2002 Volkswagen Beetle New TDI from North America


Great car except for the odor


There is an odor of stagnant water. This is the exact smell you get from a bio-film that develops in compressor air lines or in water lines where there is stagnation. It comes through the air vents and is not from the carpet or mats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th May, 2005

29th May 2005, 02:20


I think that your air con needs cleaning. This is common, and after three years it should be done!

I think it is difficult to do it on your own, it is probably a service thing.

2002 Volkswagen Beetle from North America


The car was cute, fun to drive and had a lot of minor problems


My headlights blew out every 5 to 10,000 miles. dealer replacements for warranty.

At 18,000 my trunck wouldn't close a faulty latch. dealer replaced for warranty.

When i'd let down power drivers window, both windows would go down. dealer replacement for warranty.

General Comments:

This car was the most fun to drive vehicle that I've ever owned.

The cabin was very spacious.

This was a real eye catcher.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th October, 2004

2002 Volkswagen Beetle GLS TDi from North America


An old new classic


Some noise (like a cricket) from the interior plastics when passing a bump or hole.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable.

The fuel economy is unbeatable (4.9L/100 KM)

The acceleration is very good although there is a normal short lag caused by the turbo.

The car is very quiet on the highway and the handling is very good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2004

2002 Volkswagen Beetle Turbo Sport 1.8 from North America


A must have... We love our 2002 Beetle


After reading the 5 bad reviews for this car I figured it was about time that someone give a good review. Besides some "oversights" by the dealership when we bought the car it has ran like a top without any issues. The small "oversights" were easily fixable... a nice chunk out of the right front tire, the lack of power to the 12V outlets and the previous owner had installed his own stereo system which he/she also removed before trading in. Upon removing they cross wired one speaker and didn't hook up the other one. Most assuredly the problems with the 12V outlet being the fuse was caused by the previous owners lack of stereo system knowledge. In any case, besides these few things we have had absolutely no problems with the car.

General Comments:

I bought this car for my wife as a gift. She had wanted one for some time and this particular VW was extensively equipped with some really cool features (leather, monsoon, spoiler, eyelids, tinted windows, sunroof, moonroof, etc...) I myself am a bigger guy at 5'10" 240 lbs. and was pleasantly surprised when we took our first 3+ hour trip. The only complaint that I have (and it is minor) is that the seats do not recline. The car has ran great, the service that we have received has been top notch and the electrical problems that we were promised to have by other dealerships haven't even glimpsed themselves into the picture.

If you like these cars don't be scared by a couple bad reviews. There are literally thousands of these beetles out there and a handful of band reviews can be caused by any number of things.

We both love this car and wouldn't do anything different. The gas mileage is great in a high fuel cost economy and the sporty look and feel makes the car an absolute blast to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2004

1st Mar 2005, 21:56

I just wanted to say, I can't imagine why your seats won't recline... They do about everything (up/down/back/forth) and they should recline by rotating a knob on the side of the seat, where the back meets with the bottom. Just check out the user's manual...

23rd Dec 2008, 13:48

I just purchased my 2002 turbo sport beetle for my 15yr old daughter, I love the car but I am concerned that this beetle may be too fast for her. This beetle will fly!!!

14th Sep 2009, 11:50

Yes, the seats do recline. I've always found the knobs on the seats a little odd, but once you mess with them you can get the seat in any position you like.

And for the commentor, I have the 2002 Beetle Turbo and it is probably way too fast for a teenager just starting to drive.

Only because with the turbo, you can be going 80 and it feels like 60 at the most, it rides so smooth you can't tell you're speeding.