2001 Volkswagen Jetta GLS TDI turbo diesel from North America


An environmental nightmare


The main problem with this car is the smell of the interior. As other reviewers have noted, it has a smell of burnt crayons or a wax candle. Shortly after we bought the car, I have experienced nausea, dizziness, headaches, burning eyes and throat. A month later my wife is starting to experience nausea, dizziness.

General Comments:

The dealer has acknowledged the smell, but says all VW's smell that way. So far they've taken the car back over night and did some type of oxidation process, which reduced the smell somewhat, but still having nausea, dizziness.

Car gets great gas mileage, but not worth much if we cannot drive it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th June, 2005

14th Jun 2005, 23:21

All newer VWs really DO smell that way. Start smoking in your car, use really strong air-freshener, or sell the car. I also find it hard to believe that the symptoms you're describing can be attributed to the smell of the car...

27th Jun 2005, 16:59

I have the same smell in my 01' Jetta... although I have never had any of the symptoms you claim to have with them smell...

2001 Volkswagen Jetta GL 2.0 from North America


A nice sporty and handling car that isn't worth the time and headaches it will give you


Oxygen sensor replaced 5 times.

Mass airflow sensor replaced 4 times.

Engine temperature sensor replaced.

Unknown transmission problem (Likes to go into neutral rather than go into fourth gear)

Problems downshifting.

Blinkers don't work.

Interior lights and the bing sound likes to go on and off while driving.

Rear brakes pads wear away faster than font.

Engine rev's about 500 rpm each time my gears change.

General Comments:

The 2001 is a very sporty car. For the price, it gets excellent acceleration and handling. You can tell you are in a German car.

Purchsed the Jetta because I wanted a reliable car. My last car, Honda Civic, had a cracked engine block at 82,000 miles. I wanted something I wouldn't have to worry about for a long time, four months after I bought the Jetta it was back into the shop.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th June, 2005

4th Jul 2005, 20:19

I have a 2000 GLS, and I've been pretty lucky so far. The dealer has dealt with the following problems no questions asked: Hazard light switch/blinkers, mass air-flow sensor, both front window clips (window fell into door), and brake light switch (would get stuck in park). As for the high rpm shifts, I had a problem when I would beat the hell out of the car for a day or 2. The transmission learns your driving habits (sport/granny), and shifts accordingly. If I took it easy a bit, the shifting seemed to get better. This feature sucks, but you can figure it out with a bit of practice.

2001 Volkswagen Jetta 2.8L V6 from North America


The odor is main problem


Brakes worn at 20,000.

This car has the "crayon" odor that is so objectionable. VW has failed to respond to repeated e-mails and will try calling. The local dealer denied knowlege of the problem that the car detailer identified immediately as the VW smell attributed to oils used in the vinyl.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd May, 2005

3rd May 2005, 19:18

I've owned 10 Volkswagens, and never had one that smelled like crayons. Are you sure that nobody dumped a box of crayolas down the defroster vents?

4th May 2005, 23:18

Honestly, all new Volkswagens (especially Jettas and New Beetles) smell like Crayons. Some old Audis do too.

It really IS normal, there isn't really anything you can do about it unless you use hardcore air freshener or start smoking in the car, and if it bothers you that much, sell the car.

VWs are great cars though.

2001 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 1.8T Wolfsburg 1.8 turbo from North America


Fun car to drive but you'd better have a fat wallet


Latch to close centre armrest broken.

Centre vent not adjustable due to broken plastic part inside vent.

Rims starting to corrode.

Hazard switch and turn signal switch both had to be replaced.

General Comments:

The car is extremely fun to drive as it is quick and handles very well.

Quality of plastic parts is extremely poor with many little parts (such as vents and armrest latch) breaking.

Expensive to maintain - $11.00 Canadian for an oil filter from the dealer, and 4 spark plugs cost me almost $100.00 Canadian from the dealer.

When I complain about known problems to the dealer (corroding rims, and hazard switch), they act like it's not their nor VW's fault. VW recalled the car for a hazard switch defect about 2 weeks after I had it replaced at my own expense.

I'm pretty sure that this car will not last as long as my 1995 Nissan Pathfinder which has 418,000km's on the original engine and transmission.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th April, 2005