1994 Volkswagen Jetta GL 2.0 from North America




This car has had nothing, but problems from day one. I wish I could say it was fuel or electrical or whatever, but neither the shop or I can find the problem. Leaves my daughter stranded regularly. These things are aweful, and the mechanic is the first to admit that.

General Comments:

Never ever buy a Jetta. Never!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th June, 2006

28th Jun 2006, 08:55

Do some research before buying a car. Then figure out what's going on, just saying it leaves my kid stranded doesn't really help anyone else form an opinion about the car.

29th Jun 2006, 10:55

I own a 1993 Volkswagen Cabriolet and it is the most reliable vehicle I've ever owned.

I guess it's the luck of the draw.

I love my little Volkswagen.

29th Jun 2006, 18:12

Well, the owner's comment lets one know that this is probably not a good car to get for your kids. I was lucky, my first car was marvelously reliable and cost less than some of my friends' cars that left them stranded.

20th Jun 2008, 21:57

I've owned the exact same model for over a year since highschool and I've had nothing but solid reliability, comfort, and ease while on the road.

1994 Volkswagen Jetta GL 2.0 4 Cylinder from North America




On my first jetta, my a.c. went out, my door handle came off twice, my antenna broke off, my tranny needed to be replaced, and it had a oil leak.

General Comments:

When the car ran good, it was so much fun! I thought I was the cutest thing on the road. Now I realize that everyone that was smiling at me on the road must had thought I was an idiot, that's why they were smiling! It never broke down on me or left me stranded, even with all of it's problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2006

1994 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 2.0L from North America


Old, but handles good and gets 35 MPG


I've owned and maintained this car since new. My experiences with the dealer service departments were really terrible. The parts depts are good, service departments are rotten.

Car sorta bogs down about once a year, but that goes away after a few weeks. It's like the motor is spinning, but you don't go anywhere.

The water pump went out once, coolant flange once as well.

I've replaced the coil and wires.

Distributor was replaced once, but I think the dealer's service dept took me on that one (I never went back there).

I put a new exhaust system on at 200,000 miles.

I replaced the lock cylinder in the driver's door at about 23,000.

I had to install a new driver's window regulator at about 250,000 (50 bucks from a wreck).

I also replaced a front wheel speed sensor once.

General Comments:

I've abided by a standard maintenance program- oil and filter changes at every 3k miles, timing belt at every 60k miles, new brakes all the way around every 100,000 miles, new wheel bearings at 200,000 miles, alternator brushes at 150,000 miles. Clutch gets replaced with the serp belt. Shocks and struts were replaced at 200,000.

Don't buy one of these unless you're good at turning a wrench and can keep an eye on it looking for problems.

I'm up to 290k miles now and still going strong on the original motor.

I get 35 to 37 MPG if I drive like a normal person. Mileage drops to 29 if I drive fast.

Nice car, so much so that I got a replacement 2004 Jetta with the intention of selling this one, but it still runs and handles great so I figured why sell it?

Handles great in the snow too, I leave my CJ5 at home unless the snow gets too deep.

Oh, I finally had a dash light go out at about 270,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2006

27th Jun 2008, 23:10

Absolutely. My 94' has got 364,000 kilometers on the original motor. Awesome car.

22nd Jun 2009, 23:41

Mine has 553,000 Kms and it's still going strong. Regular maintenance is key.