2000 Volkswagen Jetta Reviews - Page 88 of 89

2000 Volkswagen Jetta SE 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance7500 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Lovely car, brilliant example of German engineering

Faults:

Vapour filter valve became quite noisy, dealer fixed immediately.

A few rattles from dashboard, dealer fixed.

General Comments:

Car is reasonably quick and very refined.

Handling is very good.

Comfort is very good and noise levels are kept to a minimum.

Build quality is superb.

Equipment levels are good.

Exterior appearance is extremely classy and very attractive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2001

2000 Volkswagen Jetta GLS TDI 1.9 turbo diesel from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carLexus ES300

Summary:

Nice car but the warranty sucks

Faults:

At 27K my clutch started slipping, my dealer wouldn't fix it. I took it to an independent and he found out it wasn't the clutch, but the flywheel that was bad (it has rubber between the layers of steel that had broken loose). Cost $800 USD to fix out of my pocket. I am the original owner.

General Comments:

The warranty looks good in the beginning, but 24K bumper to bumper isn't as good as it looks. Should be longer, especially for what you pay for them compared to other comparable Asian models. Never had a clutch problem with any of the Asian models that I've owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th March, 2001

20th Sep 2002, 03:12

I will admit that 27k is a bit early for a clutch/flywheel problem to occur, but sometimes the manufacturer will let faulty components pass. (not cool) However comparing a car equipped with a diesel engine to an Asian car is like comparing apples and oranges. Diesel engines create a great deal of torsional stress compared to a gas engine. This "stress" can be transmitted through the entire drive-line and can cause a lot of damage to the internal engine components, clutch, transmission, CVs, etc. if not properly controlled. To control this stress, a dual mass flywheel is employed. Simply put, the dual mass flywheel allows for a small amount of slippage between the engine and the rest of the drive-line. While this system usually works great it does add more moving components, variables, and parts to fail. The reason one won't find a similar problem on an Asian car is because (last I checked) most Asian cars aren't diesel.

2000 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 1.8L turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8L turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired26 miles
Most recent distance5400 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta GL

Summary:

A solid, sporty car at a great price

Faults:

Left rear passenger door tweeter blown.

General Comments:

The 99 and up Jetta's handle well and have many features (interior and exterior) comparable to much higher priced vehicles.

Although the 2.0L motor offered in Volkswagens is efficient, it lacks power and automatic versions shift jerky.

The 1.8L turbo is a great engine that has a lot of upgrade potential, and is light, which makes for better handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2001

2000 Volkswagen Jetta GLS from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired29 miles
Most recent distance4500 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Warning: Don't buy Volkswagens!!!

Faults:

The Check engine light keeps coming on.

Car has been in the shop five times.

Changed entire fuel system, as well as numerous other parts.

Cassette tape got stuck in the cassette player.

General Comments:

I will never buy another Volkswagen, this car is very unreliable. As it stands now, the check engine light is still on, no further repair attempts will be made. Volkswagen of America said they will buy back the Jetta, I have yet to see the paperwork!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th January, 2001

13th Apr 2001, 21:34

I have a 2001 VW JettaGLS 1.8T. Purchased November 2000. With only 4000 miles on Feb.8,2001 a wrecker took the car in for warranty repair for loss of power and heavy missing. Trouble would start with a slight miss, then dash indicator ASR and EPC lights would come on. Subsequent problems the check engine light would come on. Currently the car is in the dealer shop for the fourth time, with the same problems. Dealer put and take parts has not been successful.

2000 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 1.9 TDI from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDI Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 kilometres
Most recent distance30000 kilometres
Previous carFord F-250 diesel

Summary:

It's a good car!

Faults:

Map light switch broke but the dealer replaced it immediately with no hassle.

General Comments:

I love this car, it handles great, corners great and can stop on a dime.

Contrary to the perception of diesels, this car has really good power in the city and at high speeds on the highway. I don't like to pound my car but I had to race it once against a 99 four cylinder gas Jetta at a stop light just to see what it had. The other guy did beat me but not by very much and I was ahead of him until fourth gear. The economy when not racing is great, 64mi/ga on the dot, just like the dealer said.

I highly recommend this car to anyone looking for a new car. It has everything needed in a car; safety, comfort, performance, style, reliability and economy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2000

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 284 reviews