2001 Vauxhall Vectra Reviews - Page 5 of 5

2001 Vauxhall Vectra Estate LS 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired3800 miles
Most recent distance6800 miles
Previous carFiat Marea

Summary:

Great Bargain, especially with the new model now on sale, these are a steal

Faults:

Airbag Control Unit (showing ghost faults) Changed problem solved.

Slight Knock on steering to left (coupling changed) rectified no problems.

General Comments:

The Fiat was a rocket and had firm suspension, accelerating quickly, but the fuel and tyres also went as quick.

The Vectra is no slouch and gets off the mark rapid and performs well on the motorway.

The fuel consumption is excellent and the seats are very comfortable.

Vision around the vehicle is great with no blind spots.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2002

2001 Vauxhall Vectra LX 2.0 litre from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 litre Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

A good company car

Faults:

The car ran out of oil and the warning light never came on, causing a lot of damage, and I never received any support from the dealership. Can you help me if anybody else has had this problem.

Also could you tell me when the timing belt needs to be changed as I have heard different stories through some bad press for vauxhall with belts breaking and causing serious damage, with other models.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st September, 2002

21st Sep 2002, 11:55

I'm not certain about the cambelt interval, but I THINK it is around the every 36,000 mile mark. Go check with your Vauxhall dealer though - they have nasty habit of breaking on Vauxhalls! If it breaks it is a full cylinder-head rebuild that can cost up to a grand!!

22nd Sep 2002, 05:42

Change your cambelt, rollers & tensioner at 40,000 miles, and check your oil regularly.

10th Jun 2004, 04:25

I have got a 1999 vectra. That also ran out of oil without the warning light coming on.

26th Jan 2005, 04:08

Try looking at your dipstick every week.

2001 Vauxhall Vectra LX 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired4000 miles
Most recent distance5100 miles
Previous carNissan Primera

Summary:

Good value for money

Faults:

Wheels need re-balancing, otherwise great so far.

General Comments:

Compared to my last car, this is a great car. Seats are great compared to other cars I've driven including the Mondeo.

Two complaints:

1. The handbrake is difficult to release due to the centre consule interfering with your arm.

2. The Traffic Master - argh! I want to strangle this computer generated voice - why can't there be a simple on/off switch so that it stays off for good!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2001

2001 Vauxhall Vectra Design Edition 2.5 V6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance3500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

A bargain performance car

Faults:

Radiator expansion bottle leaked.

No jack supplied.

Door alignment.

All the above were sorted quickly and naturally under the warranty.

Build quality could be better.

General Comments:

The car just seems to get better, now it's started to loosen up a bit with the miles.

A very fast car, for little money.

Looks glorious in pearlescent black with beige leather interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2001

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 19 reviews