1999 Volkswagen Jetta Reviews - Page 51 of 52

1999 Volkswagen Jetta GL gas from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission gas Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Worst car I have ever owned

Faults:

Control arm, air conditioning and dash lighting went out.

Driver's door leaks.

Deceleration.

Check engine light at 54000 on the nose.

Brakes.

Odd noises.

Seats stain easily, and the seats suck.

Replacement parts too expensive.

Radio only works on good days.

General Comments:

This is the worst car I have ever owned. I had a Golf and I should have learned my lesson. Consumer reports (US mag) does not rate the car anymore because it is no longer reliable.

Just like my old Golf, the oddest things go wrong with VW's. Driving at any highway speed during the rain allows water to get in from the drivers door, and into the door speakers.

When told that the car was making front end noise, the dealership gives me a slip of paper telling me about "cold" brakes. After complaining so much they did a complete service and found that the control arm went (or did it?).

Do yourself a favor do not buy this model.

PS, mine is for sale any buyers?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th May, 2001

8th Jan 2002, 13:51

My car just reached 52,000 miles and my check engine light comes on about every 100 miles... I have just ignored it..

Watch out for the security system, my alarm had a "electronical glitch" in it, and the alarm short circuited in a store parking lot. It went on every three minutes and had to be towed to be fixed...

I just love waiting for my car to surprise me next!

1999 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 2.0 liter 4-cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 liter 4-cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Now I see why people buy Toyotas and not Volkswagens

Faults:

Heated leather seats do not work anymore.

Engine burns A LOT of oil.

Engine leaks A LOT of oil.

Crappy warranty.

Exhaust rattles.

Interior pieces falling off, numerous interior rattles.

Failed to start on several occasions.

Cheap oil pan material which punctures easily.

General Comments:

Looks aren't everything. I really liked this car when I first got it. But now I can't wait to unload it, good thing it's a lease.

I'm going back to Toyota. My previous car (1989 Camry V6 LE with 190k miles) was trouble free when I traded it for the Jetta. What a mistake. Should have kept the Camry.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st May, 2001

1st May 2001, 17:04

I notice that the ones who tend to have a lot of problems with VW Jettas or Golfs are from North America -- perhaps the Mexican-built VWs sent over there just aren't as good as the ones the rest of the world gets.

7th Jun 2001, 13:27

I agree with the original comments. Mine also burns lots of oil and the dealer keeps giving me the run around and keep topping it off.

Good thing I leased, poor of the sucker who buys this lemon once my lease ends.

1999 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles

Summary:

Death trap

Faults:

No brakes in snow or heavy frost.

General Comments:

This car will eventually kill or badly hurt someone!!!

When driving on snow or in a heavy frost for a few minutes, the brakes freeze solid. I press on the brake pedal as hard as I can and it does not move down.

After several seconds of heavy pressure, the pedal will move down a little. You can then feel the anti-lock brakes start to "flutter". After several more seconds, you hear what sounds like chunks of snow or ice brake off and rattle around the wheel well.

Finally, you will get brakes many seconds and quite a distance from when you first attempted to stop. I'm not skidding on the snow (I wish I were that lucky). The pedal will not move!

Has anyone ever heard of this before. The dealer says nothing is wrong, everything is up to specs. It only snows here a couple times a year so they have not had this car in the snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th February, 2001

17th Apr 2001, 19:46

Our daughter's brakes failed while driving a 2001 Jetta (mileage 6100) and crashed. She said that she had been braking gently all the way down an incline so as not to exceed the 35 speed limit. But when approaching the stop sign, the pedal "felt funny" and would not go down any farther. The car would not stop. A diagnostic check-up was done at the dealership, but found nothing wrong.

10th Feb 2002, 12:16

In response to the people whose daughter's brakes failed, you do not ride the brakes down a hill anyway. That will make them overheat and fail for sure. You can't blame the dealer for not knowing how to brake down a hill. Downshifting helps, auto or stick, in helping to slow the car. Then use the brakes.

2nd Sep 2003, 08:22

I am presently working with a dealership and VW due to the same type of braking problem. My daughter's car is a 2001 Jetta. She recently experienced faulty brakes when first starting the vehicle in the morning (a cold start). The car continues to roll. While backing out of her apartment driveway, the car rolled into a trash dumpster and caused damage. Luckily, it was not a child! This vehicle is truly a safety concern and VW should be paying attention before some gets seriously hurt!!!

26th Feb 2004, 19:03

Well it has been drawn to my attention that brakes no matter WHAT CAR you drive will not freeze instantaneously on a car unless your driving around in -20 degree weather with water on your brake pads.

Average review marks: 5.5 / 10, based on 177 reviews