2001 Vauxhall Vectra LS 2.0 DTI from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Good, cheap to run, reliable family car

Faults:

At 55,000 miles the Air bag warning light came on - it was the wiring in the switch under the passenger seat. Fixed under warranty.

At 72,000 miles the Diesel Pump Leak-off pipes perished and had to be replaced. Sourced pipes from a dealer for £10.

Struts that hold the boot open wore and didn't hold very well at 120,000 miles.

Air con needs re-gassing at 147,000 miles.

General Comments:

Fairly quick for a Diesel.

Excellent on long motorway journeys.

Good fuel economy.

Not the best handling car in the world, but it's not a sports car!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2006

2001 Vauxhall Vectra SXi 16v 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Excellent value if buying used and far more reliable and pleasant to drive than expected

Faults:

Radiator fan cracked, a/c pipe had to be replaced and rear passenger door became jammed shut.

General Comments:

On the whole I have been pleasantly surprised with my Vectra. It has been very reliable, starting first time every time, which is the main thing with a car. It's also very comfy and excellent for cruising on the motorway. Overtaking in 5th gear is no problem at all. Of course it is a big heavy car so it's not the fastest off the mark, but once you are moving it is fairly sporty.

The level of equipment on this model is excellent, a/c, lots of airbags, leather bits, electric heated wing mirrors, sports seats, etc. I bought it when it was 2 years old with 25,000 miles on the clock for a measly £7000, that's a lot of car for not much money. It is spacious inside and has a huge boot. All in all pleased with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2005

2001 Vauxhall Vectra LX 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Good economical runner

Faults:

1st & 2nd gear is hard to locate.

General Comments:

For a 1.6 it goes well no probs getting to 120mph, but not so good on corners.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2005

2001 Vauxhall Vectra SRi 140 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

If you're not expecting miracles, a good cheap motor.

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

Goes well and looks good, and even has reasonable handling up to a point, but still understeers too much and has horrible numb steering. The SRI badge is a marketing ploy clearly, but at what I paid for it, I couldn't care less.

Despite it's awful reputation, the 2001 Vectra is a reasonably pleasant, if very unremarkable car. Comfortable enough, reasonably economical, and typical fleet market standard equipment. Good reliability so far.

The main reason I bought one was it's dirt cheap. UKP 2600 for a 69k warranted miler at the local auction. If I can get two years out of it, it will have paid its purchase price back in profit (car allowance scheme).

Goes up and down motorways as well as anything else, not totally horrible to drive, and disposable at the end of it. A tool to do a job, and it does it well enough. No complaints.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st August, 2005

2001 Vauxhall Vectra SRi 2.2 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A great family and sports car, but fairly expensive to keep

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car as of yet.

There are some horrible noises coming from under the bonnet, which maybe something on its way out.

General Comments:

Generally I really like this car; it looks sporty, has plenty of room and performance is pretty good too.

The leather seats are a bit hard, so long journeys are touch uncomfortable.

The interior is nice to look at, but drives me mad with creaks and rattles.

The Vectra SRi is not economical at all, getting about 300 miles to a full tank, but you have to expect it for a 2.2 16v!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2005

11th Jun 2005, 02:36

Its probably the camchain on its way out, common problem, get it fixed before it destroys the engine.

17th Jun 2005, 09:01

300 miles to a tank on a 2.2 16V? You must drive it very hard! I drive the 2.2 DTi, OK its diesel, but I average 600 miles a tank!

Simon.

5th Sep 2005, 11:36

Comparing the economy of equivalent sized diesel and petrol engines is pointless! The diesel will always be significantly more economical.

2001 Vauxhall Vectra LS 2.0 DTI from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Disappointing

Faults:

Some front suspension components worn, perfectly acceptable at this mileage.

Rust rust and some more rust.

Some erratic dash illumination.

Radio/clock display loses pixels occasionally.

General Comments:

Great engine, although not as refined as the PSA diesels, vauxhall's DTI is economical, but has plenty of poke.

The ride is really disappointing. Harsh and unforgiving it's what I'd expect from a hot hatch rather than a family estate.

Build quality is seriously lacking. This car, at less than four years old is rusting seriously around the doors, and there's a design fault that means the rear door catches break the spot welds and the rust sets in.

If you buy a Vauxhall make sure you get the corrosion warranty inspections stamped. They offer a six year warranty, but will wriggle out of it if they can.

Overall a disappointing car, hardly a 21st century vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th May, 2005