1998 Vauxhall Vectra Reviews - Page 6 of 15

1998 Vauxhall Vectra LS 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

Buy something else instead

Faults:

A creaking noise from the rear.

A scratching noise going round corners from the rear.

Dashboard lights blown.

Radio looses its settings, when the engine is switched off.

Radiator has a small crack in the plastic, causing a small leak.

Air Conditioning is noisy, in the interior of the car when in use and also is not very cold when it is in use.

Brakes squeak when pressed hard.

Multi function display has digits missing, but re-appear during driving on bumpy roads.

General Comments:

Dealer is useless.

I've had the car only 2 months and the dealer has had the car more times than I have.

I am stuck with this car until I can pay off the finance and it's going to be expensive.

Seats are a nightmare on long journeys.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th September, 2003

16th Sep 2003, 05:07

You probably need new bushes on rear suspension and air con re-gassing no big deal, they're a good car.

23rd Dec 2003, 20:19

Hey Buddy! Just because, you got a pretty bad shape one, does not means that the Vectra is a bad car.

I do own one too.

Mine is LS Saloon 2.0 16V Petrol, Manual, Dark Blue color.

I've purchased in May of this year and the car have been faultless so far.

7th Jun 2004, 08:34

The creaking noise from the back is the Anti Roll Bar bushes, about £30 each. The dashboard lights and radio, MAY be linked. Check the fuses in the fuse box. Check them all and replace any that are blown.

The air conditioning will need gassing up.

I have the 2.0 16V 140 model, in white and have had nothing, but joy wasting boy racers in their little novas.

24th Nov 2004, 08:58

Well I have just brought a 1.8i 16v LS and I love it so far, if the cavalier is anything to go by then I should get on well with it!

The Cavalier's never did me wrong and I dare say the Vectra won't either.

The thing about Vauxhall's is that there not any Ford and there cheap for parts.

25th Jan 2006, 15:00

Sounds like you have got a bad one there... but I have just bought one and I love it can fault it in any way.. as for your radio mate by the sounds of things they have got it wired wrong. Typical vault when people wire radios in vauxhall's they go red to red yellow to yellow. You have to switch and go red to yellow yellow to red with the live wires. If this has been done then you have a problem with the permanent live wire.

1998 Vauxhall Vectra GSi 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

Expensive if it goes wrong

Faults:

Cam Belt Tensioner Bearing Collapsed, Symptoms were that it sounded as if a big end had Gone on the left side of the engine. Couln't diagnose fault until the left hand side of the engine had been stripped down. The tensioner comes in a kit form with Cam belt, Two Idle Bearings, tensioner and an aluminum casting which two of the bearings fit on. Beware there are several versions of the Casting. I Used my old casting and fitted the new bearings to it as the dealer had supplied me with the wrong one.

General Comments:

The Car is Quick and comfy and is good on petrol on a run.

However due to the problems with the cam tensioner I feel I was lucky the belt didn't jump a tooth of break resulting in me needing to win the lottery to repair it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th September, 2003

31st Dec 2003, 07:51

This sounds like a problem I currently have with my Vectra (2.5 V6). Roughly how much does this cost to put right?

Does the cam belt have to be changed when changing the tensioner?

Prior to purchasing the car the cam belt had been changed. I've only done 8.5k since the cam belt change.

Forrest.

2nd Aug 2012, 16:38

I have a 2.5L V6 SRI 1998 model, and I have just had a full replacement genuine cam belt kit fitted as well as a new water pump. My son recommended me to the garage, and as a result I was only charged £286 all in. This was on 31/07/12. Bargain!

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 62 reviews