omega with sensor and engine problems.. what a mistake to make, ho hum here we go again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th January, 2002

16th Feb 2005, 11:56

Cam belt replacement is something that all cars with belts need to have done and not a problem with your vectra.

Your complaining about about a burst pipe, I suppose it would be the vectras fault if you got a puncture as well.

A lose wire in one of your speakers?? get a life mate.

10th Aug 2011, 17:44

Just found this site, Aug 2011. Have had my Vectra '98 CDX for 7 years, and it's the best car I've owned. It's now done 275k and is reliable as ever. Kept it serviced and looked after. The only thing wrong now is the airbag light is on.

Apart from wear and tear, which isn't very much, it runs sweet as a nut, and is still really comfy and the leather has hardly worn. Unless you've had dodgy cars or I got a good one, I think there's absolutely nothing wrong with the Vectra. I've had countless company cars, and although they are nice, I still prefer the Vectra.