1995 Volkswagen Jetta Reviews - Page 3 of 17

1995 Volkswagen Jetta III GLS from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10

Summary:

Too many problems to handle!

Faults:

Speedometer had to be replaced twice.

Speedometer still doesn't work.

Odometer does not register miles.

Gas gauge bounces up and down. It only reads act accurately when driving on the highway.

Passenger-side rear window regulator broke.

Passenger-side rear window motor jammed and broke.

Clear coat peeled and worn away.

Constant oil and coolant leaks.

Sunroof no longer works. It jams when opened or tilted.

Driver-side lock stopped working.

Security system stopped working.

Driver-side door wouldn't stay shut.

General Comments:

I loved this car when I first got it. It's an adorable car with a lot of zip, but it has too many problems for me (and my pocketbook) to keep up with. I wished it worked better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th April, 2007

26th May 2007, 18:56

I bought a 1995 Jetta and trying to find out if it has a glove compartment.

1995 Volkswagen Jetta GLX 2.8 VR6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.8 VR6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Great car and fast as hell

Faults:

Things I have had to replaced.

Coolant crack pipe.

Drivers side lock.

Clutch.

Brakes including rotors and pads.

Tires.

General Comments:

This is the greatest VW I've ever owned.

The VR6 is outstanding.

I have put a lot of work into my car, but I love it and I would buy another one just like it if I could.

Don't get me wrong my cars not perfect no VW is, but you've gotta love them to be able to drive them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2007

1995 Volkswagen Jetta GL 2.0L from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired214000 kilometres
Previous carHonda CRX

Summary:

Great car for commuting

Faults:

2-spark plugs popped right out of the manifold.

Seriously!!! Some dope did not tighten the plugs when worked on last (before I owned it).

Engine temp light flashes always.

Cruise stopped working.

Dash lights are gone.

General Comments:

Car has been awesome to me.

Great on gas.

Starts in minus 30...not plugged in.

Heated seats are great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th December, 2006

1995 Volkswagen Jetta 2.0L from Puerto Rico

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

The repairs are so expensive and complicated

Faults:

Still overheating. I've been repairing this problem cost to me over $400. I already change the thermo sensor, a new brand radiator, the cooling fans (both of then) & now because overheating still, the hot water fall over the fan control module & the same time creating a short circuit that burned a whole bunch of cables...

General Comments:

I likes those VW cars, but I won't buy another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th August, 2006

1995 Volkswagen Jetta 2.0 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.5 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 miles
Most recent distance145017 miles
Previous carChrysler Grand Caravan

Summary:

Piece of crap

Faults:

Engine blew, air conditioner stopped on way home from buying the car.

General Comments:

This car is the worst trash I've ever owned!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th August, 2006

18th Nov 2006, 15:51

Not a very specific summary of either the problems or their causes.

1995 Volkswagen Jetta III 2.0 from Costa Rica

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired129000 miles
Most recent distance132600 miles

Summary:

Nice looking, seriously unreliable car

Faults:

Oil leak coming from the automatic transmission since I first bought it. Car dealer repaired it and one week later, still the leak. Car dealer said that this being a used car, the automatic transmission was completely deteriorated. Supposedly an expert repaired it, but as I said, I got the car back and one week later it's still leaking.

Motor does not run properly, during a stop light or a stop sign and the car is in drive shift, the rpm starts oscillating between 1000 rpm to almost 0 rpm. After you start driving again, it seems as if the car has lost all its power. It's just a nightmare.

General Comments:

For me it's just a hassle, I'm trying to get the money back from these people and buy a different car brand.

Overall, the car handles well and seems pretty stable on curves.

Nice spacious trunk.

Bummer, there is no dash compartment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th July, 2006

2nd May 2009, 23:59

I bought an 1995 Jetta GL, manual transmission, 2.0, 4L ABA Engine in 2008 with only 100.000 miles on it. I had to replace immediately the timing belt. Sunroof doesn't work, it seems the problem was produced by someone that closed it by force (Not manually with the Allen wrench included down the plastic cover in the roof).

Had to replace the clutch with the original brand (LUK) at 110.000 miles because it was so slippery, the mechanic said that I have to change the clutch cable for one with adjustment, because after the clutch replacement, the free play on the pedal was not the correct. The older clutch plate was about 50% wear only, but looks toasted for the friction caused by improper adjustment.

I like the decent acceleration and curve stability in this car. The gas consumption is inexpensive.

I think if you know how to develop a proper maintenance schedule on it, you are not going to have any major problem.

I had to replace the two front turn lights, because it looks older and dirty. I choose an aftermarket glass style ones :).

The missing glove compartment is a nightmare for any who wants to carry the documents of the car or anything else!!!

The rubber that cover the stick was broken (Yes: rubber, not leather) and needs immediately replacement by a handcrafted leather one.

The diversity of making precedence of the parts is incredible, I found parts on it made in : Germany, England, Spain, Mexico, France and Denmark. Was originally manufactured in Mexico.

I paid around $1500 in replacement parts and adjustments to take it back to life decently (including the suspension compensatorĀ“s). The original price was $5000. IĀ“m planning to keep it with me for a couple of years as a minimum to enjoy my investment, but in fact I want to sell it after that and buy a Japanese brand like Toyota, Subaru or Mitsubishi). They are more reliable.

I think this is a beautiful car, add the original VW trunk tail (spoiler with brake LEDs) and it looks good, want to obtain the smoked tail lights of the Celebration Edition and add bi-xenon head lights.

I also added german original mud keepers for about ($150).

Finally if you want to buy this model, find a low miles and good kept one, or suffering is going to be your name. It's hard to find a good mechanic for VW in Costa Rica.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 56 reviews