1999 Volkswagen Jetta GL from North America




Oil consumption is.8 quart/1,000 miles. I called VW and, hysterically, they tell me that they consider oil consumption of up to 1qt/thousand miles, "normal." No visible leaks are seen nor does oil seem to be burning. however, with the catalytic converters today, it can be hard to tell.

Glove compartment hinge broke.

A/C compressor intermittently cycles on/off regardless of AC or defrost on.

A/C intermittently blows cold air even though it has been recharged.

Floor mat snaps "snap off".

AM reception is, literally, non-existent. I tested this one day. I drove directly across the street from 610AM in Philadelphia and could not get any reception.

General Comments:

I purchased this car because my fiancee always wanted a Jetta and because she has me wrapped around her finger. The styling of it is great.

The handling of this vehicle is much better than anything I have driven. Very tight in turns. Engine is very responsive.

I/we really enjoy this car. However, the oil issue is a major concern for us. We got the car at 27,000 miles so I assume the previous owner had the same oil consumption issues. VW says that it is normal. I assure you and them it is not. I have recently completed a complaint with my states attorney general. I plead/urge all of you to do the same.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th May, 2003

28th May 2003, 16:37

Believe it or not, the oil consumption on your car is within "normal" limits!

1999 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 2.0 4 cylinder from North America


Great car with a few minor problems


The driver's side window fell inside the door the second day I had owned it. The 6 disk CD changer was very defective, and skipped a lot. It wouldn't even play more than 2 seconds of a song.

General Comments:

The drivers side window was fixed under warranty and they also installed a new CD changer since the one that was previously there was defective. The leather seats are very comfortable and I enjoy the tight steering and responsive breaks and accelerationability of the car. I hope that those two initial problems will not be an onslaught of defects.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2003

1999 Volkswagen Jetta Wolfsburg 2.0 from North America


Cute car that causes nothing but headaches


1) All window regulators

2) window motors

3) wiring in one window

4) Evaporator core

5) expansion valve

6) throttle body.

Dash board now creaks and rattles due to removal to replace # 3 and 4.

General Comments:

All of these problems have really added up to one huge headache of a car! This has been 4 years of just aggravation. The car is paid off so i'll probably drive it for awhile, but as one person pointed out to me--i might as well go ahead and buy a Honda and have a car payment in lieu of spending my money on replacement parts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st May, 2003

17th Feb 2004, 10:23

Hello, I own a 1999 VW Jetta Wolfsburg and I have had many problems too. When I first bought the car it had 101k miles on it. Hearing from many people that VW car's would last a long time was not so true. Things that broke: Window regulators/belts/..etc totally ($1000), Handbrake cables (75$), and just this past week... left front axle (150$). I've had nothing, but grief.

Positive aspects: the car can turn on a dime, stop very quickly, great heat/ac, comfy seats, no engine problems yet.

1999 Volkswagen Jetta GL 2.0 from North America


A waste of money


Radio quit under warranty.

Light dimmer broke under warranty.

Right front axle bent.

Mass air flow sensor replaced.

Uses a lot of oil 1 QT per month.

Clutch cable replaced.

Brakes worn at 30000.

Engine light is constantly on.

Brake and tail lights replaced.

General Comments:

No one in my family or friends will ever buy another VW.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th May, 2003

1999 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 4 cylinder from North America


A Vehicular Nightmare - Don't Buy VW


Replaced rear brake pads and rotors (rear pads worn down metal to metal) at 15,000 miles (dealership would not cover under warranty...paid $432.86)

Flat tire first week of having car (dealership would not cover under warranty...paid $236.00)

Passenger-side window shattered in door during second month of having car (covered under warranty)

Reprogram ECM recall (covered under warranty)

Random misfires/multiple cylinders (covered under warranty). Recurring problem, but never resolved after numerous visits.

Car losing power and does not accelerate properly. No repair attempted as dealership was unable to duplicate problem. Recurring problem, but never resolved after numerous visits.

Paint peeling off of armrest handle & glove compartment.

Car leaks unexplainable disgusting yellow wax-like substance.

Spring retraction in cup holder broke during first month of having car.

Tires wore prematurely, were cupping and had to be replaced at 15,000 miles. (dealership would not cover under warranty)

Oil leaking from engine and car was completely empty of oil with no warning light, valve cover gasket replaced (covered under warranty)

Outer CV Boot missing? had to replace the clamp (not covered under warranty...paid $45.00)

Engine malfunction light stays on. Dealership checked vac lines and then reset code (did not fix the problem) and it came back on as I was driving away from the dealership.

The majority of the time that the car has been taken in for service, it has taken many more days than I have been told and the problem is not resolved. Instead, they look at the car and clear the codes, guaranteeing the same problem to reappear down the road.

In addition, the transportation nightmare that has occured as a result of my car being in the shop so frequently has been very costly and inconvenient.

General Comments:

Throughout my numerous visits to the Fairfax Volkwagen dealership, I have encountered consistent horrible customer service and a general blatant disregard for the customer.

Also, I have not been offered a rental vehicle although at some points my car has been in the shop three separate times in one week. When I requested one, the dealership rudely denied my request and attempted to have me pay for a rental car.

At one point, my car was at the dealership for an entire week and when I called and demanded an explanation, I was told that they had been really busy and had not been able to get to it. That was funny because they assured me over the phone before dropping it off Sunday evening that they would see it on Monday. And, it had been there the previous week for the same problem. This was two years ago and the problem is still unresolved.

Overall, I have been utterly disappointed with my VW Jetta. Due to the continual problems with the vehicle and deplorable customer service I have received ever since leasing my vehicle, I will never buy or lease another Volkswagen. I will be thrilled when my lease is up and I can terminate the unsatisfactory relationship I have had with Fairfax Volkswagen over the past few years.

I would recommend that anyone considering buying or leasing a Volkswagen to look into other vehicles by other manufacturers. You will experience numerous problems that cannot be diagnosed at your expense and in return for your patience and money for items supposedly covered by warranty and then suddenly not when they go wrong, you will be treated unprofessionally and discourteously by the staff.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st May, 2003

14th Jul 2003, 13:18

I completely agree. My girlfriend has the same car, and she has spent thousands of dollars on keeping it in running condition. CV Boot replaced. Window regulator replaced. Dashboard console (that one took about 8 weeks to have replaced) and most recently, throttle body. The customer service was atrocious. The people were rude, unaccommodating and service was shoddy and slow. I'll never buy a volkswagen, and as soon as we can afford to replace the car she drives, we will.

19th Jan 2006, 16:12

Wow! I could have written your entry for you. I own a 1999 VW Jetta VR6, and I have encountered virtually everything that you have encountered.

The most recent is the ECM, which has resulted in a sputtering loss of engine power. The VW service advisor calmly explained that it will cost me $1,600.00 to replace it (not including labor).

I have also experienced the windows falling into the doors, missing or torn CV boots, broken cup holders, engine warning lights that are cleared and then return, and very expensive brake replacements.

I will never buy another VW again.