1998 Vauxhall Vectra Reviews - Page 4 of 15

1998 Vauxhall Vectra CDX 2.5 V6 24v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 24v Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Seriously quick car that looks the part

Faults:

Front drivers side electric window stopped working.

Kept getting break light check coming up on screen.

But both problems sorted by the dealer quite cheap.

General Comments:

The car is seriously quick and doesn't handle too bad considering the size and weight of the car.

I have added a k&n air filter 18" venom alloys and with the leather trim the car really does look the part.

I have shocked quite a few BMW, Jag and Mercedes owners with this car love the look on there face as I overtake them.

I would recommend one of these cars to anyone I know the car does seem to get a bit of a slating, but this is my second one now and I just can't get enough.

Don't go by what people say of what you read go drive one for yourself and you'll see what I mean (top car).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2005

2nd Jun 2005, 04:06

Put a performance exhaust on her and she will sound f*****g great mate.

29th Oct 2005, 02:27

I have just bought 1 and I am over the moon, what a fantastic car, and the engine sounds superb. Does anybody out there know how the cd works, the 6 track cd is working in the glove compartment, but I've got no sound at all, the radio works, but I keep on getting CD - SAFE on the screen, help me somebody please.

11th Feb 2006, 06:09

The CD changer has its own safe mode and needs a four number code that would have been supplied with the manuals and stuff. If you read through the manual it will show you how to input the code.

7th Mar 2007, 10:47

Seriously quick? I don't want to start an endless argument, but come on it's nippy at best. Not fast, not slow, just bland. Another mild saloon. I should know I own one. Calling it seriously quick just leads everyone astray.

7th Mar 2007, 10:50

Come on mate lets not mess about here, you haven't shocked a BMW because it's quick. They were shocked as we all would be to see a Vectra on the road and not broken down in the layby. I got rid of my Vectra within the same month I bought it!!!

8th Mar 2007, 06:08

'I have shocked quite a few BMW, Jag and Mercedes owners with this car love the look on there face as I overtake them.'

Typical scenario - BMW cruising at 70mph along the motorway, your driving at 80mph. You overtake obviously, as your going quicker. 2 days later you brag to people about wasting a BMW on the motorway.

I drive about 30,000 miles a year, and don't hang about, but yet very rarely have I felt that another car was 'racing' me. Most peoples claims of beating other cars are in their imagination.

1998 Vauxhall Vectra GLS 2.0 16v Ecotec from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Ecotec Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired184000 miles
Most recent distance191000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

Cheap to run, quick and comfortable!

Faults:

Replaced Cat and complete Exhaust System at 186000 miles. Whilst it was in for that, the mechanic said the cambelt was well overdue and trying to work itself off its rollers so that was done at the same time!

General Comments:

Fantastically comfortable - journeys of 500 miles shrugged off with ease.

Engine hardly used any oil even with 191000 miles on the clock, and still pulled exceptionally well.

Everything worked, even the air con was ice cold.

Best bit of all, I bought it for £680 in October last year, and sold it today for £680 with 1 months tax and MOT - lucky so and so!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2005

1998 Vauxhall Vectra GLS 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired54513 miles
Most recent distance63518 miles
Previous carRenault 19

Summary:

A smooth budget drive

Faults:

Driver side door lock jammed due to apparent over use.

Rear wishbones starting to get slight play which was common in 1998 models.

General Comments:

The 2 litre GLS model isn't as quick as other equivalent manufacturers, but it's as solid as any others when needed.

A nice smooth ride, but has a considerable amount of road noise at times. I've found that correct tyre pressures have a massive factor in this problem.

Nice amount of room in the drivers seat and also a lot of room for long legs at the back.

Very impressed with this early Vectra. Will definately be looking into Vauxhall for my next purchase. Great job guys!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2005

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 62 reviews