1995 Volkswagen Jetta GL 2.0 from North America

Summary:

A spacious and comfortable car that's good on gas, reliable and fun to drive

Faults:

- Front strut bearings needed replacing ($180)

- E-brake cable seized ($50)

- oil leak at breather tube ($50)

- minor fuel injection issue ($100)

General Comments:

This car drives well, is comfortable and is good on gas. It's trunk is huge and it has ample leg room for passengers and drivers (I'm 6.3"). It's especially good for winter driving - it starts in really cold temperatures and handles exceptionally in the snow. I've found it to be good value for the money. This is my 3rd VW and I have had good experiences with all of them. You have to find a mechanic that knows VW's, or else you may have problems with misdiagnosis, etc. But don't let this scare you off - find a well-maintained Jetta and a good VW mechanic and you'll be happy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2005

1995 Volkswagen Jetta GL III 2.0L 4C from North America

Summary:

I love this car so far

Faults:

The dash light (behind the speedomiter) went out.

Trim fell off passenger side door.

General Comments:

I just purchased this car a few days ago. So far, I love the car. It is roomy, has a huge trunk, and handles like a little race car. I have some concerns after reading some of these comments, but my car has only 78,000 miles on it. Body/interior are in EXCELLENT condition. A very classy car to say the least. I have always heard such good things about VW, I guess we shall see.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th November, 2005

1995 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 2.0 Ltr. 4 cylinder. from North America

Summary:

This car sucks!!!

Faults:

Engine and Transmission still run great. Every other electronic component on this car has failed at least once: all window motors, door locks, sunroof, dash lights, interior fan, a/c, heated seats, alarm, you name it, it has broken. Paint job also looks awful. Clear coat has come off just about the whole car.

General Comments:

I was excited when I purchased this car to own a VW. After having it for 6 years, I can honestly say that I will NEVER own another. This car is a mechanical nightmare, and almost with out exception, everyone I have spoken with who has owned/experienced one, has their own horror story about the poor quality of VW's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd August, 2005

2nd Dec 2009, 12:18

Jetta's are not friendly cars to own for the inexperienced, but I can't find a better deal for the money. A 34 mpg quick, roomy, purrs like a kitten every time I start it, runs like a champ with regular maintenance car (I have a VW master tech helping me) and ZERO problems. Besides, it's not a Honda or Toyota (don't get me started on Japanese "quality"), and it holds its resale value very well. It's actually appreciated since I've owned it. Earlier this year it booked at $1,600 and now it's at $1,800. No biggie, but still, how that happens I don't know.

Of course, I agree that the car is reverse engineered quite badly designed mechanically, but it runs like a dream, and always has. You just need to know how VW's work, and most people, even mechanics don't because they are weird cars. I haven't had a problem with my Jetta at all, and my mechanic is confident that it'll run for quite some time to come.

1995 Volkswagen Jetta GL III 2.6L from North America

Summary:

It sucks!

Faults:

My Right rear Axle blew at 120,000 miles.

Emergency brake cable went out at 120,000 miles.

Oil pressure sensor broke after 116,000 miles.

First gear grinds VERY badly if you try to put it in first going 10MPH.

General Comments:

This car fell apart from the day I got it.

I have put more into this car than It cost me to purchase it.

I would not recommend this car to anyone!

It was a huge mistake to buy a 1995 Jetta Gl III.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th March, 2005

26th Mar 2005, 17:34

Why would you want to put your car into first gear when you are doing 10 mph???

12th Jun 2005, 18:36

You are not supposed to used 1st gear unless you are stopped.

14th Jul 2005, 12:34

I disagree completely. Mine has 113000 miles and it is a fine car. I suppose a good or bad car is a reflection of the preventive maintenance that has been performed in the past. This is not to say I have not had to replace parts and make repairs because I have.

21st Aug 2005, 13:30

Wrong to that person who says that you are not supposed to put your car in first gear at 10 miles per hour, that is why first gear has synchros. In my opinion, VW is at the bottom of the reliability heap.

16th Jan 2006, 13:57

An oil pressure sensor costs about $6.00 and you can do it yourself.

14th Jul 2010, 09:10

I am having most of the same problems with my VW Jetta. I bought it and have had to replace/fix more than I had to pay for the car. I love VWs because they do last a long time if you take care of them, but because of this experience I'm not so sure anymore.